Messi breaks all time scoring record
#1 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 9:09:50 AM

We're privileged to witness this man in our time...

http://espnfc.com/blog/_.../laliga/id/1565?cc=3888

http://espnfc.com/blog/_...arcelona/id/2982?cc=3888
#2 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 11:33:23 AM

aii pele had over 1k goals! ama ni goals gani hizi watu wanaongea juu yake?
#3 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 11:38:23 AM

[quote=smano]We're privileged to witness this man in our time...

http://espnfc.com/blog/_...rcelona/id/2982?cc=3888[/quote]

in primary school, I know a chap who scored more than 2k goals during training, friendly matches and during school competitions at zonal, district and provincial levels
#4 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 3:33:39 PM

in primary school, I know a chap who scored more than 2k goals during training, friendly matches and during school competitions at zonal, district and provincial levels

I think this is highly unlikely Swenani. I will tell you why.

Assuming that this guy was involved in these games only during the last 4 years of primary school, an unlikely scenario by itself but lets give him the benefit of doubt because he was highly talented and that he played in classes 5, 6, 7 and 8. He would have had to score 500 goals every year to reach 2k. Now schools are closed for at least 14 weeks in a year but because of inter school games played on holidays we are going to give your guy 12 weeks off. Now he has 40 weeks to score 500 goals. He is a very active chap so we will have him play every week day of every day in the year that he is in school, highly unlikely because soccer is only played in a certain season but lets give him anyway... So he has 200 days to score 500 goals. That is 2 and a half goals for every weekday that he was school in class 5, 6, 7, and 8.......... Nafikiri Swenani hapo umetuenjoyd'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Chief Guest
#5 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 7:48:15 PM

I think this is highly unlikely Swenani. I will tell you why.

Assuming that this guy was involved in these games only during the last 4 years of primary school, an unlikely scenario by itself but lets give him the benefit of doubt because he was highly talented and that he played in classes 5, 6, 7 and 8. He would have had to score 500 goals every year to reach 2k. Now schools are closed for at least 14 weeks in a year but because of inter school games played on holidays we are going to give your guy 12 weeks off. Now he has 40 weeks to score 500 goals. He is a very active chap so we will have him play every week day of every day in the year that he is in school, highly unlikely because soccer is only played in a certain season but lets give him anyway... So he has 200 days to score 500 goals. That is 2 and a half goals for every weekday that he was school in class 5, 6, 7, and 8.......... Nafikiri Swenani hapo umetuenjoyd'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Applause Laughing out loudly Applause
Illmatic
Alba
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 18, 2014 5:31:21 PM

Messi is good but he is notch below the greatest ones. He will get full credit when he does it in a league other than La Liga, say the EPL or Serie A, and also when he does it at the World cup.

He needs to succeed at the world cup so he can prove that he not just a beneficiary of the Barcelona system. Great players can thrive in any environment.

Until such time, I would not rank him among the greatest 11. If I were to name the best starting 11 ever, the forwards would be Pele-Maradona-Cruyff.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 18, 2014 6:57:13 PM

Alba wrote:
Messi is good but he is notch below the greatest ones. He will get full credit when he does it in a league other than La Liga, say the EPL or Serie A, and also when he does it at the World cup.

He needs to succeed at the world cup so he can prove that he not just a beneficiary of the Barcelona system. Great players can thrive in any environment.

Until such time, I would not rank him among the greatest 11. If I were to name the best starting 11 ever, the forwards would be Pele-Maradona-Cruyff.

It is my humble opinion that you have not carefully watched Messi play. To say that Messi is good is an understatement of great magnitude. Get some youtube videos of Messi at play and watch them carefully...... Baada ya hayo nafikiri utavuka sakafu uje upande huu na sote tuunge mjadala unaosema Messi is much much much greater than good.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 18, 2014 7:09:48 PM

Alba wrote:

It is my humble opinion that you have not carefully watched Messi play. To say that Messi is good is an understatement of great magnitude. Get some youtube videos of Messi at play and watch them carefully...... Baada ya hayo nafikiri utavuka sakafu uje upande huu na sote tuunge mjadala unaosema Messi is much much much greater than good.

Messi is just left to win the World Cup with Argentina and he is the undisputed best player of all time. None other than Maradona considers it so before that and I agree with him.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 10:47:52 AM

Alba wrote:

Would wish to see how he fares against clubs like Stoke City.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 11:15:08 AM

mwenza wrote:
Alba wrote:

On several occasions he has beaten the best epl has to offer(Man U Chelsea, Arsenal,Man City).So i wonder why guys want to try him with the strugglers. He is good. But Pele once said let him score 1000 goals and win 3 world cups then we can talk. Will Messi ever reach the magical 1000 coz currently the UCL can be placed at higher level than the world cup
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 11:22:57 AM

bkismat wrote:
mwenza wrote:
Alba wrote:

On several occasions he has beaten the best epl has to offer(Man U Chelsea, Arsenal,Man City).So i wonder why guys want to try him with the strugglers. He is good. But Pele once said let him score 1000 goals and win 3 world cups then we can talk. Will Messi ever reach the magical 1000 coz currently the UCL can be placed at higher level than the world cup

You miss the point. Stoke City are not strugglers. Their brand of soccer is out of this world...especially the old Stoke City. Ever wondered why aseno always find it hard to beat them? Reason...STOKE CITY PLAY TO THEIR STRENGTH! MESSI WOULD FIND IT VERY DIFFICULT TO BREAK THEM DOWN.
Alba
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 4:10:49 PM

[

Ahsante sana bwana mwenyekiti, wakaguzi, wataalumu na wanaspoti wenazangu. Hivi leo niko hapa, kupinga kwa dhati mjadala huu usemao "Messi is the greatest". Ningependa kumkosoa ndugu Kusadikika aliyetamka maneno haya. Maoni yangu ni kwamba:

1. Messi scores many goals in large part because he fits very well into the Barcelona system of quick passing. He is a system player. This might explain why his productivity for Argentina is low. The Argies cannot play the Barca way. A great player must be able to produce in any environment.

2. True Messi has scored against EPL teams. But can he do that week in week out to the same extent as he does in la Liga ? I doubt it. La Liga has always been easier to score. Even back in the 1980s players like Hugo Sanchez scored almost 40 goals every year.

EPL is more rigorous, more physical. Even Stoke City has the potential to mark Messi out of the game. Serie A still has the best defences. Clever defenders who use every trick in the book.

3. Pele and Maradona played in an era where strikers had no protection from referees. They were brutally kicked, fouled, mugged and beaten by defenders. Nowadays if a player even breathes on Messi he can get a yellowsmile smile

Maradona often took on teams on his own. It was not the team helping him. It was Maradona taking on entire defences.

Pele shone brilliantly in three world cups including when he was 17. I have videos of the 1970s world cup. I think Pele must have led the tournament in assists aside from scoring some excellent goals.

I agree that Messi is good. But to me the greatest is still Pele followed by Maradona then possibly the original Ronaldo. The latter scored in La Liga, scored in Serie A and was top scorer in the world cup.

There is always a player who starts shining and people say he is better than Pele. Eventually they come to their senses. As far back as 1968, people were saying Eusebio is better than Pele. Then Cruyff, then Maradona and now Messi
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 19, 2014 5:05:33 PM

Alba wrote:

1. Messi scores many goals in large part because he fits very well into the Barcelona system of quick passing. He is a system player. This might explain why his productivity for Argentina is low. The Argies cannot play the Barca way. A great player must be able to produce in any environment.

In June last year Messi surpassed Maradona's goal tally for Argentina with his 35th international goal.
That put him level with Hernan Crespo as the second highest scorer with Gabriel Batitusta in number one with 56 goals.....only a matter of time before he breaks that one. So as you can see his record for Argentina isn't as bad as you want us to believe, he was actually one of the top scorers in the South American 2014 World cup qualifiers. I think the only thing he needs to do for Argentina is win a trophy otherwise his performance is quite impressive. Btw how would you rate his performance in the 2008 Olympics which Argentina won, i think he was the best player then.

I think Barca are too reliant on Messi. He is the best player on the planet and it is only natural that the team where he plays adapts in order to maximize his potential.....Barca have been able to do that through players such as Xavi and Iniesta. I think its their system which relies heavily on someone Messi, it is his brilliance that turns control and domination of the game into goals. He doesn't rely on the other players to create goal scoring chances for him, most of his goals (and that of Barca as a team) originate from him....individual brilliance!
Alba
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 3:41:37 PM

Those who say messi is better than maradona, may I remind you of this goal Maradona scored against England at the 1986 World cup.

This is an individual goal not a team goal. Maradona was individually brilliant. scored many goals with no team-work. But he was also a brilliant passer. His through ball in the WC final of 1986 resulted in the winning goal by Burruchaga
Alba
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 3:44:04 PM

One more point on Diego is that he played for Napoli which before he joined was a Nondescript team. He turned them into champions of Italy and UEFA cup champions. When he left, Napoli plummetted and at one point visited the second division. Barcelona was good before Messi and will always be one of Europes best, Messi or not.

When Messi displays the kind of brilliance Maradona exhibited at the world cup then we should start comparisons between the two. Ni hayo tu
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 3:48:36 PM

Alba wrote:
Those who say messi is better than maradona, may I remind you of this goal Maradona scored against England at the 1986 World cup.

This is an individual goal not a team goal. Maradona was individually brilliant. scored many goals with no team-work. But he was also a brilliant passer. His through ball in the WC final of 1986 resulted in the winning goal by Burruchaga

Applause Applause Applause Applause Genius!!!!
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 4:39:16 PM

@Alba.......Like i said all Messi needs to do is win the WC otherwise he is the undisputed king of club football. Maradona pia alikuwa Barca at some point and its fair to see that his time there didn't quite work out as planned....btw he's also of the few great players who have never won CL, Ronaldo (the phenomenon) is also on the list. Unfortunately for Messi he's not about to leave Barca ndio tujue if he can succeed in another club but i'm sure if he signed for a club like Spurs they would become EPL contenders.

There's a goal Messi scored against Getafe sometime back i think its the best piece of individual brilliance i've ever seen.....i'll post it once i get it online.
Alba
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 5:52:32 PM

@McReggae

This was a time when England had very good defenders. The likes of Terry Butcher and Gary Mabutt were no-nonsense world class defenders in the mould of John Terry today.

And did you say how he left goalkeeper Peter Shilton for dead with that feint ? Shilton was one of the best goalies in the world. There was time unlike today when England produced excellent keepers like Ray Wood who once coached Harambee stars. See the link below

http://kenyapage.net/foo...ll/history/coaches.html

@TAZ
You mentioned Getafe and I just smiled and nodded because you are making my point. The reason Messi scores so many goals is precisely because He plays for a giant team against midget teams week in week out.

Unlike the EPL, many La Liga teams are struggling financially because the TV deals are heavily skewed towards Real and Barca, unlike England where TV revenue is shared equally by all teams. This way even bottom tier EPL teams have many world class players. Stoke City has several players who play for national teams. Now go and look at the Getafe team list on wikipedia and compare.

But as you correctly stated, Messi needs a brilliant world cup for him to enter the discussion of "greatest ever". Players are remembered based on the World cup. This is why George Best is not considered as legendary as Cruyff or Eusebio.

#19 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 8:24:25 PM

Hakuna haja ya endless arguments because hakuna vile you'll convince me that Messi is not amongst the greatest footballers. Btw that Getafe goal was scored when he was just 19 yrs old, siku za Deco and Eto'o......probably one of the best goals in la liga history. Take your pick from the link below, all great individual goals.....from Real to Brazil and oooh the Getafe goal is right at the end to seal it. Its actually almost same as the Maradona goal.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=603JM1adqRA

Alba
#20 Posted : Thursday, March 20, 2014 8:41:36 PM

@TAZ
I am not trying to convince you or anyone.
I am just expressing my opinion which is: Messi is good lakini bado hakafika level ya Pele na Maradona.

If Messi spends his whole career in la Liga he will never convince everyone.

Its rather like Kobe Bryant in basketball. When he 1st won NBA championships in LA, people said he cannot be considered an all time great because he won championships with Shaq on the team and that Shaq was the main reason they won. So Kobe had to split with Shaq, go on his own and win a championship. Since he won without Shaq, now there are no debates about whether Kobe is an all time great.

Same with Messi, his greatness in comparison with Pele and Maradona is still highly debatable. Maradona and Peles are the best two players in most people's minds,