Douglas Wakiihuri..
#1 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 3:28:12 AM

I think he has done a fantastic job of training the first lady for the marathon and deserves his own thread.

To take a 50 year old non athletic lady from a completely sedentary life to completing a marathon in just a couple of months is no mean feat. Remember they started with walking. The biggest threat to this whole endeavor would have been injury and he was able to keep her running and injury free. I think the secret was in taking it slow and keeping a regular constant pace.

I was impressed by her times in the buildup, 3 hours 46 for the half marathon in Nairobi. 7 hours 5 minutes for the marathon which was a little faster than the half but even more impressive is that she did it in almost equal splits 3:30 for the first half and 3:35 for the second half. This and the fact that she was able to finish strong, that little sprint at the end shows that she ran a very disciplined run that did not burn her out. Excellent coaching.

On a lighter note, I hope they paid him well. Kama ni mimi I would say, "Only 200 acres of land." And then UK would say, "200 only, are you sure, itakutosha kweli?"

#2 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 8:13:20 AM

Hi Douglassmile

#3 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 8:29:39 AM

A guy has done a great job. 42km is no joke.
majimaji
#4 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 8:57:05 AM

Welcome Douglas aka @Kusadikika
MKWASI
#5 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 11:58:51 AM

Congratulation. That was great.
#6 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 12:03:06 PM

hahaha.... but amejaribu!! it's quite a trick he has pulled...quite a trick!! Kumbe anyone with the correct coaching and state of mind can run a marathon!! sijui tunaogopa nini?
Wakanyugi
#7 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 2:58:12 PM

I think he has done a fantastic job of training the first lady for the marathon and deserves his own thread.

To take a 50 year old non athletic lady from a completely sedentary life to completing a marathon in just a couple of months is no mean feat. Remember they started with walking. The biggest threat to this whole endeavor would have been injury and he was able to keep her running and injury free. I think the secret was in taking it slow and keeping a regular constant pace.

I completely agree with you. The first lady owes her good marathon debut performance to a great coach.

But then Wakiiuhuri is not new to such feats. Some may remember him way back as school boy training with his aunt, I believe, Mary Wagaki, the first Kenyan woman to ever run a marathon.

That was before he decided to have a go himself and took off to Japan. The rest as they say....

Good job and hongera to Mrs Kenyatta. Completing a marathon is no joke.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#8 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 3:33:02 PM

Hi Douglassmile

MatataMingi
#9 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 4:26:40 PM

hahaha.... but amejaribu!! it's quite a trick he has pulled...quite a trick!! Kumbe anyone with the correct coaching and state of mind can run a marathon!! sijui tunaogopa nini?

Shame on you
Can you try and come back to report.

I will not be able to do it, no matter the coaching
#10 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 4:50:31 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Shame on you

#11 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 5:01:32 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Shame on you

@washiku, @masukuma & @McR should try on behalf of wazuans
#12 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 5:37:37 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Shame on you

for me that is a target for next year - this is the 21km year for me.
#13 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 5:42:25 PM

MatataMingi wrote:

Shame on you

my condolences to the family!  usidanganyike ukiona ukiona lady chepnyatta akimaliza -this thing is tough man! even pheidippides the guy who run the first marathon went the same way after delivering the message "Joy to you, we've won"
Alba
#14 Posted : Monday, April 14, 2014 10:55:19 PM

Congrats to the 1st lady. I could never run a marathon.
And Now I am really impressed by Oprah Winfrey. She completed a marathon in 4:29 which is very close to the time ran by Edwin Van de Sar when he was still playing for Man U (4:19)
#15 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 7:50:38 AM

MatataMingi wrote:

Shame on you

42 naiogopa, a colleague tried it 3 years ago and had to be carried by those vehicles that clear the road after the marathon, it should however be in my future plans.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 10:17:53 AM

42km is LIKE;

1. Running from Thika Town to Nairobi CBD Khoja Mosque Roundabout.

OR

2. Running From Naiorbi CBD Khoja Mosque Roundabout to Ruiru Town and Back again to Khoja!

#17 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2014 10:34:47 AM

42km is LIKE;

OR

2. Running From Naiorbi CBD Khoja Mosque Roundabout to Ruiru Town and Back again to Khoja!

I will try this before next year Oct to ascertain whether I will register for the 42km Stanchart.
#18 Posted : Monday, April 21, 2014 6:15:30 PM

42km is LIKE;

OR

I will try this before next year Oct to ascertain whether I will register for the 42km Stanchart.

hii ndio guts man!! my dreams are valid!!
Theu
#19 Posted : Monday, April 21, 2014 7:18:58 PM

42km is LIKE;

OR

hii ndio guts man!! my dreams are valid!!

Its in my bucket list. Its possible. But its essential to run 21km as part of preparation not 42 km!