Russia Going to War with US over Ukraine?
poundfoolish wrote:murchr wrote:poundfoolish wrote:Kratos wrote:poundfoolish wrote:Kratos wrote:poundfoolish wrote:murchr wrote:Captain...how did sanctions against Mwau Kiraitu etc affect Kenya? Have you ever tried to find out how much clout and wealth disappeared? especially for the Boss... Kuongea bila kujua ni haki yako lakini... Most likely you haven't understood the question. How did that wealth that "disappeared" affect Kenya? I did.. and concluded it was a silly question.... but not to the individuals affected. Some billions that could have ended up in our economy now wont. A more appropriate question would be.. What effect did the threat of sanctions (to certian individuals close to RAO & OBAKS) during the Koffi Annan Negotiations alter the speed at which the coalition government was achieved Escapism much? For you information.. I shall not respond to you any further. So if you don't see me answering back. just know you have convinced me to whatever it is you have tried to.. You are too smart for me! Let me give you some homework @poundfool. Do your research on Zimbabwe n compare it to Russia then see the difference You are confusing me.. Please break it all down to me like a 4 year old.. Kenya, Mwau... Russia.. Now Zimbabwe... I am LOST!!! Kitumbua kimeingia mchanga?? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
kingfisher wrote:innairobi wrote:How to know your country is a world power
- Invade a neighboring country and annex part of it - 28 heads of government controlling $16 trillion GDP (a.k.a. the EU) convene an emergency meeting to decide what to do with you. Even then, they cannot take decisive crippling action. - The president of the world's superpower, the United States, effectively rules out military action - The UN Security Council can only foam at the mouth I understand there is a G7 meeting going on in the Netherlands where kasin is present. Now this G7 is who? Britain, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and the United States. This I can tell you is a fake gathering... a gathering devoid of current status of economies of the world... a gathering of nations that are living in the past... In a real gathering of G7 in today's world there would undoubtedly be at least China and Brazil... not Italy and Canada!!!! And depending on where your stats come from we can throw out Britain and France and put in Russia and India..... Ndunia imebandirika na inaendelea kubandirika... mzungu atapatwa hapo tuu!!! Get your facts right sir. This meeting is a nuclear summit. Obama is meeting with leaders of major world economies on the side. He met with China's president yesterday. (BTW Obama's wife travelled to China last week). When UN security council voted to condemn cremia annexation, China did not join Russia to veto it. China and Russia always vote in tandem at the UN security council. The plan is to isolate Russia from international comnunity. So far it is working and the rest of the world will avoid Putin like the plague.
captain kirk wrote:kingfisher wrote:innairobi wrote:How to know your country is a world power
- Invade a neighboring country and annex part of it - 28 heads of government controlling $16 trillion GDP (a.k.a. the EU) convene an emergency meeting to decide what to do with you. Even then, they cannot take decisive crippling action. - The president of the world's superpower, the United States, effectively rules out military action - The UN Security Council can only foam at the mouth I understand there is a G7 meeting going on in the Netherlands where kasin is present. Now this G7 is who? Britain, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and the United States. This I can tell you is a fake gathering... a gathering devoid of current status of economies of the world... a gathering of nations that are living in the past... In a real gathering of G7 in today's world there would undoubtedly be at least China and Brazil... not Italy and Canada!!!! And depending on where your stats come from we can throw out Britain and France and put in Russia and India..... Ndunia imebandirika na inaendelea kubandirika... mzungu atapatwa hapo tuu!!! Get your facts right sir. This meeting is a nuclear summit. Obama is meeting with leaders of major world economies on the side. He met with China's president yesterday. BTW Obama's wife travelled to China last week. When UN security council voted to condemn cremia annexation, China did not join Russia to veto it. The plan is to isolate Russia from international comnunity. So far it is working and the rest of the world will avoid Putin like the plague. FYI this is the "G8" meeting that was supposed to be in Russia but now they are pretending to diss Russia so they call it G7 (even tho the Russian Foreign secretary was present) The US time and again has tried to lobby China to vote with it but since mchina is more concerned with what he gets out of it, he decides not to sour any relation but "abstain" from a vote - that way, he doesnt come across as if he favors any side but on the other hand he knows if the vote is not unanimous then it doesnt pass (very clever this man mchina). So Obama meeting him or Michelle spending a week there doesnt really do much, the man ALWAYS looks after his interests. Remember that "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:G20 makes sense. G7 is a dying force. Too many, its just a talking shop meant to boost the ego of non-G7 . If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
captain kirk wrote:kingfisher wrote:innairobi wrote:How to know your country is a world power
- Invade a neighboring country and annex part of it - 28 heads of government controlling $16 trillion GDP (a.k.a. the EU) convene an emergency meeting to decide what to do with you. Even then, they cannot take decisive crippling action. - The president of the world's superpower, the United States, effectively rules out military action - The UN Security Council can only foam at the mouth I understand there is a G7 meeting going on in the Netherlands where kasin is present. Now this G7 is who? Britain, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and the United States. This I can tell you is a fake gathering... a gathering devoid of current status of economies of the world... a gathering of nations that are living in the past... In a real gathering of G7 in today's world there would undoubtedly be at least China and Brazil... not Italy and Canada!!!! And depending on where your stats come from we can throw out Britain and France and put in Russia and India..... Ndunia imebandirika na inaendelea kubandirika... mzungu atapatwa hapo tuu!!! Get your facts right sir. This meeting is a nuclear summit. Obama is meeting with leaders of major world economies on the side. He met with China's president yesterday. (BTW Obama's wife travelled to China last week). When UN security council voted to condemn cremia annexation, China did not join Russia to veto it. China and Russia always vote in tandem at the UN security council. The plan is to isolate Russia from international comnunity. So far it is working and the rest of the world will avoid Putin like the plague. sawa boss... but tell us which meeting was this and where it was held... i cant see freedom in the picture!! http://www.aljazeera.com...-201432531320753538.htmlWhen I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
innairobi wrote:How to know your country is a world power
- Invade a neighboring country and annex part of it - 28 heads of government controlling $16 trillion GDP (a.k.a. the EU) convene an emergency meeting to decide what to do with you. Even then, they cannot take decisive crippling action. - The president of the world's superpower, the United States, effectively rules out military action - The UN Security Council can only foam at the mouth Oh please If Kenya invaded Burundi, there would be no military intervention from the USA because Americans are war fatigued and most want America to mind its own business.. Does that make Kenya a superpower ? The real reason the EU cannot take stern action against Russia is not because Russia is a superpower. It is because their economies are intertwined. Germany imports 40% of its natural gas from Russia. In turn German companies sell billions of Euro of machinery, pharmaceuticals and other items to Russia. Imposing harsh sanctions would mean cutting their own nose to spite their face. The truth is that Russia is a decaying country with delusions of being a power. Heck even Brazil has a higher GDP than Russia which for all its reputation, does not manufacture anything worthwhile. All their money comes from extracting minerals.
Alba wrote:innairobi wrote:How to know your country is a world power
- Invade a neighboring country and annex part of it - 28 heads of government controlling $16 trillion GDP (a.k.a. the EU) convene an emergency meeting to decide what to do with you. Even then, they cannot take decisive crippling action. - The president of the world's superpower, the United States, effectively rules out military action - The UN Security Council can only foam at the mouth Oh please If Kenya invaded Burundi, there would be no military intervention from the USA because Americans are war fatigued and most want America to mind its own business.. Does that make Kenya a superpower ? The real reason the EU cannot take stern action against Russia is not because Russia is a superpower. It is because their economies are intertwined. Germany imports 40% of its natural gas from Russia. In turn German companies sell billions of Euro of machinery, pharmaceuticals and other items to Russia. Imposing harsh sanctions would mean cutting their own nose to spite their face. The truth is that Russia is a decaying country with delusions of being a power. Heck even Brazil has a higher GDP than Russia which for all its reputation, does not manufacture anything worthwhile. All their money comes from extracting minerals.  Can't people just stop and think, the richest in Russia have no desire to live there, the thieves milking the country dry live in other countries....a super power indeed!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
My good friend, keep your panties on tafadhali. I did not say superpower - I said world power. Kukusaidia, France and Germany are world powers. They are not superpowers. Look, there isnt enough space here to school you on the complexities of geopolitics but due to my commitment to selfless public service, wacha nijaribu. First, I am not in an argument on whether Russia is stronger than the US/EU or has a better quality of life. I suspect some of the emotional knee-jerk reactions here are because people are taking statements assessing Russia capability on anything and projecting it on US/EU capability. The reasons for this conflation are perplexing. POINT 1 - The US/EU are far stronger than Russia in numerous respects GDP included. But EU/US capability is not mutually exclusive with Russia's capability. Nikikusaidia kidogo tena, if I say France has nuclear weapons, it does not mean I am saying India has no nuclear weapons. If I say South Korea has a large GDP, it does not mean I am saying Japan has a smaller GDP. If I say Russia's military is number 2 worldwide, it does not mean I am saying the US is number 50. Tunaelewana papi? POINT 2 - Being a world power is a combination of military strength, economic strength and geopolitical global/regional influence. The mistake you are making is assuming the whole world is defined by one equation: GDP strength = Geopolitical strength or Quality of life = Geopolitical strength - Qatar, Singapore and Switzerland have stratospheric per capita GDPs but no one in the world really cares for their opinion when making serious global decisions - China's per capita GDP may be far lower than Mauritius but you can be sure the US does not give a f*ck what Mauritius thinks on the conflict in Syria POINT 3 - Capital flight does not necessarily negate geopolitical capability. More Chinese (than Russians) are investing and/or buying citizenship in the US, Canada and UK. Such departure has zero impact on China's growing geopolitical influence. CONCLUSIONS - Russia is a world power for several reasons including military strength (number 2 in the world), essential natural resources (gas/oil) and a $2T economy. It could be a basket case in many other respects including quality of life or capital flight. But much as even I hate to admit, it is a world power today nevertheless. It could be declining but that is another debate. - Russia's profile means decisions to punish it are difficult. Your point on EU/Russia trade actually affirm its status as a world power. Economic sanctions though effective could have unintended consequences on the global economy - sanctions on any $1T+ economy will have significant consequences on the world economy. President Obama and Chancellor Merkel have admitted as much so it is amusing to see mwafrikas in distant lands chest thumping otherwise. - If Kenya invades and annexes Burundi, there will be too many easy options on the table. Just like has happened for CAR, Mali and Libya, UK/US/France/NATO/UN will not think twice about military action or unleashing crippling economic sanctions. In fact, 1000 special ops and a dozen bomb drops would be sufficient to crush our tiny armies this side of the world. Interestingly, our only respite in such a situation would be a UNSC veto by a world power (US/UK/France/China/Russia) or military support from a world power (as Russia is doing in Syria). Alba wrote:innairobi wrote:How to know your country is a world power
- Invade a neighboring country and annex part of it - 28 heads of government controlling $16 trillion GDP (a.k.a. the EU) convene an emergency meeting to decide what to do with you. Even then, they cannot take decisive crippling action. - The president of the world's superpower, the United States, effectively rules out military action - The UN Security Council can only foam at the mouth Oh please If Kenya invaded Burundi, there would be no military intervention from the USA because Americans are war fatigued and most want America to mind its own business.. Does that make Kenya a superpower ? The real reason the EU cannot take stern action against Russia is not because Russia is a superpower. It is because their economies are intertwined. Germany imports 40% of its natural gas from Russia. In turn German companies sell billions of Euro of machinery, pharmaceuticals and other items to Russia. Imposing harsh sanctions would mean cutting their own nose to spite their face. The truth is that Russia is a decaying country with delusions of being a power. Heck even Brazil has a higher GDP than Russia which for all its reputation, does not manufacture anything worthwhile. All their money comes from extracting minerals. All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
McReggae wrote:Alba wrote:innairobi wrote:How to know your country is a world power
- Invade a neighboring country and annex part of it - 28 heads of government controlling $16 trillion GDP (a.k.a. the EU) convene an emergency meeting to decide what to do with you. Even then, they cannot take decisive crippling action. - The president of the world's superpower, the United States, effectively rules out military action - The UN Security Council can only foam at the mouth Oh please If Kenya invaded Burundi, there would be no military intervention from the USA because Americans are war fatigued and most want America to mind its own business.. Does that make Kenya a superpower ? The real reason the EU cannot take stern action against Russia is not because Russia is a superpower. It is because their economies are intertwined. Germany imports 40% of its natural gas from Russia. In turn German companies sell billions of Euro of machinery, pharmaceuticals and other items to Russia. Imposing harsh sanctions would mean cutting their own nose to spite their face. The truth is that Russia is a decaying country with delusions of being a power. Heck even Brazil has a higher GDP than Russia which for all its reputation, does not manufacture anything worthwhile. All their money comes from extracting minerals.  Can't people just stop and think, the richest in Russia have no desire to live there, the thieves milking the country dry live in other countries....a super power indeed!!! MCR you need to watch the documentary, "the lifesytles of the rich" Truth is the Rich dont live in one country, heck even the Kenyan rich have homes in London and in the US or other parts of Europe. Guys you need to think big these people are only looking after their interests even Russia is, dont forget Russia gave out Crimea ofcourse then it was a strategic move as it is today. Dont be fooled to think that these countries can dare isolate Russia, you dont Isolate someone with a nuclear weapon, why do you think kassin Barry is out trying to befriend Iran? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
@innairobi usijaribu kupingana na Hollywood/western media reinforced googles, those things are more powerful than those tu nuclear bombs the us or russia has.
Russia Going to War with US over Ukraine?