Here are the full year 2013 PBT figures:
Roar 18.9B 20.1B actual
Equity 18.6B
19.1B
actual
SCBK 13.2
COOP 12.6B
BBK 12.45B 11.3B actual

Some analysts think KCB goosed up the PBT/PAT with some off business with IFRS vs CBK prudential guidelines for NPLs. If you substract the 1bn 'overstatement' then your original estimate is close.
the deal
#203 Posted : Friday, February 28, 2014 7:12:50 AM

Roar 18.9B 20.1B actual
Equity 18.6B
19.1B
actual
SCBK 13.2
COOP 12.6B
BBK 12.45B 11.3B actual

Some analysts think KCB goosed up the PBT/PAT with some off business with IFRS vs CBK prudential guidelines for NPLs. If you substract the 1bn 'overstatement' then your original estimate is close.

Lets be real folks...this is not insider information but just some guesswork!
mibbz
#204 Posted : Friday, February 28, 2014 10:43:52 AM

the deal wrote:
Roar 18.9B 20.1B actual
Equity 18.6B
19.1B
actual
SCBK 13.2
COOP 12.6B
BBK 12.45B 11.3B actual

But KCB did grease its Profits;i wonder if Equity did the same.We should have some sort of financial lobby group that scrutinize these books and give a report
#205 Posted : Friday, February 28, 2014 10:53:25 AM

mibbz wrote:
the deal wrote:
Roar 18.9B 20.1B actual
Equity 18.6B
19.1B
actual
SCBK 13.2
COOP 12.6B
BBK 12.45B 11.3B actual

But KCB did grease its Profits;i wonder if Equity did the same.We should have some sort of financial lobby group that scrutinize these books and give a report
CMA doesn't care. As for CBK, they are more concerned about Capital Adequacy and Provisions which KCB has met.
#206 Posted : Friday, February 28, 2014 6:43:55 PM

mibbz wrote:
the deal wrote:
Roar 18.9B 20.1B actual
Eqty 18.6B 19.1B actual
SCBK 13.2
COOP 12.6B
BBK 12.45B 11.3B actual

CMA doesn't care. As for CBK, they are more concerned about Capital Adequacy and Provisions which KCB has met.

forecast can be termed as guesswork. but eight years running at NSE and I am still at the very top of the insiders. as for roar having an NPL less than 1B sijui hata kama hii no greasing, maybe impunity. q1 will bring out 'nigeria' like situation. in short, im selling financials

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Cde Monomotapa
#207 Posted : Friday, February 28, 2014 6:54:22 PM

Been following this KCB 'witch hunt' and my take is this. All the sectors numbers pass through the CBK. Even appointing a senior executive has to be approved by CBK. So what is all the hullabaloo?

Moreover, if we can remember Kengen's position about booking un-realized FX losses to the B/S, then we'd be OK. #IFRS
#208 Posted : Friday, February 28, 2014 6:59:50 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Been following this KCB 'witch hunt' and my take is this. All the sectors numbers pass through the CBK. Even appointing a senior executive has to be approved by CBK. So what is all the hullabaloo?

Moreover, if we can remember Kengen's position about booking un-realized FX losses to the B/S, then we'd be OK. #IFRS

brother comrade. wewe unadhania governor wa cbk ni pope? mkono yake ni chafu

Cde Monomotapa
#209 Posted : Friday, February 28, 2014 7:04:48 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

brother comrade. wewe unadhania governor wa cbk ni pope? mkono yake ni chafu

Accept & move on, like the many who buy stocks for fast money but end up being 'longterm investors'. Same rationale.
#210 Posted : Saturday, March 01, 2014 12:51:29 AM

Equity has 3/4 the Loans that KCB has. The net NPL exposure for Equity is less than 500mn. The same number for KCB is 4bn.

Anyone want to interpret this for me?
#211 Posted : Saturday, March 01, 2014 6:51:26 AM

@vvs the green one lends a portion of about 40% to corporate implying high npl incase of default by one client, like Triton.

mwekez@ji
#212 Posted : Saturday, March 01, 2014 10:23:28 AM

@VVS, KCB is doing very badly in Non Performing Loans Management. The Net NPLs exposure should be zero. Check a couple of other banks. (N.B. Net NPLs exposure = Gross NPLs - Accrued interest on the NPLs - Provision on the NPLs - Value of Security held on the NPLs)(KCB needs to up its Provisions or be obtaining adequate security on the its loan from the onset)
#213 Posted : Sunday, March 02, 2014 8:55:02 PM

@Obiero @mwekezaji LMAO... It was a rhetorical question. I have been following @Sang252 on this. The Net NPL exposure should be ZERO unless a recovery has been made in the days following the reporting period e.g. A payment has been made by 30 Jan [when the audit for the year ending 31 Dec is completed] therefore there is no provision required or Net NPL exposure on 30 Jan but was there on 31 Dec.

I am sure Equity can absorb a 500mn [the Net NPL exposure] write-off without much ado. As for KCB having to write-off 4bn will hurt the EPS substantially.
mwekez@ji
#214 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 8:37:21 PM

Britam FY13 results coming up on Friday, 7th March 2014 >>> Investor Calendar >>> http://www.britam.co.ke/site/index.php/investor-relations
mwekez@ji
#215 Posted : Wednesday, March 05, 2014 7:08:54 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Britam FY13 results coming up on Friday, 7th March 2014 >>> Investor Calendar >>> http://www.britam.co.ke/site/index.php/investor-relations

.................. at 7.00am ..................
mwekez@ji
#216 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 5:47:35 PM

NMG FY13 results coming up on Thus, 20th March 2014
#217 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 7:23:01 PM

coop bank CEO seen burnin the midnight oil wit CFO.. books have refused to balance?!

#218 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 7:33:51 PM

coop bank CEO seen burnin the midnight oil wit CFO.. books have refused to balance?!

Porojo nazo! So, the books are cooked after auditing? Or is it that the auditors just rubber stamp whatever has been presented?

#219 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 8:10:23 PM

Porojo nazo! So, the books are cooked after auditing? Or is it that the auditors just rubber stamp whatever has been presented?

apparently the auditors saw things in the books that shocked everyone.. the CEO was at CBK yesterday to clear it out. anyways, good thing is that we should now have the results

#220 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 9:51:26 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:

.................. at 7.00am ..................

Good news there from Wairegi & Co...... and Dawood