Uhuru heads to china
poundfoolish wrote:washiku wrote:Some may someone explain how Uhuru is expected to fund the infrastructure projects if not through loans. Through Taxing us more? Are we even taxable any more? We are talking of hundreds of billions, who will be giving us that money for free? The truth is for this country to sustain its growth, it needs to generate income. That income can only be generated if the private sector is given an environment to thrive. That can only be done by investing in energy, security, infrastructure. There is no one day when every one in the country shall agree on the exact mode of raising those funds, or where a certain project should be established, thus may those empowered by the constitution to make such decisions do it, albeit transparently. Even the huge Kibaki projects whose impact was felt throughout the economy were all opposed at first. Didnt we even hear that Thika road was meant to benefit his Othaya constituents? Thika Road...That other bad debt. lol We have no problem funding infrastructure, but do it for the right programmes, and after sealing all corruption loopholes. Not with a project already tagged suspect with tenderprenuers ready to eat. Pundits agree its ish ish in it's terms of contribution to the economy. Not half cooked ideas like Thika Road. Any students of urbanisation and physical planning in the house? More so if we are going to pay 200% interest while you are retired and a mzee in the village. Which are the right projects then? Road-Out, Railway-Out...I would like to know in your opinion which are the right projects.
On this I am with the gava, first of all, the 340B is a very small amount for a country like Kenya, think about it, Safaricaom is able to marshall 144B per year from 2 buildings along Waiyaki way, meaning they could pay off this debt in less than 2 1/2 years from turnover. I am extremely pro the railway, coz I know it will somehow make life easier for me, infact I can go as far as to say I would still be pro construction even if it meant as much as 10% of the cost would go to bribes or wherever public fund go. My problem is that the UHURUTO gava just talk, they never do anything. Ni mdomo tu. Anyone with an idea how far the rail way line has moved since UK launched it some time back! I suspect hata the 2 meters of track they laid imefunkwa na nyasi. So to the wazuans who know people, please ask the Jubilee gava to get the money quickly and construct the railway, and then they can get some more and exend it to Kigali. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:On this I am with the gava, first of all, the 340B is a very small amount for a country like Kenya, think about it, Safaricaom is able to marshall 144B per year from 2 buildings along Waiyaki way, meaning they could pay off this debt in less than 2 1/2 years from turnover.
I am extremely pro the railway, coz I know it will somehow make life easier for me, infact I can go as far as to say I would still be pro construction even if it meant as much as 10% of the cost would go to bribes or wherever public fund go.
My problem is that the UHURUTO gava just talk, they never do anything. Ni mdomo tu. Anyone with an idea how far the rail way line has moved since UK launched it some time back! I suspect hata the 2 meters of track they laid imefunkwa na nyasi.
So to the wazuans who know people, please ask the Jubilee gava to get the money quickly and construct the railway, and then they can get some more and exend it to Kigali. I like your thinking of late. Quietly, serious plans well underway to relocate those along the railway line path..
ecstacy wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:On this I am with the gava, first of all, the 340B is a very small amount for a country like Kenya, think about it, Safaricaom is able to marshall 144B per year from 2 buildings along Waiyaki way, meaning they could pay off this debt in less than 2 1/2 years from turnover.
I am extremely pro the railway, coz I know it will somehow make life easier for me, infact I can go as far as to say I would still be pro construction even if it meant as much as 10% of the cost would go to bribes or wherever public fund go.
My problem is that the UHURUTO gava just talk, they never do anything. Ni mdomo tu. Anyone with an idea how far the rail way line has moved since UK launched it some time back! I suspect hata the 2 meters of track they laid imefunkwa na nyasi.
So to the wazuans who know people, please ask the Jubilee gava to get the money quickly and construct the railway, and then they can get some more and exend it to Kigali. I like your thinking of late. Quietly, serious plans well underway to relocate those along the railway line path.. it's will be complete in June 2017. There are so many benefits compared to the costs I don't know why people can't see that! Maybe they will when it's complete. i.am.back!!!!
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
The Chinese did not come here on charity: We’ll pay through the noseQuote:What President Kenyatta and his counterparts across Africa should realise, however, is that they can only play the China card for so long.
Chinese aid is welcome and invaluable to our development, but we should look East with wise and open eyes, not like foolish virgins who don’t realise that the rich fellow bearing gifts is not a kind-hearted philanthropist. He will always want something in return.
By all means let us build on relations with China, but do so in ways that advance our national interests rather than just opening ourselves up to exploitation.
If we rightly are fed-up with neo-colonialism, we would be foolish to exchange one exploitative relationship for another. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rankaz13 wrote:The Chinese did not come here on charity: We’ll pay through the noseQuote:What President Kenyatta and his counterparts across Africa should realise, however, is that they can only play the China card for so long.
Chinese aid is welcome and invaluable to our development, but we should look East with wise and open eyes, not like foolish virgins who don’t realise that the rich fellow bearing gifts is not a kind-hearted philanthropist. He will always want something in return.
By all means let us build on relations with China, but do so in ways that advance our national interests rather than just opening ourselves up to exploitation.
If we rightly are fed-up with neo-colonialism, we would be foolish to exchange one exploitative relationship for another. We are not turning East from West, we are doing what is best for us. The West itself has "turned East" so why pick out for "critic" what EA has advantageously done led by Kenya? It would do the country a lot better if these "loud concerns" were actually backed by fact. No one wants a bad deal. The GoK has done it's part, how about these vocal opposition , civil society types and "journalists" pick up these shared agreements and identify valid points for concern instead of feigning concern with generalities?
reli ijengwe. we are talking too much as our neighbors spirit away. a positive development not getting as much attention is that nairobi will be hq of china-africa development bank. not addis, lagos or joburg. china to initially inject $2B. china will be world's outright largest economy in 10-15 years. delegations from across the continent could be be trooping to nairobi. business for hotels and airlines in nairobi Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
China is the way to go...as we waste our time politicizing the railway project the same Chinese started constructing this from Addis to Djibouti on year ago. I have seen the progress to date which is really fast and good. And Chinese have build an Express Way (90kms) from Addis to a city called Adama. This highway runs parallel to the main highway incase you want to drive fast & avoid crazy trucks and matatus you just pay. It was opened last week by the Chinese Premier before he came to Kenya
Jitahidi wrote: China is the way to go...as we waste our time politicizing the railway project the same Chinese started constructing this from Addis to Djibouti on year ago. I have seen the progress to date which is really fast and good. And Chinese have build an Express Way (90kms) from Addis to a city called Adama. This highway runs parallel to the main highway incase you want to drive fast & avoid crazy trucks and matatus you just pay. It was opened last week by the Chinese Premier before he came to Kenya
Naona hata the local giant has faced East. Hutu tumu china tuote tutakuwa Kenya doing some serious stuff, even as we continue complaining. After they are done with it, the green company will continue raking in Billions from us. Wacha sisi tuendelee kupigana, ooh East, Oooh West, Oooh oooh ooh ooh...Even the West we keep talking about are assembling some of their very high end products in China. Check on your Apple ipad or iphone....
The Brits decide to ng'oa reli yao -lunatic express...  hii ni hujuma Miffed by the SGR they show us middle finger Let Mr Ching jong come and stay in your hotels... Rink ==> hii hapa <== "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Uhuru heads to china