wazua Sat, May 24, 2025

52 Pages«<3233343536>»
Question for a4architect
a4architect.com
#661 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 5:55:04 PM

@chaka..which guys? Bio digester suppliers?
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
Chaka
#662 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 5:59:30 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@chaka..which guys? Bio digester suppliers?

@a4arch,
Yes but specifically some guys called
Kenya Cast Products

They say a pit that they make which is 3 meters cubed can serve 35 people and never fill up?
#663 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 7:04:47 PM

@a4architect, maneno ya hii unajua?

ECO friendly home designs
african coloner
#664 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2014 1:21:25 AM

@a4architect, maneno ya hii unajua?

ECO friendly home designs

This is where by the house is friendly to the environment. like using natural light instead of electricity, recycling of water. using of solar energy to light up and using local available materials for construction. And many more. Expensive to build but very nice place to live in
a4architect.com
#665 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2014 2:50:45 PM

@african coloner, well said.Exactly.
#666 Posted : Wednesday, March 12, 2014 12:09:57 AM

a4architect.com wrote:

I'm actually asking whether you have knowledge or know someone locally who can advice on this...
african coloner
#667 Posted : Wednesday, March 12, 2014 2:14:48 AM

a4architect.com wrote:

I'm actually asking whether you have knowledge or know someone locally who can advice on this...

Visit 4architect in Karen and he will assist you on that including the drawings. for technical advice, meet me at romours for few tuskers and free advice.
a4architect.com
#668 Posted : Wednesday, March 12, 2014 9:50:22 AM

a4architect.com wrote:

@nostoppingthis, yes i have. The info is usually given out as architectural drawings within the process of design as opposed to as a write up/advisory/discussion.

Other architects such as Prof. Alfred Omenya of UoN can also give the same in detail.

What @africancoloner said above is a description of the main points that will help shape up the final drawings in line with green architecture.
african coloner
#669 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 2:03:21 AM

@4architect. Which is more expensive between building the shell or finishing? I mean like putting up ten 2bedroom flat on four level.
a4architect.com
#670 Posted : Thursday, April 24, 2014 9:10:21 AM

@african coloner, for low and middle class finished houses, the shell, including roof, is around 50 to 60% of the total cost. For high class finished houses, the shell is much lower, say 30% of the total cost depending on the cost of finishes.
#671 Posted : Monday, April 28, 2014 10:40:59 PM

4architect what could be the estimated cost for 127 m2 slab.saidia.consider koroga labour of 20k .
a4architect.com
#672 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 9:14:26 AM

@newfarer, this will be approx. kes 190,000 inclusive of labour. This will be around 87 bags of cement based on a 1.2.4 concrete mix.
#673 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 11:23:17 AM

@a4architect, what would you consider a reasonable ratio/multiple between rent and cost when buying a house as an investment. Consider the following options.

A house in south B going for 15mn fetching 50k in rent.
O.rongai going for 6.8mn fetching 30k in rent.
Edenville house @ 18mn fetching 80k rent.
Nyayo Embakasi flat kes.7mn fetching 30k rent.
Green park athiriver kes. 15mn fetching 45k rent.

Is there a generally acceptable range ? Is it even prudent to buy a house as an investment with these kind of returns ? Especially if it will involve bank financing (interest, stamp duty e.t.c.)
#674 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 11:23:58 AM

a4architect.com wrote:
@newfarer, this will be approx. kes 190,000 inclusive of labour. This will be around 87 bags of cement based on a 1.2.4 concrete mix.

Have gone through your site and you estimate the cost of a suspended slab to around kes 2,600 / m2 - funny that I have been getting quotes of around 450k for a slab around 100m2, the approximate breakdown being - around 150k for chuma and around 150k for the sand,ballast and cement, around 80k for formwork, 60k for labor.

well, my question is different, what is the role of beams when doing the kawaida insitu slab for a house without columns.
#675 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 1:53:40 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

.does this include the y12 and r8 yaani chumas
faa
#676 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 4:36:09 PM

@architect4

I intend to purchase a plot in either Kinoo,Muthiga,Kikuyu ,lironi,wangige and environs for the sole purpose of building a family house...

Whats the recommended plot size that can accomodate a bungalow,and lets say a small compound for a cow or two.

Also whats the approximate cost of such a plot( i know they are abit pricey)

And besides the costs involved in constructing the actual house..what other costs should i factor before starting the actual construction?

african coloner
#677 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 7:24:26 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

That's excluding chumas, total cost will be around 400k.
limanika
#678 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 8:23:45 PM

african coloner wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:

agreed,its better to budget with 450-500K However
#679 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 8:27:41 PM

limanika wrote:
african coloner wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:

agreed,its better to budget with 450-500K However

thanks nitajikakamua. i will need to revisit that wazua thread on 'how to survive during hard times' and do a memo in my house.
heri
#680 Posted : Tuesday, April 29, 2014 9:06:09 PM

pleae