#DugudwaLaUchaguzi, 50+1 KTN tonight
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
seppuku wrote:masukuma wrote:grolut wrote:nakujua wrote:murchr wrote:harrydre wrote:He he so the data was sitting on oracle database but the log file and the data on the demo video is on sql? sql is the language that queries an oracle database. MySQL ans SQLServer are diff database softwares MySQL najua lakini hi SQLServer ni gani ? SQL Server ni ya Microsoft let me explain 1. the database used was mysql not oracle 2. the operating system used was centOS not windows xp 3. the data was captured and stored per polling station (the class rooms, water holes e.t.c.) not by constituency 4. the data captured was captured for ALL 1882 races (1 presidential, 47 gubernatorial, 47 senatorial, 47 women representatives to the national assembly, 290 national assembly reps, 1450 county assembly reps) not just for presidency with column names like 'DIDA' or 'KARUA' or 'KIYAPI' 5. the data captured for presidential elections was partial 43% not 100%. Some constituencies had 100% polling stations reporting but not many. 6. no data was captured or even attempted to be captured from Disapora (constituency no 291)... yet that data is available in the 'hackers' database. Knowing the above and having seen the excel worksheet released by the IEBC after the Tallying process - someone just imported that excelsheet into a database table called sijui 'market_research' on an oracle server seated on a windows machine somewhere. they then told you 'schema is like user' and logged on to the same database with one user and queried the table... logged into the same database with another user and queried the same table and shouted 'IEBC is TNA and TNA is IEBC'.... they then threw around some IP addresses in the range of 192.1... Private IP addresses that can be available in any network and seemed like experts and 'hackers'. p.s. the IEBC did not "result to manual tallying after the 'electronic tally system failed'" but rather did what was always required - I would have thought the subsequent by-elections have shown this! the RTS system is a PROVISIONAL results transmission system meant to calm down people who are watching the race but is not a 'tallying' system nor is its output recognized by the law. I've seen the same MySQL+Linux claim in several other places where the IEBC database failure issue has been discussed. I have not heard anyone dispute it so I believe it to be true. That alone tosses this sham of a documentary into the dustbin straight away. Even more telling is the quality of experts interviewed by Mohammed. Take the faceless hacker fella for instance: 1) He says something so stupid you don't need to be an IT expert to tell he's bullshitting: "Let me just show you how I hacked. I got in through, (how, he does not say), found the database open, planted my things (oh, please!), captured their password (for what and you already had access?), and that's the password that I used to get in... (Idiot!)." 2) Say what you will, but there is not a serious "cracker" out there (to call this hacking is to defile an otherwise honorable activity), who runs Windows on their personal machine. And if they did, they would know enough to disable that stupid HP nag screen showing on this charlatan's computer. 3) As mentioned earlier, I don't know that IEBC was running an Oracle database. All the information I have seen says they were running MySQL on Linux. 4) Schema has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with database or table ownership. Certainly not in the sense he explains it anyway. Total piece of crap, this "investigation". the specs was and still is a public document (via the RFP) available here http://buyersguide.ifes....ement_pdf/1356124968.pdfAll Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder You have been a member since:: 3/29/2011 Posts: 2,242
In India, an IT superhouse, it take 5 weeks for elections to be conducted. We wanted ours all done in ONE day and any dispute resolved in 14 days! Kenya should perfect its self acclaimed voting systems like mlolongo and kula ya makelele and forget IT based voting. Hi maneno ya MySQL, Linux bra bra bra we leave to akina @masukuma and let wanjiku achape mlolongo ama apige kelele kwa uchaguzi. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Gathige wrote:In India, an IT superhouse, it take 5 weeks for elections to be conducted. We wanted ours all done in ONE day and any dispute resolved in 14 days! Kenya should perfect its self acclaimed voting systems like mlolongo and kula ya makelele and forget IT based voting. Hi maneno ya MySQL, Linux bra bra bra we leave to akina @masukuma and let wanjiku achape mlolongo ama apige kelele kwa uchaguzi. @Gathige, Thats is a very ignorant comment you have made.You cannot compare India to Kenya.You can only compare Kenya to Odisha state in India which is the 11th biggest state in India by population of aprox. 41M. In India; 1.Different states in India vote on different days(which is spread over a month) 2.The population of India is 1.2 billion with registered voters of 814 Million If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Gathige wrote:In India, an IT superhouse, it take 5 weeks for elections to be conducted. We wanted ours all done in ONE day and any dispute resolved in 14 days! Kenya should perfect its self acclaimed voting systems like mlolongo and kula ya makelele and forget IT based voting. Hi maneno ya MySQL, Linux bra bra bra we leave to akina @masukuma and let wanjiku achape mlolongo ama apige kelele kwa uchaguzi. @Gathige, Thats is a very ignorant comment you have made.You cannot compare India to Kenya.You can only compare Kenya to Odisha state in India which is the 11th biggest state in India by population of aprox. 41M. In India; 1.Different states in India vote on different days(which is spread over a month) 2.The population of India is 1.2 billion with registered voters of 814 Million what needs to happen is that we need to break the election cycle into two. an executive's cycle and a representative cycle (or any other combination) that results in us having 3 elections every 2.5 years. this will ensure that politically we don't get useless people based on party and for the EMB we have time to continuously prepare, refine, test, refine, test procedures over and over and over! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
the elections people praise in kenya are usually overwhelmingly on the opposition side (+70% win), people don't really care about what went wrong when an election is overwhelmingly on one side - this will never happen again in kenya's elective politics (unless it's a referendum) - prepare yourself for close elections in 2017 and after. Secondly, what people don't know is that even the ECK's procedures in 2007 were far far better than 2002 or 2005! We must be willing to continue refining pre election, election day and post election day procedures! not firing everyone then bringing a new team to grope in the dark then firing them again and hiring new ones - we have been doing that in football, where did that land us? no. 106! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder You have been a member since:: 3/29/2011 Posts: 2,242
Swenani wrote:Gathige wrote:In India, an IT superhouse, it take 5 weeks for elections to be conducted. We wanted ours all done in ONE day and any dispute resolved in 14 days! Kenya should perfect its self acclaimed voting systems like mlolongo and kula ya makelele and forget IT based voting. Hi maneno ya MySQL, Linux bra bra bra we leave to akina @masukuma and let wanjiku achape mlolongo ama apige kelele kwa uchaguzi. @Gathige, Thats is a very ignorant comment you have made.You cannot compare India to Kenya.You can only compare Kenya to Odisha state in India which is the 11th biggest state in India by population of aprox. 41M. In India; 1.Different states in India vote on different days(which is spread over a month) 2.The population of India is 1.2 billion with registered voters of 814 Million @Swenani, that's the point i wanted to make. Why should voters in Kakamega and Kwale counties vote on the same day for their Governors' Senators, MCAs. County specific posts can be staggered even over an year. Counties can even have their own versions of "IEBC" to conduct own elections and resolve their disputes locally the best way they know how. We can have the Prezzos election on one day and trust me all systems will work. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
masukuma wrote:Swenani wrote:Gathige wrote:In India, an IT superhouse, it take 5 weeks for elections to be conducted. We wanted ours all done in ONE day and any dispute resolved in 14 days! Kenya should perfect its self acclaimed voting systems like mlolongo and kula ya makelele and forget IT based voting. Hi maneno ya MySQL, Linux bra bra bra we leave to akina @masukuma and let wanjiku achape mlolongo ama apige kelele kwa uchaguzi. @Gathige, Thats is a very ignorant comment you have made.You cannot compare India to Kenya.You can only compare Kenya to Odisha state in India which is the 11th biggest state in India by population of aprox. 41M. In India; 1.Different states in India vote on different days(which is spread over a month) 2.The population of India is 1.2 billion with registered voters of 814 Million what needs to happen is that we need to break the election cycle into two. an executive's cycle and a representative cycle (or any other combination) that results in us having 3 elections every 2.5 years. this will ensure that politically we don't get useless people based on party and for the EMB we have time to continuously prepare, refine, test, refine, test procedures over and over and over! Totally agree.But some people say it is the cost consideration that makes it economically sound to hold six elections in one day. Democracy is not cheap.Look at our bloated devolved govt. Having the elections in kenya after every 2.5 years here in Kenya  will be a disaster Makales both for economic and political stability.Just imagine one year down the line we are still talking about the 2013 elections If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Gathige wrote:Swenani wrote:Gathige wrote:In India, an IT superhouse, it take 5 weeks for elections to be conducted. We wanted ours all done in ONE day and any dispute resolved in 14 days! Kenya should perfect its self acclaimed voting systems like mlolongo and kula ya makelele and forget IT based voting. Hi maneno ya MySQL, Linux bra bra bra we leave to akina @masukuma and let wanjiku achape mlolongo ama apige kelele kwa uchaguzi. @Gathige, Thats is a very ignorant comment you have made.You cannot compare India to Kenya.You can only compare Kenya to Odisha state in India which is the 11th biggest state in India by population of aprox. 41M. In India; 1.Different states in India vote on different days(which is spread over a month) 2.The population of India is 1.2 billion with registered voters of 814 Million @Swenani, that's the point i wanted to make. Why should voters in Kakamega and Kwale counties vote on the same day for their Governors' Senators, MCAs. County specific posts can be staggered even over an year. Counties can even have their own versions of "IEBC" to conduct own elections and resolve their disputes locally the best way they know how. We can have the Prezzos election on one day and trust me all systems will work. I agree with you.But I guess that any govt in Kenya cant allow the counties to have their own versions of "IEBC" Maybe we should try the indian system where ther equivalents of RO are more powerful within the states If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Gathige wrote:Swenani wrote:Gathige wrote:In India, an IT superhouse, it take 5 weeks for elections to be conducted. We wanted ours all done in ONE day and any dispute resolved in 14 days! Kenya should perfect its self acclaimed voting systems like mlolongo and kula ya makelele and forget IT based voting. Hi maneno ya MySQL, Linux bra bra bra we leave to akina @masukuma and let wanjiku achape mlolongo ama apige kelele kwa uchaguzi. @Gathige, Thats is a very ignorant comment you have made.You cannot compare India to Kenya.You can only compare Kenya to Odisha state in India which is the 11th biggest state in India by population of aprox. 41M. In India; 1.Different states in India vote on different days(which is spread over a month) 2.The population of India is 1.2 billion with registered voters of 814 Million @Swenani, that's the point i wanted to make. Why should voters in Kakamega and Kwale counties vote on the same day for their Governors' Senators, MCAs. County specific posts can be staggered even over an year. Counties can even have their own versions of "IEBC" to conduct own elections and resolve their disputes locally the best way they know how. We can have the Prezzos election on one day and trust me all systems will work. I agree with you.But I guess that any govt in Kenya cant allow the counties to have their own versions of "IEBC" Maybe we should try the indian system where ther equivalents of RO are more powerful within the states we are too few!! simply too few!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
#DugudwaLaUchaguzi, 50+1 KTN tonight