Kwisha, Kibaki aendi Mweiga.
Kratos wrote:Alba wrote:Kibaki has given himself retirement gifts as if he was some Mandela like Statesman. This is a man who led Kenya for 10 years and never addressed corruption, never reduced unemployment and actually worsened tribalism and crime spiralled during his reign. . This is a man who inherited a Kenya that was united behind him and ended up turning Kenyans into bitter enemies. This is a man who is mostly responsible for PEV 2007. And its not like he and his family needs it. He already became supremely wealthy during his days as finance minister in the 1970s. He has already amassed so much land. Only the Kenyatta and Moi families have more land than Kibaki. But somehow he saw it fit to take such huge perks in retirement. Most people with a conscience could not sleep at night. But clearly Kibaki lacks a conscience Once again all I can do is smile at the situation and shake my head,  .  You're joking right? Kwani how thick are these goggles you are wearing? Is it not rather obvious? Blame it on Kibaki. Tribalism was heightened in his 10 yr short regime.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
@murchr what do you about in @tycho's? That you support the extravagance of the 'palace'? The more I read your replies to @alba I wonder if you're trying water down his point. Or is it a case of "don't mention our man", just like I've not seen you condemn successor's extravagance.
@tycho the point was why did we have to spent millions on a house when we've all other problems as mentioned by @alba. Don't argue for sake of arguing.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
AlphDoti wrote:@murchr what do you about in @tycho's? That you support the extravagance of the 'palace'? The more I read your replies to @alba I wonder if you're trying water down his point. Or is it a case of "don't mention our man", just like I've not seen you condemn successor's extravagance.
@tycho the point was why did we have to spent millions on a house when we've all other problems as mentioned by @alba. Don't argue for sake of arguing. What do you mean by 'we have problems'? If you have a problem you find a political solution to it. Kibaki gets what he wants or needs because he can exact it. The poor languish because they have no power. And don't start patronizing me as if I don't know what am talking about. You and your dead opposition.
kenyanbeef wrote:Kratos wrote:Alba wrote:Kibaki has given himself retirement gifts as if he was some Mandela like Statesman. This is a man who led Kenya for 10 years and never addressed corruption, never reduced unemployment and actually worsened tribalism and crime spiralled during his reign. . This is a man who inherited a Kenya that was united behind him and ended up turning Kenyans into bitter enemies. This is a man who is mostly responsible for PEV 2007. And its not like he and his family needs it. He already became supremely wealthy during his days as finance minister in the 1970s. He has already amassed so much land. Only the Kenyatta and Moi families have more land than Kibaki. But somehow he saw it fit to take such huge perks in retirement. Most people with a conscience could not sleep at night. But clearly Kibaki lacks a conscience Once again all I can do is smile at the situation and shake my head,  .  You're joking right? Kwani how thick are these goggles you are wearing? Is it not rather obvious? Blame it on Kibaki. Tribalism was heightened in his 10 yr short regime. Ditto!!!!!Even small kids know PEV came about when Kibaki stole the elections.
tycho wrote:AlphDoti wrote:@murchr what do you about in @tycho's? That you support the extravagance of the 'palace'? The more I read your replies to @alba I wonder if you're trying water down his point. Or is it a case of "don't mention our man", just like I've not seen you condemn successor's extravagance.
@tycho the point was why did we have to spent millions on a house when we've all other problems as mentioned by @alba. Don't argue for sake of arguing. What do you mean by 'we have problems'? If you have a problem you find a political solution to it. Kibaki gets what he wants or needs because he can exact it. The poor languish because they have no power. And don't start patronizing me as if I don't know what am talking about. You and your dead opposition. Haiya, Tycho cool your balls brother If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:AlphDoti wrote:@murchr what do you about in @tycho's? That you support the extravagance of the 'palace'? The more I read your replies to @alba I wonder if you're trying water down his point. Or is it a case of "don't mention our man", just like I've not seen you condemn successor's extravagance.
@tycho the point was why did we have to spent millions on a house when we've all other problems as mentioned by @alba. Don't argue for sake of arguing. What do you mean by 'we have problems'? If you have a problem you find a political solution to it. Kibaki gets what he wants or needs because he can exact it. The poor languish because they have no power. And don't start patronizing me as if I don't know what am talking about. You and your dead opposition. Haiya, Tycho cool your balls brother What do you mean? They are ever cool.
tycho wrote:Alba wrote:tycho wrote:
@Alba, what you're recommending is worse politics than the one being played now. The citizens don't get mugged because police are ill equipped, but because they live in 'prisons'. The slum dwellers don't need a government that builds them houses, they need confidence and leadership that will allow them to build their own homes or afford decent housing. 'We' don't need roads built just because there's money but because active engagement of the citizen creates opportunities and income that can build and sustain infrastructure.
I get the feeling that the more we complain about our government and country the worse we get because we stick to status quo ideas of 'serikali' being the source of all good things just like it happened in 'animal farm'.
We need a different political paradigm.
You are dead wrong: 1. Poorly equipped and outnumbered police force emboldens criminals. There is one police station serving all of Kibera a slum with 500,000 people. No wonder criminals are so brazen. You can make Nairobi safer by via more street lights , more police stations and police posts, CCTV cameras, more police patrols, better trained policemen, databases to track criminals etc. In some cases policemen do not even have petrol to go after thieves. 2. Every responsible government builds low cost housing, be it the USA or UK or wherever. It is laughable for you to say all they need is confidence to build their own homes. You must be one of those that was born with a silver spoon. Most Kenyan middle class types cant even build their own homes and you think slum dwellers can build homes ? Reality please ! 3. Serikali is not the source of all good things. But it must get its priorities right. Instead of palatial homes, why not build better infrastructure to enhance economic activity ? So much Productivity is lost in constant traffic jams. So much productivity is lost due to power outages. Why not invest in making Kenya more secure ? This will bring more tourists. Why not build social halls , basketball courts, football fields for the youth ? This will keep them busy and away from crime. Some of them might become good enough to earn a living from sports. The colonial masters saw it fit to build housing for the poor and football fields for the youth. And even social halls. Kenya's best boxers were products of social halls like Muthurwa aka Dallas. Now such social hall are grabbed by bigwigs and Kenya is no longer good at boxing. Virtually all the stadiums and football grounds in Kenya were built by the colonialists. The only exceptions are Nyayo and Kasarani. Sports can be a good source of revenue and employment. Yet instead of building sports facilities were are building palatial homes. How is it possible that the colonial masters were kinder to Kenyans than our own leaders ? How many police stations should Kibera and it's half a million people have? And why is that? What 'causes' slums are imperfect markets and barriers to free market participation. America and England are examples of countries that support the creation of slums. As you've said, they even build them for their citizens in the name of 'low cost' housing. We don't have a shortage of boxers and sports persons because there are no training facilities, we have a 'shortage' because their market is limited. I wonder who or what you are representing in this conversation, and even what your political interests are. Millions of persons each year leave rural regions and move towards cities, driven by hunger and economic instability. They share the forlorn hope that life's pain will somehow be reduced if they experience it with others in a grand community aka city. This simply means that all of life's experiences e.g. pain, brokenness, violence will be intensified. It is not for nothing that all the dreamers of the world have placed their nirvanas and utopias on far distant, undiscovered planets. No one expects any good to emerge from the current set up. I don't.
Alba wrote:Yenyewe sometimes when I see the goings on in Kenya I think I am in the twilight zone. I did not even know a 500m home was built for Kibaki at taxpayer expense.
Yaani we have a country where 60% of urbanites live in slums with no water, no electricty and no dignity. And instead of building some housing for the urban poor, Kenya saw it fit to build a palatial home for Kibaki. He already has several palatial homes so its a no brainer that he was never going top use that home.
On top of that, 250m was spent building him an office. Why does a retiree need an office ?
Meanwhile Kenyans complain about Nairobi traffic all day. Yet this is money that could have been used say to expand roads and provide infrastructure.
Funny that Kibaki's home that nobody lives in is replete with state of the art security including an electric fence, two 6 metre concrete walls and various cameras manned by security. It is also guarded 24-7 by 12 GSU officers.
Meanwhile Kenyans are being mugged, carjacked and generally abused by gangsters because the police force is poorly staffed ,outnumbered is demoralized and poorly equipped.
Kweli Kenya ni nchi ya maajabu. All I can do is laugh at the absurdity of it all. you must be knowing very little then!!! GOK built a retirement residence each for baks, pamba and kalooser. baks in mweiga, kalooser in matuu and pamba in kalen... baks and pamba provided land... kalooser had non near nairobi, so a chunk of NYS matuu was hived off... baks retired, the others did not... so now what will you do with this "additional knowledge" nenda fanya kazi kijana!! When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:AlphDoti wrote:@murchr what do you about in @tycho's? That you support the extravagance of the 'palace'? The more I read your replies to @alba I wonder if you're trying water down his point. Or is it a case of "don't mention our man", just like I've not seen you condemn successor's extravagance.
@tycho the point was why did we have to spent millions on a house when we've all other problems as mentioned by @alba. Don't argue for sake of arguing. What do you mean by 'we have problems'? If you have a problem you find a political solution to it. Kibaki gets what he wants or needs because he can exact it. The poor languish because they have no power. And don't start patronizing me as if I don't know what am talking about. You and your dead opposition. Haiya, Tycho cool your balls brother Even when brother talks in simple terms some people still do not get it. They surely deserve a smacking!!
mawinder wrote:kenyanbeef wrote:Kratos wrote:Alba wrote:Kibaki has given himself retirement gifts as if he was some Mandela like Statesman. This is a man who led Kenya for 10 years and never addressed corruption, never reduced unemployment and actually worsened tribalism and crime spiralled during his reign. . This is a man who inherited a Kenya that was united behind him and ended up turning Kenyans into bitter enemies. This is a man who is mostly responsible for PEV 2007. And its not like he and his family needs it. He already became supremely wealthy during his days as finance minister in the 1970s. He has already amassed so much land. Only the Kenyatta and Moi families have more land than Kibaki. But somehow he saw it fit to take such huge perks in retirement. Most people with a conscience could not sleep at night. But clearly Kibaki lacks a conscience Once again all I can do is smile at the situation and shake my head,  .  You're joking right? Kwani how thick are these goggles you are wearing? Is it not rather obvious? Blame it on Kibaki. Tribalism was heightened in his 10 yr short regime. Ditto!!!!!Even small kids know PEV came about when Kibaki stole the elections.
Kwisha, Kibaki aendi Mweiga.