Kwisha, Kibaki aendi Mweiga.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
@chepkel...I better wallow in the murky waters of abject poverty. @ZZE123...I am ready to lead a life of a pig, an animal that will feed on human waste, sorry!
Rank: Member Joined: 4/6/2010 Posts: 741 Location: Nairobi
Magigi wrote:@chepkel...I better wallow in the murky waters of abject poverty. @ZZE123...I am ready to lead a life of a pig, an animal that will feed on human waste, sorry! That was on a light note.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Yenyewe sometimes when I see the goings on in Kenya I think I am in the twilight zone. I did not even know a 500m home was built for Kibaki at taxpayer expense.
Yaani we have a country where 60% of urbanites live in slums with no water, no electricty and no dignity. And instead of building some housing for the urban poor, Kenya saw it fit to build a palatial home for Kibaki. He already has several palatial homes so its a no brainer that he was never going top use that home.
On top of that, 250m was spent building him an office. Why does a retiree need an office ?
Meanwhile Kenyans complain about Nairobi traffic all day. Yet this is money that could have been used say to expand roads and provide infrastructure.
Funny that Kibaki's home that nobody lives in is replete with state of the art security including an electric fence, two 6 metre concrete walls and various cameras manned by security. It is also guarded 24-7 by 12 GSU officers.
Meanwhile Kenyans are being mugged, carjacked and generally abused by gangsters because the police force is poorly staffed ,outnumbered is demoralized and poorly equipped.
Kweli Kenya ni nchi ya maajabu. All I can do is laugh at the absurdity of it all.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Alba wrote:Yenyewe sometimes when I see the goings on in Kenya I think I am in the twilight zone. I did not even know a 500m home was built for Kibaki at taxpayer expense.
Yaani we have a country where 60% of urbanites live in slums with no water, no electricty and no dignity. And instead of building some housing for the urban poor, Kenya saw it fit to build a palatial home for Kibaki. He already has several palatial homes so its a no brainer that he was never going top use that home.
On top of that, 250m was spent building him an office. Why does a retiree need an office ?
Meanwhile Kenyans complain about Nairobi traffic all day. Yet this is money that could have been used say to expand roads and provide infrastructure.
Funny that Kibaki's home that nobody lives in is replete with state of the art security including an electric fence, two 6 metre concrete walls and various cameras manned by security. It is also guarded 24-7 by 12 GSU officers.
Meanwhile Kenyans are being mugged, carjacked and generally abused by gangsters because the police force is poorly staffed ,outnumbered is demoralized and poorly equipped.
Kweli Kenya ni nchi ya maajabu. All I can do is laugh at the absurdity of it all. @Alba, what you're recommending is worse politics than the one being played now. The citizens don't get mugged because police are ill equipped, but because they live in 'prisons'. The slum dwellers don't need a government that builds them houses, they need confidence and leadership that will allow them to build their own homes or afford decent housing. 'We' don't need roads built just because there's money but because active engagement of the citizen creates opportunities and income that can build and sustain infrastructure. I get the feeling that the more we complain about our government and country the worse we get because we stick to status quo ideas of 'serikali' being the source of all good things just like it happened in 'animal farm'. We need a different political paradigm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
@tycho I must say I understood all of your post above, man keep up you've become very considerate to laymen like us!
@alba I have your same amazement too. This is what you get when you kill your opposition. When I read "Jubiree" people always singing and not realizing anything wrong with some garment actions, I realize even the learned here cannot help this country. The elite are no longer honest to themselves, just support because "it's my people" and loose interest of the country.
Nobody proposed to build a home for mtukufu.Again, nobody proposed to build a home for the co-principal. Since baks is one of us, we should build it for him. Isokei, we are one. Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
tycho wrote:Alba wrote:Yenyewe sometimes when I see the goings on in Kenya I think I am in the twilight zone. I did not even know a 500m home was built for Kibaki at taxpayer expense.
Kweli Kenya ni nchi ya maajabu. All I can do is laugh at the absurdity of it all. @Alba, what you're recommending is worse politics than the one being played now. The citizens don't get mugged because police are ill equipped, but because they live in 'prisons'. The slum dwellers don't need a government that builds them houses, they need confidence and leadership that will allow them to build their own homes or afford decent housing. 'We' don't need roads built just because there's money but because active engagement of the citizen creates opportunities and income that can build and sustain infrastructure. I get the feeling that the more we complain about our government and country the worse we get because we stick to status quo ideas of 'serikali' being the source of all good things just like it happened in 'animal farm'. We need a different political paradigm. @ Tycho. Are you one of aliens? Thank you. Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Oh oh. This is about to get fun.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
Alba wrote:Yenyewe sometimes when I see the goings on in Kenya I think I am in the twilight zone. I did not even know a 500m home was built for Kibaki at taxpayer expense.
Kweli Kenya ni nchi ya maajabu. All I can do is laugh at the absurdity of it all.  quot;  quot; haiya@Kenya enyewe its sad but there are few people who know this like you lakini watu wafanye nini? Almost 1 billion on something that will never be used.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
AlphDoti wrote:@tycho I must say I understood all of your post above, man keep up you've become very considerate to laymen like us!
@alba I have your same amazement too. This is what you get when you kill your opposition. When I read "Jubiree" people always singing and not realizing anything wrong with some garment actions, I realize even the learned here cannot help this country. The elite are no longer honest to themselves, just support because "it's my people" and loose interest of the country. Am not with you on this one. Even if the opposition was live and kicking, they will be singing the same song. Look @ what they are saying when someone said salary cuts ? opposition or no opposition , bure kabisa
Kwisha, Kibaki aendi Mweiga.