KTN news full of bulls***
over the weekend,watched a 7pm news clip on KTN where they were attacking kalonzo for his ruto alliance remarks. mimi pia siku kubaliana na kalonzo. part of the clip was an excerpt of the prime minister allegedly reprimanding kalonzo for the remarks. at 9pm,i watch news on citizen and they play a clip of raila from the same venue only that they go one sentence earlier than ktn. kumbe raila was criticizing the media. direct or indirect inference to kalonzo did not come up at all. why distort a speech does to support your personal opinion however valid it might seem? so how many other news items are so distorted. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
Yaani you still watch KTN news? The Standard Group is too desperate and will do anything to stay relevant.
Bright and interesting people talk about ideas. Those of average intelligence talk about things. Stupid people talk about other people.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 10/6/2007 Posts: 1,177 Location: Nairobi - Kenya
and that is why you are asked not to make judgment based on the news bits... if you want to make an informed judgment then you better request for the entire clip or you attend the meeting... so far,k24 brings a comprehensive news coverage.... When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
this is when you are realising that... you are 4 years full of crap then...
what happened to press freedom and the media oversight body>>>yet we are quick to blame politicians. The press has better stuff to air other than empty rhetorics of politicians who are doing what they know best...politick
The fool folds his arms and consumes his own flesh. Better is one handful with tranquility than two with toil and a chase after wind!
Isn't this what Dr. Mutua,the Govt spokesman has been protesting about all this while. Ethics in most of our media house counts for very little. KTN may lead the pack on this front. Things arent always the way they look like Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
Rank: Member Joined: 5/8/2009 Posts: 263 Location: Gigiri, Nairobi
@Jangwa la Jangili v Well said Fantony. v Although those who read Standard and watch KTN may want to defend the specific media house, v It would be more about receiving what they want to hear, v rather than the facts on the ground. v If a media house induces conflict among politicians in order to sell the paper, v that means the media house is partisan and thus no longer reporting unbiased news v but satisfying a section of the viewers while fooling others. v Ati for the last four years,someone has been watching KTN News religiously. v Oops,my foot. >>>>>>It saves you hell if you treat new acquaintances as enemies consistently until each proves otherwise or confirms - Jsanchiazh. >>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people,those who make things happen,those who watch things happen and those who ask what happened. Where do you fall? >>>>>> A thing of beauty is a joy for ever: Its loveliness increases; It will never pass into nothingness; But still will keep a bower quiet for us, and a sleep full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats
>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people, 1. Those who make things happen, 2. Those who watch things happen 3. And those who ask what happened.
Where do you fall?
To be honest ....every media house has its interests...KBC serves the government with full bias...Nation has its owners ....K24 serves its own ......KTN same.....the choice is yours ...let the remote do the walking....you can watch national geographic on DSTV ...if you dont want biases .....thereby have your peaceful sleep Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@ fundaah yes... but ktn is extremist... When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
...the main issue here is not what others said about what Kalonzo said but what Kalonzo said!!!. Is this the rght time to be talking about alliances? This is the main issue. What others said about it is irrelevant. and all seem to think the same. Mwana wa Kiveti has lost it!!!
@fundaah - hiyo ni upuzi mtupu. there is a way to be biased intelligently. ktn takes the cake for being brazen. do you have a specific example of such distortion by any other news channel other than kbc? citizen tv iko juu tu sana. speaking of which,si these guys are on a roll. after tpf,they won exclusive rights to cover the mama awards. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
I was flabbargasted? to see some opinion polls showing that Kalonzo was leading in popularity by 49% followed by Raila at 46 then Kibaki at 42?.....in Citizen at 9.pm...whose interest can you say citizen serves?......Our media is totally rotten Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@Fundah Citizen is a media house in Kenya. I am yet to hear anybody hold them as Angels. However the research so reported was not conducted by the media house but rather by South Conslting Co. a hireling of the council of Africa Eminent persons. If they distorted the data thats a different matter. Things arent always the way they look like Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
@fundaah - the poll was by the ngo handling kofi annan's business in kenya. how is that distortion? it is called reporting. you report things regardless of your personal opinion. if steadman do one tomorrow and it shows raila at 90%,you report it too and let the people judge. something citizen will do but ktn will fight with opinions. should you only report what you think or want to be true? and @magigi. the main issue here is not about what kalonzo said. the issue is about how media are reporting things. it is much more serious than a politician campaigning for 2012. and lets face it,siyo kalonzo peke yake ana campaign na kufanya alliances. ingawa hizo tribal alliances ni mbaya. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
and you could see them (ktn anchors) blaze with news briefs at 9 while standing (kupandisia) before they commence the devil in the details... you would think that they are the modest of them all... When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly.... When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
I've always had a problem with newscasters giving their own opinions while reading news. Since when did they become political scientists? I thought news were to be presented in their raw form to be interpreted and digested by the public. But like someone has said,all media houses have their bias! Choice is yours!
Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
Jnagwa & Ngalaka why was it(....the south consulting opinions..) .. not reported inthe other media houses?.has it been headlined in any of the leading newspapers today??..its all interest.......and btw do you believe them? Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@Fundaah,I thought so too about the stats.
For sure,
49% + 46% +42% =137%
So if this is the case,did Ugandans poll too?
I think all media houses are full of crap,starting with the CNNsand the SKYs of this world. But the Citizens,NTVs,and KTNs will win the Crap Challenge without practice. If you have ever interacted with journalists (when they are out at work),you will know that it is very easy and possible to have any event or report or incident reported in the perspective of choice if you can pay. Some politicians always leave the scribes with some 2k for lunch,transport e.t.c so as not to be 'misquoted'. I have learnt to run away from journalists' questions especially when it revolves around work...usually you would tell them 'upstairs' but they will report 'rooftop'.
These morons.
We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
Conclusion....Though I do not hold brief for KTN ......the headline of this thread should be .....Kenyan media full of crap..... Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner.. Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
@fundaah - the other media houses had a choice to report it or not. vile ninasema ni kwamba every media house has to report the story as it is and leave for us the viewer to judge. there would only be a problem if they distorted the report. we have to wait for 3 or 4 of the other established firms to conduct a poll and see whether there is any truth. the biggest problem with kenyans between 2005 and today is that they reject any opinion that does not seem to agree with what their friends,relatives and close associates opinions are. obviously your closest associates will share your opinion lakini hiyo haimaanishi everyone else thinks the same. kenya na kubwa jameni. anyway,siasa aside,mimi nilikuwa naongea juu ya ktn. journalists wote wana upuzi lakini ktn takes the cake hands down. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
KTN news full of bulls***