wazua Tue, Jun 30, 2026

Proposed New Kenya....Kaigangio version.
#11 Posted : Monday, March 24, 2014 11:48:20 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
ulipitwa na wakati, these suggestions would have mattered when the law was being drafted. The best option now is to reduce all their salaries afterall their "responsibilities" were greatly reduced.

My friend it wouldn't have mattered then. The Ligale fellows were too busy creating new constituencies for themselves and their parties, besides the damn constitution has allowed us to right what we feel is not good for us in it.

And dont expect them to reason like this now only a paycut will be the solution for now
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 1:41:25 AM

I like the way you are thinking wapi referendum?

lakini huyo Garisiola ameingiza nini hapo ndani ya solacenama
urstill1
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 3:36:56 AM

Siringi wrote:

Always thinking differently. Nyaweri has all the big tribes in it.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 6:57:20 AM

Devolution the 47 counties way ought to work. The cost is the issue. Let's deal with the costs. Large multi-ethnic counties are likely to bring more ethnic conflict. But bodies like Senate need to go
segemia
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 8:03:03 AM

A brilliant idea @ Kaigangio has.

Since we are very good at copying without asking questions, we copied our system from the US one. Now US has 50 states (in our case counties). With a land mass equivalent to 9,827,000 sq.km the average area of each state is 196,540sq.km.

In our case we have so many counties with less than 4,000sq.km which is ridiculous considering our resources base.

#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 8:24:59 AM

Devolution the 47 counties way ought to work. The cost is the issue. Let's deal with the costs. Large multi-ethnic counties are likely to bring more ethnic conflict. But bodies like Senate need to go

No body is saying that the counties should be scrapped. I insist we don't need 47 counties. This is one single biggest waste of funds that people are not talking about. Remove 38 counties and and the wage bill and other recurrent expenditure by the government will drop by more than 70%!!!

With ethnicity, the only counties worth of respect currently are Nakuru, Laikipia, Marsabit, Tana River, Kwale and Kilifi...
wanyee
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 9:46:22 AM

Kaigangio wrote:

No body is saying that the counties should be scrapped. I insist we don't need 47 counties. This is one single biggest waste of funds that people are not talking about. Remove 38 counties and and the wage bill and other recurrent expenditure by the government will drop by more than 70%!!!

With ethnicity, the only counties worth of respect currently are Nakuru, Laikipia, Marsabit, Tana River, Kwale and Kilifi...

i think this argument about over representation is not as valid, the constitution as is should and must work if counties elected junk ngavanas shauri yao ..about the wage bill the things is to get value for monies paid simple..if we have an over bloated work force make them work and earn their pay.

Here are some numbers Switzerland versus Kenya:
Kenya: size 582,650 km² Switzerland: size 41,285 km² so Kenya is 14 times larger,

Kenya: Constitution 47 counties,
Switzerland:26 cantons(Each canton has its own constitution, legislature, government and courts. Most of the cantons' legislatures are unicameral parliaments, their size varying between 58 and 200 seats. A few legislatures are general assemblies known as Landsgemeinden. The cantonal governments consist of either five or seven members, depending on the canton.)

Mind you Switzerland has no oil..
my 2 cents

#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 9:52:23 AM

Siringi wrote:

Pine like.

#19 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 9:59:44 AM

wanyee wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

i think this argument about over representation is not as valid, the constitution as is should and must work if counties elected junk ngavanas shauri yao ..about the wage bill the things is to get value for monies paid simple..if we have an over bloated work force make them work and earn their pay.

Here are some numbers Switzerland versus Kenya:
Kenya: size 582,650 km² Switzerland: size 1,285 km² so Kenya is 14 times larger,

Kenya: Constitution 47 counties,
Switzerland:26 cantons(Each canton has its own constitution, legislature, government and courts. Most of the cantons' legislatures are unicameral parliaments, their size varying between 58 and 200 seats. A few legislatures are general assemblies known as Landsgemeinden. The cantonal governments consist of either five or seven members, depending on the canton.)

Mind you Switzerland has no oil..
my 2 cents

no need for oil, it has the money (banks) smile
accelriskconsult
#20 Posted : Tuesday, March 25, 2014 11:40:38 AM

Kaigangio wrote:
some names na wa oh!! eti nakamatakwa. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

@ Kagizzard,But I thought that citizens were clamouring for divisions and subdivisions because of resource distribution,Government financing and closer leadership- you know like bringing the government closer to mwananchi?
By this merging,aren't you taking us backwards?

Tell you what? the explosion that could arise out of that Nyaweri combination alone! would be worse than the nagasaki one.

You see the people believed the politicians so much like the dentist...they did not know that the politician was fighting for his/her own survival through these non-sensical subdivisions..

I bet people are feeling the impact of these subdivisions...We actually don't need 47 counties, it is a waste!!!!

The problem is not counties and I must correct my brothers from Central Province and parts of the Rift about it.

You need to come from historically marginalized counties to appreciate what difference devolving money can make. For example, a former division of Kitui called Yatta and now referred to as Kitui Rural Constituency (and formerly part of Kitui West) only had 4 secondary schools in 2007. When Kitui West (which had 3 divisions) got its first MP from Yatta Division, he concentrated on using CDF to incubate secondary schools which were also supported by the local community and finally government. As we speak, the former Yatta Division has over 40 secondary school. Enrolment to form one has grown five fold (poor studends don't need to board) but can still access secondary school education. The next challenge is addressing quality, and I believe that can be improved with time.

Granted that the guy is accused of stealing a lot of CDF money, but the little invested in the community will create a lot of social good in the long run.

Reducing counties will see more money stolen at the consolidated level, rather that the grass roots. Devolved corruption is better for development that concentrated corruption.

The discussion on cost cutting must focus on;

1. Reducing the central government (we don't need PCs, DCs, DOs, Chiefs etc) County government should provide the required services.

2. Closing the tap on corruption. Corruption is the biggest drain on the country's resources. Lest you forget, the money that Mars Group highlighted as having been lost between KRA and Treasury has never been accounted for.

3. Holding civil servants accountable for productivity and resource management.

4. Reducing the size of parliament. Kenya does not require over 400 Mps and while senators are necessary, there is no need for nominated senators. The crafters of the constitution forgot that the work of senate was to balance representation and have an institute where the vote of the Ogiek, for example, carried the same weight as that of the Kikuyu. We don't need more that 47 senators to achieve that.

5. Removing the secrecy around the DOD and office of the president budgets.

6. Recalling and disposing most vehicles bought by the central government especially to reduce maintenance costs. Some of the vehicles are used by the wives and children of government employees.