Kidero to introduce 200 city buses
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96loPVE1eL8C&P The Nairobi county government has defended its plan to introduce a new county bus service that will serve commuters within the city and its environs. In an interview with citizen TV, Nairobi transport executive, Evans Ondieki says the bus service, which has been opposed by a section of matatu operators, could start as early as July this year and will initially start with 200 buses. And as Dennis Otieno reports, the state-of-the art buses will use smart cards and have CCTV cameras installed on board for the security of commuters.
It is a noble idea. My only worry is the existing matatu investors. How are they going to phase them. Will it be gradually or how? Perhaps they should have invited the matatu investors to own shares in the new entity that would own the buses.
MKWASI wrote:It is a noble idea. My only worry is the existing matatu investors. How are they going to phase them. Will it be gradually or how? Perhaps they should have invited the matatu investors to own shares in the new entity that would own the buses. Do they want to chase away private investors or to operate in parallel?
jaggernaut wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96loPVE1eL8C&P The Nairobi county government has defended its plan to introduce a new county bus service that will serve commuters within the city and its environs. In an interview with citizen TV, Nairobi transport executive, Evans Ondieki says the bus service, which has been opposed by a section of matatu operators, could start as early as July this year and will initially start with 200 buses. And as Dennis Otieno reports, the state-of-the art buses will use smart cards and have CCTV cameras installed on board for the security of commuters. Another silly idea, if we wanted a matatu owner at city hall, we could have handpicked Kimutai and saved the country the billions wasted on elections. What we want in Nairobi are simple things; - better roads (atleat fill the potholes) - collect garbage - water for all - working school system - dispensary system - traffic lights - a functioning fire department Someonetell Kidero to pick any of this and surprise us. Why now try to squeeze into the already chaotic transport sector to try and provide a service that nobody wants. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:jaggernaut wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96loPVE1eL8C&P The Nairobi county government has defended its plan to introduce a new county bus service that will serve commuters within the city and its environs. In an interview with citizen TV, Nairobi transport executive, Evans Ondieki says the bus service, which has been opposed by a section of matatu operators, could start as early as July this year and will initially start with 200 buses. And as Dennis Otieno reports, the state-of-the art buses will use smart cards and have CCTV cameras installed on board for the security of commuters. Another silly idea, if we wanted a matatu owner at city hall, we could have handpicked Kimutai and saved the country the billions wasted on elections. What we want in Nairobi are simple things; - better roads (atleat fill the potholes) - collect garbage - water for all - working school system - dispensary system - traffic lights - a functioning fire department Someonetell Kidero to pick any of this and surprise us. Why now try to squeeze into the already chaotic transport sector to try and provide a service that nobody wants. We need expanded roads with bus lanes first before intro of these Chinese buses with engines kule nyuma. of what point is boarding a "state of the art" bus and spend 2 hrs on the traffic for a distance of 12km? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
The County Government has no business in buying buses as they lack the management skills to manage them. Let them invest in roads , decent bus terminus, de-congest the city roads etc and private investors will bring in buses. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
MKWASI wrote:It is a noble idea. My only worry is the existing matatu investors. How are they going to phase them. Will it be gradually or how? Perhaps they should have invited the matatu investors to own shares in the new entity that would own the buses. I hope it works so that these current matatus zi malizwe kabisa!
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:jaggernaut wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96loPVE1eL8C&P The Nairobi county government has defended its plan to introduce a new county bus service that will serve commuters within the city and its environs. In an interview with citizen TV, Nairobi transport executive, Evans Ondieki says the bus service, which has been opposed by a section of matatu operators, could start as early as July this year and will initially start with 200 buses. And as Dennis Otieno reports, the state-of-the art buses will use smart cards and have CCTV cameras installed on board for the security of commuters. Another silly idea, if we wanted a matatu owner at city hall, we could have handpicked Kimutai and saved the country the billions wasted on elections. What we want in Nairobi are simple things; - better roads (atleat fill the potholes) - collect garbage - water for all - working school system - dispensary system - traffic lights - a functioning fire department Someonetell Kidero to pick any of this and surprise us. Why now try to squeeze into the already chaotic transport sector to try and provide a service that nobody wants. Silly and wasteful idea indeed.  He should go fish at home. He'd be better off promoting rail transport in CBD and its environs and/or side roads for cyclists.
Why can't they redefine routes like the old Kenya bus routes, to reduce the connections, sometimes you use 3 matatus to cover 10kms!!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
I thought the cry all along has been public commuter services should not be left in the hands of private operators?
Why give matatu owner an option to buy shares? If its shares they want, NSE is open for business. How does a matatu owner shares in the council bus company help the jobless driver/tout?
For there to be redefined routes as KBS used to operate, you need one player who will just do that,the council buses. Wasn't CCN part of the original, well run Kenya bus? Then why can't the current county gov't go back to that tested plan?
With mode of payment moving to cards, what we need in place is a system which allows for a seamless connection. If you connect from one route to another within specified period of time, you pay some percentage to the first bus and some lesser percentage of the second route and very minimal to the third. That way, the overall fare is lesser than paying for each connecting route separately. Such a system can ONLY work well if the players cooperate. Trust you me, under the current system [man eat everything], the second and the third bus on the above connections will not be that cooperative.
This monkey biz of wanting everyone to own a bus company, where has it worked well in the world? We have all sorts of buses with all sorts of colors on our roads. In places where urban public commuter service works well, you hardly have more than 3 companies.
If this one works out well, it will be a master stroke.
Change of mentality is called for here.
Kidero to introduce 200 city buses