wazua Mon, Jun 29, 2026

5 Pages<1234>»
impact of eastleigh on kenya's economy is exaggerated
tassia
#11 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 5:53:54 PM

Sorry on this one, there is what you want to believe and what is reality.

Reality is every person who imports stuff from China does it from a fellow in Eastleigh. So the funny watch you are wearing came through Eastleigh.

Most of your sugar, inatoka huko.

Don't pretend you don't know that your local shopkeeper can be seen taking a mat to Eastleigh every Tuesday and Friday.

You are wrong. Other than Warias, the other people who import through Eastleigh are the ones who are not able to bring in a whole container. Of course we also loose a lot of money in tax because for the traders there, bribing to evade tax is just considered cost of doing business. Of course they are not the only ones who do that but if we were to pay full duty at the point of entry in Kenya, we would collect much more.

The impact is definitely overstated. Companies that are able to import a container and more do so directly.

The real contributors of the economy are those who promote exports including tourism.

But of cause because I know you would want to win this, I give it to you.
Jangwa la Jangili
#12 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 5:55:53 PM

hehehe. si underwear tu, hata condoms za eastleigh are booming. alternative black market routes za underwear and condoms in this corrupt kenya of ours are in their tens of thousands. no one in this world is indispensable let alone some suburb in nairobi. an eastleigh shutdown would have negligible impact on kenya's economy in the long run. you can take that to the nearest memba bank.
Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#13 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 5:59:30 PM

tassia wrote:
Sorry on this one, there is what you want to believe and what is reality.

Reality is every person who imports stuff from China does it from a fellow in Eastleigh. So the funny watch you are wearing came through Eastleigh.

Most of your sugar, inatoka huko.

Don't pretend you don't know that your local shopkeeper can be seen taking a mat to Eastleigh every Tuesday and Friday.

You are wrong. Other than Warias, the other people who imports through Eastleigh are the ones who are not able to bring in a whole container. Of course we also loose alot of money in tax because for the traders there, bribing to evade tax is just considered cost of doing business.

The impact is definitely overstated. Companies that are able to import a container and more do so directly.

The real contributors of the economy are those who promote exports including tourism.

But of cause because I know you would want to win this, I give it to you.

See excuses!! We have several kenyans,companies who import Less than Container Loads through the Ports and their goods are custom cleared and relevant taxes /levies paid.

Eastleigh is a haven for tax evaders who think that cheap is good.
Then we are the loudest to shout 'goverment oh goverment ah.

If you wish to bring less than container loads then use the most efficient co-loader that we have here-Eculine na utalipa tax.
#14 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 6:03:31 PM

alma you are really working hard to catch guru267 but his agressive tendency points to a man after sheri showed lack of interest.shunga just be yourself.
#15 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 6:11:00 PM

think exports .eastleigh not good for our textile industry in particular .tax evasion means cheaper imports means dead local industries
#16 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 6:18:56 PM

newfarer, I gave up on sheri sasa niko na guru.

You guys want to start this silly thread so that you can show how much better you are than the "others"

The truth is, most of you guys here never pay tax on your goods. You even boast about it. Some even blatantly post on wazua that they bribe cops.

So you now want the guys in Eastleigh to look bad so that you can take over their business ama nini?

Kysee is totally right. You will give all kinds of excuses but you know that statement.....hii ni Kenya.

Ati eastleigh doesn't have an impact on the economy. Try another one.

The only way those fellows evade tax is because some fellow in Eldoret Airport allows them to pass with their goods uninspected. Then some cop who jaggaurnaut may know takes kitu kidogo on the road here....

The guy in Eastleigh is just the middleman

Because you the consumer would better pay for a 1k phone called nyokia and mitumba underwear for your kids than support Rivatex.

And no Kysee I have never bought mitumba. I can't imagine wearing the used clothes of of a broke white man. The guy was probably gay.

But you will now blame the middle man because you saw an opportunity after alphdoti's stupidity. Apaanaa.
#17 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 6:23:16 PM

alma come on i mean guru is a man.maybe the other face of apha. are you sure you want to pursue him
#18 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 6:25:57 PM

alma come on i mean guru is a man.maybe the other face of apha.

There are 2 gurus.

Guru stocks wa Mahe and JGuru the doc.
The former is a she.Wacha Alma akutwe na Mahe.
#19 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 6:27:00 PM

think exports .eastleigh not good for our textile industry in particular .tax evasion means cheaper imports means dead local industries

This tax evasion, Is it customs tax evasion or income tax and vat tax evasion?
#20 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 6:31:20 PM

Tax Evasion, corruption, Bribing ni nyinyi!! I told you that Somali's don't have qualms circumventing and corrupting the system - it's all a cost of doing business for them. No qualms at all!!
5 Pages<1234>»