wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Kenya 15s - IRB World Cup 2015
kollabo
#1 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 9:40:17 AM

Hey people, I think these guys also deserve a thread. Whats the latest on the build up to England 2015? Zimbabwe and Namibia are preparing seriously.
#2 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 10:17:42 AM

15s Ngumu! most of our new players eye the shorter version of the game.
#3 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 11:40:23 AM

Kenya has joined the SA Vodacom Cup this year to help us prep for the 15's. This is a tier 3 league below Super15 and Currie Cup. Should reallyhelp the boys technically.

I think we are making the 2015 WC.
kollabo
#4 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 1:13:54 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Kenya has joined the SA Vodacom Cup this year to help us prep for the 15's. This is a tier 3 league below Super15 and Currie Cup. Should reallyhelp the boys technically.

When is this starting @Obi?
#5 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 2:01:07 PM

kollabo wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

When is this starting @Obi?

This has been on the cards and is part of the deal the current office holders have been trying to get done. The deal is substantially done and me thinks they are currently working out the details. There is a whole lot of logistical matters including finances that need to be ironed out before its a done deal.

We should play in the tournament this season, but I am told we will not have any matches in Kenya.

In the past, namibia and even Zim have done similar thing with SARFU.

The Kenyan 15's team have the best chance of making the World Cup ever. The team is quite strong and the SA coach Jerome Parwaters has done alot to upskill the players especially in learning to rely more on team work and less on athletism. P D Villiers (former bok coach) is also keen on assisting whenever he can.
Alba
#6 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 5:12:23 PM

If the Tri-Nations results are anything to go by then Kenya will really need to pull up their socks to beat Namibia. The gap is closing but there is still a gap.
#7 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 5:51:24 PM

Alba wrote:
If the Tri-Nations results are anything to go by then Kenya will really need to pull up their socks to beat Namibia. The gap is closing but there is still a gap.

I thought we were going well, if i remember correctly, we chapad Madagascar at home, and Madagascar beat Namibia, so thats a good indication of where we are. We also beat Tunisia in Nai the other day.
Alba
#8 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 5:55:41 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Alba wrote:

I thought we were going well, if i remember correctly, we chapad Madagascar at home, and Madagascar beat Namibia, so thats a good indication of where we are. We also beat Tunisia in Nai the other day.

Yes but in the most recent results, Kenya were soundly beaten by Zim and Namibia. See below
#9 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 6:15:03 PM

@Alba, where is the link you are refferring to.

@Kollabo, see link from KRFU that has some info on Vodacom Cup
http://www.kenyarfu.com/...-vodacom-cup-squad-named
kollabo
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 10:20:14 AM

Yes, its now official. Kenya are in the Southern Section and will be based in Cape Town at Newlands stadium. Paarwater is taking 40 players down.

8th March, Kenya vs Eastern Province
15th March, Kenya vs SWD Eagles
22nd March, Kenya vs Border Bulldogs
29th March, Kenya vs Boland Cavaliers
12th April, Kenya vs Sharks
22nd April, Kenya vs Western Province

A semi-final appearance will be a good barometer.
Alba
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 4:19:14 PM

kollabo wrote:
Yes, its now official. Kenya are in the Southern Section and will be based in Cape Town at Newlands stadium. Paarwater is taking 40 players down.

8th March, Kenya vs Eastern Province
15th March, Kenya vs SWD Eagles
22nd March, Kenya vs Border Bulldogs
29th March, Kenya vs Boland Cavaliers
12th April, Kenya vs Sharks
22nd April, Kenya vs Western Province

A semi-final appearance will be a good barometer.

I am glad that Kenya is getting valuable experience.
But Manzee Kenyans are not realistic bana. Kenya will do well if they keep the scores close. Wacha ata Semi-final. Uliza Namibia. They have been there before. I just hope Kenya can keep the scores respectable.

If Kenya rugby officials go to SA they should not go for matembezi. They should find out what kind of structures SA has that makes them produce high calibre players. Talk to coaches from schools like Paarl Gym and Grey college that produce a significant number of springboks and see how much of that they can replicate in Kenya. It all comes down to player development.

Alba
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 4:20:56 PM

[quote=Obi 1 Kanobi] Alba, where is the link you are refferring to.

Kollabo, see link from KRFU that has some info on Vodacom Cup
http://www.kenyarfu.com/...vodacom-cup-squad-named[/quote]

Sorry I forgot to post the Tri Nations link
http://allafrica.com/stories/201311170115.html
Alba
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 28, 2014 11:23:11 PM

Some things I dont understand yet is

1. Don't most Kenya players have jobs and school to go to ? If so, how will they balance staying in SA for long periods with their other obligations.

2. The Argentina Union pulled their team out of the Vodacom cup citing strained financial resources. Does Kenya have enough money to keep players in SA for long periods ?

Maswali tu
kollabo
#14 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 2:32:19 PM

Paarwater set to name starting 15 today.

Debut is tomorrow 4pm local time vs Eastern Province Kings at City Park, Cape Town.

...live on SS9. All the best to the lads. The journey begins now!
kollabo
#15 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 2:44:42 PM

Tusker Simba XV squad to face EP Kings

15. Isaac Adimo, 14. Leonard Mugaisi, 13. Fabian Olando, 12. Nick Barasa, 11. Dennis Muhanji, 10. Kenny Andola, 9. Edwin Achayo, 8.Joshua Chisanga, 7.Brian Nyikuli, 6.Michael Okombe, 5. Oliver Mang'eni, 4. Wilson Kopondo, 3. James Kang'ethe, 2. Maxwell Adaka, 1. Joseph Kang'ethe

Replacements 16. Edward Oseko, 17.Moses Amusala, 18.Tony Mutai, 19.Davis Chenge, 20.Lyle Asiligwa, 21.Eden Agero, 22. Darwin Mukidza, 23. Duncan Mwangi
#16 Posted : Friday, March 07, 2014 4:54:42 PM

kollabo wrote:
Tusker Simba XV squad to face EP Kings

15. Isaac Adimo, 14. Leonard Mugaisi, 13. Fabian Olando, 12. Nick Barasa, 11. Dennis Muhanji, 10. Kenny Andola, 9. Edwin Achayo, 8.Joshua Chisanga, 7.Brian Nyikuli, 6.Michael Okombe, 5. Oliver Mang'eni, 4. Wilson Kopondo, 3. James Kang'ethe, 2. Maxwell Adaka, 1. Joseph Kang'ethe

Replacements 16. Edward Oseko, 17.Moses Amusala, 18.Tony Mutai, 19.Davis Chenge, 20.Lyle Asiligwa, 21.Eden Agero, 22. Darwin Mukidza, 23. Duncan Mwangi

hii ni 'Nairobi' team
kollabo
#17 Posted : Saturday, March 08, 2014 6:00:58 PM

Tusker Simba 17 - 10 Eastern Province Kings FT.

Well done lads!!
kollabo
#18 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 10:06:52 AM

Sad one, we went down nine tries scoring only one.
SWD Eagles 51 - 7 Tusker Simba
#19 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 11:39:23 AM

kollabo wrote:
Sad one, we went down nine tries scoring only one.
SWD Eagles 51 - 7 Tusker Simba

people learn more from failure than from success! Kenya needs to get its 15s rugby standards up to match (or attempt to match) teams that play south of the limpopo.
#20 Posted : Monday, March 17, 2014 2:08:08 PM

http://www.osbke.com/ken...es/#sthash.wqNHV9ad.dpbs