wazua Sat, May 9, 2026

Ratio of men to women
Yoursmile
#1 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 7:56:22 AM

Ever since I was a little girl I was told that there are 7 women to every one man .As I grew up I realized that in most spheres of life minorities are rarely in power so I could not for the life of me figure out why most spheres of our lives are dominated by men if indeed they are the minority .I researched and researched expecting to find that there are about 1 billion men to about 6.5 billion women in the world if the above statistics are to be believed .(World population is about 7.5 billion ).
Imagine my shock Liar when I discovered that the ratio of men to women is 1.2:1.So that means for every one woman in the world there are 1.2 men .
Now that makes sense ! Would explain a lot .

So hii maneno ya 1 man to 7 women ilitoka wapi?

https://www.unfpa.org/ge...o_by_Country_in_2013.pdf
#2 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:07:12 AM

Ndefo, prince of liars. So that promiscuous men get an excuse to fornicate/adulterate.

#3 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:13:05 AM

I assume this is @magigi now "smiling and dancing". Anyway @yoursmile, your research is not comprehensive. Both genders are born on equal ratio. Some regions of the world kill their female foetus before they re born; say China & India. And these two countries happened to be most populated, so they contribute to majority of men. Otherwise, other regions of the world like Africa and US and Russia etc have most of their male die between 0-5 years (what is called mortality), then between 5-12 years due to dangerous games, then between 13-20 years due to drugs/rough games or activities or driving etc, finally between 20-35 years due insecurity, deaths in forces like KDF or police or being attacked by thugs etc.

So you realize the in adulthood their are fewer male than female.
#4 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:17:59 AM

The ratios for Middle East countries are off the charts. This must be due to the large male foreign workers in the area.
#5 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:34:11 AM

[quote=Yoursmile]Ever since I was a little girl I was told that there are 7 women to every one man .As I grew up I realized that in most spheres of life minorities are rarely in power so I could not for the life of me figure out why most spheres of our lives are dominated by men if indeed they are the minority .I researched and researched expecting to find that there are about 1 billion men to about 6.5 billion women in the world if the above statistics are to be believed .(World population is about 7.5 billion ).
Imagine my shock Liar when I discovered that the ratio of men to women is 1.2:1.So that means for every one woman in the world there are 1.2 men .
Now that makes sense ! Would explain a lot .

So hii maneno ya 1 man to 7 women ilitoka wapi?

https://www.unfpa.org/ge..._by_Country_in_2013.pdf[/quote]

@mysmile have you found a man or you are still searching?
Yoursmile
#6 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:47:07 AM

@Swenani I am self actualised
#7 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 8:58:23 AM

@yoursmile, both your elders (7:1) and your research (must be google or wikipedia) are right. Why????

Your elders knew to well that not all males end up been men. Also, almost all females end up been women. Thats why! e.g. Binyavangaic race.

So, the research you did was for Females vs Males, and you were right. The facts that your elders introduced to you were for Women vs Men.

Tuko pamoja sasa?

#8 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 9:01:00 AM

Yoursmile wrote:
@Swenani I am self actualised

Noted, Though I have two possible definations of self actualisation as used in your context.
#9 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 9:23:35 AM

The 'scarcity" of men is a real phenomena because of the following facts.
1. Women by far choose older spouses.
2. Men tend to choose younger women.

The net effect is that since global populations keep rising, a woman of say 30yrs, will have to choose from the male population of about 35yrs and above which is relatively smaller and very scarce to find a man yet a man of 30 years will choose women from say 28yrs to 18 years where there are soo many single and free women, this leaves men with an eternal expanding choice of women as he ages and presents the women with an ever diminishing choice because men older than her are already married or dying. Matatu stickers say "Men are like gold, you loose one, you stay without(landings)", it's a fact of life, it's around 5:1 ratio 1 man can pick upto 5 women, and growing.
#10 Posted : Sunday, March 30, 2014 9:30:08 AM

The 'scarcity" of men is a real phenomena because of the following facts.
1. Women by far choose older spouses.
2. Men tend to choose younger women.

The net effect is that since global populations keep rising, a woman of say 30yrs, will have to choose from the male population of about 35yrs and above which is relatively smaller and very scarce to find a man yet a man of 30 years will choose women from say 28yrs to 18 years where there are soo many single and free women, this leaves men with an eternal expanding choice of women as he ages and presents the women with an ever diminishing choice because men older than her are already married or dying. Matatu stickers say "Men are like gold, you loose one, you stay without(landings)", it's a fact of life, it's around 5:1 ratio 1 man can pick upto 5 women, and growing.

Correct. So the points are;
1. Ratio of males to females favour females.
2. Ratio of Men to Women favour Men when it comes to family issues.

And thats how unfair life is!!!!!