Kwisha, Kibaki aendi Mweiga.
#41 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 9:07:17 AM

kenyanbeef wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Alba wrote:
Kibaki has given himself retirement gifts as if he was some Mandela like Statesman. This is a man who led Kenya for 10 years and never addressed corruption, never reduced unemployment and actually worsened tribalism and crime spiralled during his reign. . This is a man who inherited a Kenya that was united behind him and ended up turning Kenyans into bitter enemies. This is a man who is mostly responsible for PEV 2007.

And its not like he and his family needs it. He already became supremely wealthy during his days as finance minister in the 1970s. He has already amassed so much land. Only the Kenyatta and Moi families have more land than Kibaki. But somehow he saw it fit to take such huge perks in retirement. Most people with a conscience could not sleep at night. But clearly Kibaki lacks a conscience
Once again all I can do is smile at the situation and shake my head, smile smile smile .

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly You're joking right?

Kwani how thick are these goggles you are wearing? Is it not rather obvious? Blame it on Kibaki. Tribalism was heightened in his 10 yr short regime.

Ditto!!!!!Even small kids know PEV came about when Kibaki stole the elections.

I would engage you but I see no point. The good thing is that those are just opinions masquerading as facts.

sheri
#42 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 9:36:04 AM

kingfisher wrote:
Alba wrote:
Yenyewe sometimes when I see the goings on in Kenya I think I am in the twilight zone. I did not even know a 500m home was built for Kibaki at taxpayer expense.

Yaani we have a country where 60% of urbanites live in slums with no water, no electricty and no dignity. And instead of building some housing for the urban poor, Kenya saw it fit to build a palatial home for Kibaki. He already has several palatial homes so its a no brainer that he was never going top use that home.

On top of that, 250m was spent building him an office. Why does a retiree need an office ?

Meanwhile Kenyans complain about Nairobi traffic all day. Yet this is money that could have been used say to expand roads and provide infrastructure.

Funny that Kibaki's home that nobody lives in is replete with state of the art security including an electric fence, two 6 metre concrete walls and various cameras manned by security. It is also guarded 24-7 by 12 GSU officers.

Meanwhile Kenyans are being mugged, carjacked and generally abused by gangsters because the police force is poorly staffed ,outnumbered is demoralized and poorly equipped.

Kweli Kenya ni nchi ya maajabu. All I can do is laugh at the absurdity of it all.

you must be knowing very little then!!!

GOK built a retirement residence each for baks, pamba and kalooser.

baks in mweiga, kalooser in matuu and pamba in kalen...

baks and pamba provided land... kalooser had non near nairobi, so a chunk of NYS matuu was hived off...

baks retired, the others did not...

so now what will you do with this "additional knowledge"

nenda fanya kazi kijana!!

Jeez that new to me! and they keep on talking about corruption.
#43 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 9:40:21 AM

kingfisher wrote:
Alba wrote:
Yenyewe sometimes when I see the goings on in Kenya I think I am in the twilight zone. I did not even know a 500m home was built for Kibaki at taxpayer expense.

Yaani we have a country where 60% of urbanites live in slums with no water, no electricty and no dignity. And instead of building some housing for the urban poor, Kenya saw it fit to build a palatial home for Kibaki. He already has several palatial homes so its a no brainer that he was never going top use that home.

On top of that, 250m was spent building him an office. Why does a retiree need an office ?

Meanwhile Kenyans complain about Nairobi traffic all day. Yet this is money that could have been used say to expand roads and provide infrastructure.

Funny that Kibaki's home that nobody lives in is replete with state of the art security including an electric fence, two 6 metre concrete walls and various cameras manned by security. It is also guarded 24-7 by 12 GSU officers.

Meanwhile Kenyans are being mugged, carjacked and generally abused by gangsters because the police force is poorly staffed ,outnumbered is demoralized and poorly equipped.

Kweli Kenya ni nchi ya maajabu. All I can do is laugh at the absurdity of it all.

baks and pamba provided land... kalooser had non near nairobi, so a chunk of NYS matuu was hived off...

@Kingfisher wapi rink d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
I doubt this is true!!!
#44 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 9:59:05 AM

kingfisher wrote:
Alba wrote:

I doubt this is true!!!

InnovateGuy
#45 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 10:23:52 AM

kingfisher wrote:
Alba wrote:

I doubt this is true!!!

This was not in the budget. It never happened. But we should protect our own sheeesh

Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#46 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 11:46:12 AM

As the waste continues more continue to suffer

Why some women are using cups instead of pads

Many poor women in Kenya cannot afford to buy pads every month and they are forced to resort to other methods to contain the menstrual flow. These are, however, options are often unreliable and unhygienic. Could the menstrual cup be the solution to their problems?
Alba
#47 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 11:29:08 PM

How many police stations should Kibera and it's half a million people have? And why is that?

What 'causes' slums are imperfect markets and barriers to free market participation. America and England are examples of countries that support the creation of slums. As you've said, they even build them for their citizens in the name of 'low cost' housing.

We don't have a shortage of boxers and sports persons because there are no training facilities, we have a 'shortage' because their market is limited.

I wonder who or what you are representing in this conversation, and even what your political interests are.

You are really exposing your ignorance for wazuans to see via the bold parts above. You obviously don't know what you are talking about. So I am not even sure this is worth debating.

But let me ask you this: What exactly is your point ? Are you suggesting that it is acceptable for tax payer money to be spent building an obscenely large house for a retired president ?
#48 Posted : Tuesday, March 18, 2014 5:00:14 AM

Alba wrote:

How many police stations should Kibera and it's half a million people have? And why is that?

What 'causes' slums are imperfect markets and barriers to free market participation. America and England are examples of countries that support the creation of slums. As you've said, they even build them for their citizens in the name of 'low cost' housing.

We don't have a shortage of boxers and sports persons because there are no training facilities, we have a 'shortage' because their market is limited.

I wonder who or what you are representing in this conversation, and even what your political interests are.

You are really exposing your ignorance for wazuans to see via the bold parts above. You obviously don't know what you are talking about. So I am not even sure this is worth debating.

But let me ask you this: What exactly is your point ? Are you suggesting that it is acceptable for tax payer money to be spent building an obscenely large house for a retired president ?

@Alba, much as I wish you'd expose my ignorance by way of argument and evidence, I'm okay with your putting my words in bold and your hasty retreat into a false 'wazuan' store of 'shared' and 'established facts'. It helps my 'cause'.

As for your question, (I note you have answered none of mine) I say this, government shall always use tax payers money in schemes and ideas that are wasteful, be it palatial homes for former presidents, or 'low cost' housing for its 'urban poor'. Why? Because taxes are premised on the idea that government or some individuals can calculate or know what's best for the citizen; which is something that only the interactive process of a free market can establish. So when you point out that government should use funds for your preffered project and not its preferred choice you are just saying that you think you can make not just a better government, but a better substitute for a free market where all can participate and choose what they want. That's how your idea becomes as wasteful as the one you're criticizing.
Alba
#49 Posted : Tuesday, March 18, 2014 5:05:31 PM

Its laughable to suggest that the USA encourages slums. Can you provide an example of a case where USA encourages slums ?

With regard to how many police stations Kibera should have, it is a no brainer that one police station in a crime ridden area if 500,000 people is not enough. There should be enough police stations and posts such that the police can get to the scene of a crime within minutes. Why do I even have to explain this ?

You say that taxes are premised on the idea that some individuals can calculate or know what's best for the citizen. How is building a palatial home that nobody lives in good for citizens ?

Just tell us whether building and maintaining palatial houses which no one lives in is justified and dont try to dodge the question with tortured logic that is geared to make you sound intelligent.
#50 Posted : Tuesday, March 18, 2014 5:59:29 PM

Alba wrote:

Its laughable to suggest that the USA encourages slums. Can you provide an example of a case where USA encourages slums ?

With regard to how many police stations Kibera should have, it is a no brainer that one police station in a crime ridden area if 500,000 people is not enough. There should be enough police stations and posts such that the police can get to the scene of a crime within minutes. Why do I even have to explain this ?

You say that taxes are premised on the idea that some individuals can calculate or know what's best for the citizen. How is building a palatial home that nobody lives in good for citizens ?

Just tell us whether building and maintaining palatial houses which no one lives in is justified and dont try to dodge the question with tortured logic that is geared to make you sound intelligent.

I do not live in the United States of America. I live in The Republic of Kenya. What could be a slum in the eye of the US citizen could be a palace in the Kenyan eye.

A Police Station or lack thereof, putting up a palatial house being unjustifiable or taxes being used for the wrong reason is nothing new in The Republic of Kenya. Kenyans do not give a damn. That is why it is happening.

So pick up another forum to register your whine or move out.
7 Pages«<34567>