wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

Let's copy our way to industrialisation
#1 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 12:31:22 PM

this article on our Jua Kali sector by Bitange reminds me of mathukuma's views on intellectual property

A study by Princeton University shows how Chinese artists have copied their way into success and become innovators. It says, the tradition of copying in painting and calligraphy was a method aimed at the formulation of personal style. Except in the case of intended forgeries, exact replicas were not seen as the goal. Instead, artists copied in order to gain techniques and to probe the essential qualities of a past master's style. Individual investigations through copying led to creative imitations, parody, and the use of allusion. Through this learning process the desired outcome was the synthesis of a new personal style expressive of the individual and the copied.

It is my considered opinion that if our artists copied Chinese art with the African blend, the outcome will be a fusion of cultures that brings new aesthetics to life. This too will be innovation and creativity that may help us reduce our trade imbalance with China. In the 1960’s Toyota Mark II was copied from the Volvo by the Japanese. The Western world laughed at the joke of Japan becoming a car manufacturer. They kept perfecting new manufacturing tricks along the learning curve. Today, the Lexus is as good as a Mercedes. Japan’s motor industry outperforms all other vehicle manufacturers. In Kenya we only produced five units of the Nyayo car and we laughed at ourselves. We could not “fake it till we made it”—this is our undoing.
http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/107a21fz/-/index.html
#2 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 12:37:59 PM

I concur!!!Applause Applause Applause

They have made so much money from us, they refuse to set up shop on our soils, capital flight will finish us. Enough should be enough!

#3 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 12:48:12 PM

Not to mention that we are being used as dumping groundsSad

#4 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 1:59:55 PM

I once shouted myself hoarse on this forum
we will gain more by flouting the current IP regime than following it.
#5 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 2:45:44 PM

I once shouted myself hoarse on this forum
we will gain more by flouting the current IP regime than following it.

Its comparable to what India has done in many fields and more remarkably in the pharmaceutical industry.
#6 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 2:58:39 PM

we should not really constrain ourselves bwana!! wacha waongee at the same time watu wetu wanashiba!
symbols
#7 Posted : Monday, March 31, 2014 8:52:40 PM

Advancements in 3d printing,material science and engineering and energy generation,distribution and storage are crucial elements of this century.These three areas threaten the very model of production we're trying to emulate.

As much as I do agree with his points,I also think equal effort should be employed in understanding how those technologies will change industries and the economic model at large.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 01, 2014 4:02:38 AM

Who, and what do we copy? And after that, how do we participate in the global market?

Copying needs a strategy, which strategy do we adopt?
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 01, 2014 4:18:09 AM

symbols wrote:
Advancements in 3d printing,material science and engineering and energy generation,distribution and storage are crucial elements of this century.These three areas threaten the very model of production we're trying to emulate.

As much as I do agree with his points,I also think equal effort should be employed in understanding how those technologies will change industries and the economic model at large.

By the time 3D printing picks up, so many will have wanted a change of seats and beds in their houses.

I totally agree with Ndemo..we need to see beyond our noses and harness the opportunity pronto. Africa doesn't need to import chairs from Dubai. Kamau the carpenter can really do some good copying.

Japanese were not the inventors of the car or the television. But they have supplied the most cars and tvs to the world.

Ndemo wrote:
In Kenya we only produced five units of the Nyayo car and we laughed at ourselves. We could not “fake it till we made it”—this is our undoing.
symbols
#10 Posted : Tuesday, April 01, 2014 5:38:19 AM

symbols wrote:

By the time 3D printing picks up, so many will have wanted a change of seats and beds in their houses.

I totally agree with Ndemo..we need to see beyond our noses and harness the opportunity pronto. Africa doesn't need to import chairs from Dubai. Kamau the carpenter can really do some good copying.

Japanese were not the inventors of the car or the television. But they have supplied the most cars and tvs to the world.

Ndemo wrote:
In Kenya we only produced five units of the Nyayo car and we laughed at ourselves. We could not “fake it till we made it”—this is our undoing.

I wasn't disputing his points as they are practical on many levels.The mentioned technologies might mean the next next set of seats or beds or the ones after that might be printed and recycled from the house.We'd be trying to catch up to a model they are trying to eliminate.We should solve the problems we have today but be considerate of the situation we might find ourselves in tomorrow.