Devolution - It's Back to 1960's
UK and Hustler see devolution as a threat. It will make them irrelevant. They want to "kill" devolution so that the national government remains relevant. Read the signs: - Public wage bill debate aimed at making devolution(read counties) look like the culprit. We're now talking about reducing the number of counties one year after. Are we real? - Promising MCAs car grants when we're supposed to cut down on wage bill. Does it make sense to you? It's ridiculous! Someone wants to please MCAs who have an axe to grind with governors. - Murkomen and Kindiki. They have been everywhere criticizing governors. Jubliee MPs have done the same. Their bosses share the same thoughts only that they cannot be seen to be fighting devolution. - Allocation to counties. This is the mother of all problems. UK and hustler promised Kenyans many things. Those things cost money. If they raise allocation to counties national government will have "little" to implement the delusional "Jubilee" manifesto/agenda. With a bigger allocation, counties will have an opportunity to implement many things that the national government never did in the last 50 years. The move will endear Kenyans to counties and demand bigger allocations from the national government. CRA proposed 270 Billion to go to the counties this year. The National government wants part with 217 Billion. It's a massive 53 Bullion less than the money proposed. This is interesting because CRA is the only independent institution (without political interests) that can determine the precise amount of money counties should have. Again, why should we have CDF and Uwezo fund that runs parallel county governments? It's a checkmate! - National government gave the governors forum last week a wide berth. The governors won't take that gesture lightly. With the planned meeting between MCAs and UK, expect bare-knuckle fight between counties and the national government. The greedy MCAs will be used a pawns to "tame" governors. And it will be the last checkmate for devolution. History has a funny way of repeating itself. Dates differ, but interests remain the same. Centralism vs statehood/devolution.
I hope baba is watching. He should mobilize his troops to defend devolution.
Link Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Questions: 1. On MPs critizing governors, are you sure only Jubilee ones are critical of the governors? Khalwale, Muthama, Midiwo, Kaynan,...when did these ones join Jubilee? 2. On allocation of funds, what does the constitution say vis-à-vis what the government has allocated? Wasn't that an amount clearly stated in the constitution? 3. Wage Bill...Out of all the recommendations, how many touches on "killing" devolution? Is reducing salaries of the executive and parastatal heads a devolution killer? Is proposal to reduce counties a killer?
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Despite all the challenges with implementing devolution I can assure you that it is going nowhere! Even with corruption and wastage at the counties mwananchi is still benefitting from devolved resources and with improved management will forever change the face of this nation.
washiku wrote:Questions: 1. On MPs critizing governors, are you sure only Jubilee ones are critical of the governors? Khalwale, Muthama, Midiwo, Kaynan,...when did these ones join Jubilee?
2. On allocation of funds, what does the constitution say vis-à-vis what the government has allocated? Wasn't that an amount clearly stated in the constitution?
3. Wage Bill...Out of all the recommendations, how many touches on "killing" devolution? Is reducing salaries of the executive and parastatal heads a devolution killer? Is proposal to reduce counties a killer?
1. Personal interests and ego are to blame for scenario 1. But you should be concerned when Keter or Duale criticize counties with a certain authority. Why, for heavens sake, should parliament pass a bill that seeks to strip governors of the title excellency and stop them from flying the national flag?
2. That part is deceiving. Last year, 2009/2010 audit accounts were used. Why should the national government give 198 Billion to counties when most of the functions have been devolved? Does the government need 1.4 trillion for policy?
3. The context my friend. It's meant to stimulate debate around county governments and the katiba. Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Shak wrote:Despite all the challenges with implementing devolution I can assure you that it is going nowhere! Even with corruption and wastage at the counties mwananchi is still benefitting from devolved resources and with improved management will forever change the face of this nation. Devolution may not go anywhere, after all. But there are systematic efforts to limit county governments. Without funds, County governments will be more or less the infamous city councils. Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Most mps are fighting the governors, Led by Daule and Midiwo(Baba's cuzo), what makes u think baba is not in the loop? Its all good.
I have personally said it time n again that devolution is our shortest route to growth as a country. We can't afford to lose it. But again devolution will not be saved by fact-less propaganda like this one. Why is it that when governors are asked to account for the "little" funds they have been allocated they jump through the roof yet they are vocal when they want to tell us they want more money? In terms of budgeting, its quite rare to have all your budgetary requests fulfilled. If the money allocated to you is always enough for your growth needs, it means you might need to check on your ambitions. They could be too low. The greatest enemies of devolution are not Jubilee but specific governors who want to use monies their way instead of the wananchi way. Wanjiku may not know what is going on in those offices, that's why we depend on institutions like Auditor General's office and budget allocations office to tell us what they are doing in there. When questions are asked based on the same institutions' reports, how is that fighting devolution?
As Tycho would tell you, facts are opinions. Very inseparable.
Nonetheless, in the spirit of "factual" debate, here's something to think about: - UK and his DP graced the MCAs forum a few weeks ago. It was a forum meant to look at what MCAs have done one year into office. - Governors had the equivalent last week. UK and DP were conspicuously missing. Not even the devolution monster, madam Waiguru, was "sent" to that funkie.
Question: What is so important with the MCAs function that the national government was fully represented, but went missing during the governor's forum?
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Wainadi wrote:Most mps are fighting the governors, Led by Daule and Midiwo(Baba's cuzo), what makes u think baba is not in the loop? Seems the name baba brings unintended consequences to the debate. Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Devolution - It's Back to 1960's