wazua Wed, Feb 26, 2025

6 Pages«<23456>
Lupita Nyong'o wins in Oscars 2014
Buster
#61 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 8:02:20 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Very proud of this girl - we don't need Brand Kenya with pips like Lupita and our athletes.

BTW, am curious about the elephant in the room: she very rarely mentions her dad, at her nomination she mentioned her uncle. Iko nini hapa? Her mum?

No elephant here. In all the intervies I've watched she talks proudly of him.
#62 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 9:53:24 PM

Congrats Lupita, in hind sight, this is an impossible task that you have achieved.Applause Applause Applause

On a light note, i hope no Kenyans are expecting Lupita to show up at JKIA with jamaa called "Oscar"
#63 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 10:25:08 PM

By Eric Ng'eno
Lupita and Oscar.

Let me tell you what I like about Lupita Nyong'o. I have hung around many privileged kids. The sort of people Dagitari Kigogoine calls "Children of rich" who live in "Nairobi of up". A number are truly amazing, industrious guys among them. On te other hand, many spend their lives leveraging their parents' or families' social and political capital. They make the most out of their surnames. They go about the place asking anyone and everyone, " Do you know who I am? My mom/ dad is......." You know them, the spoilt brats with formidable entoutrages, hogging all the attention in an otherwise tranquil gathering, wity the result that all fingers, approving and otherwise, point at them.

I like that in the wake of her fame, Lupita had to inform people that she is the daughter of a Kenyan politician. And people would go, "You're kidding me, right!". She served tea and doughnuts on the set of the Constant Gardener, just to absorb the artistic vibe in there, as her father announced to the world that he blows 2500 bob on lunch. She did not alight from muscular Prados with bodyguards around her, with a note 'From Hon Nyong'o's Desk' requesting placement for the daughter, your kind assistance will be highly appreciated, amen. She worked her ass off with cheerful self deprecation, and gave all it takes to be really good at what she does. She learnt the art and craft required to set her inborn talent off.

Perhaps she had to. How would a professor of political science and economics, also a politician, be of help to a budding film star? Similarly, Prof is the son of an Anglican Canon. Eh he. Ni kujipanga. Those saying thatt Lupita is a typical product of middle class privilege are hobbled by a punishing load of myopic, envious negativity.

Now we must bow at her feet.
Nabwire
#64 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 10:58:16 PM

Congratulations Nyar Seme, gini wasekao koro Museum in Kisum city pap!
#65 Posted : Monday, March 03, 2014 11:39:11 PM

And what an eloquent acceptance speech

#66 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 8:25:51 AM

Buster wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:
Very proud of this girl - we don't need Brand Kenya with pips like Lupita and our athletes.

BTW, am curious about the elephant in the room: she very rarely mentions her dad, at her nomination she mentioned her uncle. Iko nini hapa? Her mum?

No elephant here. In all the intervies I've watched she talks proudly of him.

Looking for gossip, who makes her family? Who took her to Rusinga School in your imagination? Who let her do what she wanted to do at will?
#67 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 8:31:58 AM

And what an eloquent acceptance speech

Applause Applause That was so marvellous. Quality. Polished.
#68 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 8:42:19 AM

MKWASI wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:

I was taken aback when she did not acknowledge her dad's contribution or did she forget?

Not talking ?

Wacha porojo
Mzee was right there with mama and the bro

#69 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 8:44:11 AM

Now that the Oscar has been achieved, the story will die today.
Kenyans move on too fast.
Btw I think Lupita's brother's got some style! Well done Mr. for representing Kenya on the red carpet. The Prof. looked great too.

#70 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 8:45:09 AM

so... Rupita Thiongo alishinda?
#71 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 8:56:53 AM

The Bro Won the Best Brother Award at the Oscarssmile

Some Mijungus complaing that he gatecrushed some selfies watado

#72 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 9:05:32 AM

thanks @Siringi for ashaming the doomsayers for the family simply because they don't like Prof.
#73 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 9:12:30 AM

thanks @Siringi for ashaming the doomsayers for the family simply because they don't like Prof.

I was like damn these....hii elephant wanaiona wapi?????
theman192000
#74 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 9:24:58 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Congrats Lupita, in hind sight, this is an impossible task that you have achieved.Applause Applause Applause

On a light note, i hope no Kenyans are expecting Lupita to show up at JKIA with jamaa called "Oscar"

I heard a newscaster this morning ask when she's bringing the trophy home?d'oh!
theman192000
#75 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 10:18:28 AM

Congratulations to Lupita...after scooping almost all curtain raiser awards, the Oscar was almost assured. Now her commanding fee per movie has just shot up, big achievement for putting Kenya in the map in such a big stage. Now I'll be all the more excited to catch Non - Stop, I like Liam Neeson.

In other news, I have to watch Dallas Buyers Club coz I thought Leonardo Di Caprio was brilliant in Wolf of Wall Street and it did not win any of the major awards. I think the R rating put it out of contention. Frankly speaking I did not expect 12 Years a Slave to win Best Picture but sometimes Oscars are awarded to make political statements.

Well in Lupita, the ceiling just became the floor...now we await Best Actor in the near future...

The Oscars have been dominated by rich old white men who were very conservative and film was starting to feel the heat of television. In July last year the academy of motion picture arts and sciences elected its first black president and it was a woman which ticks all the politically correct boxes.

If you take a look at the winners in various categories you will note a running theme of political correctness:

Best Picture - 12 years a slave - slavery is a topic that white America does not like to talk about let alone acknowledge yet it has and continues to affect many.

Best Picture Director - Steve McQueen - first black director to win any Oscar

Best Actor - Matthew McConaughey - HIV

Best Supporting Actor - Jared Leto - Transgender

Best Supporting Actress - Lupita Nyongo - 1st African

Best Directing - Alfonso Cuarón - Mexican

I watched 12 years a slave and an hour into the movie Lupita has not made an appearance. The movie is carried by the performance of Chiwetel Ejiofor & Michael Fassbender. Julia Roberts in August: Osage County plays a bigger role than Lupita.

It is curious to note that both Steve McQueen and Lupita Nyongo cannot be described as your typical African Americans given that they are not direct descendants of American slaves. So just like Obama white American has awarded them as a way of cleansing their souls.
#76 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 10:24:15 AM

theman192000 wrote:
Congratulations to Lupita...after scooping almost all curtain raiser awards, the Oscar was almost assured. Now her commanding fee per movie has just shot up, big achievement for putting Kenya in the map in such a big stage. Now I'll be all the more excited to catch Non - Stop, I like Liam Neeson.

In other news, I have to watch Dallas Buyers Club coz I thought Leonardo Di Caprio was brilliant in Wolf of Wall Street and it did not win any of the major awards. I think the R rating put it out of contention. Frankly speaking I did not expect 12 Years a Slave to win Best Picture but sometimes Oscars are awarded to make political statements.

Well in Lupita, the ceiling just became the floor...now we await Best Actor in the near future...

The Oscars have been dominated by rich old white men who were very conservative and film was starting to feel the heat of television. In July last year the academy of motion picture arts and sciences elected its first black president and it was a woman which ticks all the politically correct boxes.

If you take a look at the winners in various categories you will note a running theme of political correctness:

Best Picture - 12 years a slave - slavery is a topic that white America does not like to talk about let alone acknowledge yet it has and continues to affect many.

I watched 12 years a slave and an hour into the movie Lupita has not made an appearance. The movie is carried by the performance of Chiwetel Ejiofor & Michael Fassbender. Julia Roberts in August: Osage County plays a bigger role than Lupita.

It is curious to note that both Steve McQueen and Lupita Nyongo cannot be described as your typical African Americans given that they are not direct descendants of American slaves. So just like Obama white American has awarded them as a way of cleansing their souls.

Hawa watu wa jumbiree!
#77 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 10:42:33 AM

theman192000 wrote:

Hawa watu wa jumbiree!

I actually watched it and wondered what the fuss was all about. I kept waiting for a great moment but it ended!! i asked myself quietly - is that all? did I watch the right version? but composed myself as i told myself that reality cannot be compared to the action in django!
but who knows why these people give movies oscars? movies like 'no country for old men' , 'hurt locker' e.t.c. are shockingly boring! movies should entertain! in that connection I am waiting for the next DC comic, Stan lee, Star wars and Star Trek releases because reality is just that - boring.
#78 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 10:49:09 AM

theman192000 wrote:

I watched the movie and made similar observations over a month ago. The movie is great but i believe that Lupita's role/acting has been exaggerated maybe for political correctness. This was my comment then: http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=25905&p=10

Watched the movie and it's quite a moving and distressing story on slavery in the 1840s (don't know if Prof Nyongo watched Lupita's nude and rape scenes). The main actor (Ejiofor, the 'slave') and supporting actor (Fassbender, the 'master') are superb. Lupita is also good though, i think judging by her role and performance, she has been overrated. Maybe Hollywood and the film critics were looking for something different this yr, a real 'Nubian' chick....like Lupita.
#79 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 10:59:44 AM

theman192000 wrote:

I watched the movie and made similar observations over a month ago. The movie is great but i believe that Lupita's role/acting has been exaggerated maybe for political correctness. This was my comment then: http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=25905&p=10

Watched the movie and it's quite a moving and distressing story on slavery in the 1840s (don't know if Prof Nyongo watched Lupita's nude and rape scenes). The main actor (Ejiofor, the 'slave') and supporting actor (Fassbender, the 'master') are superb. Lupita is also good though, i think judging by her role and performance, she has been overrated. Maybe Hollywood and the film critics were looking for something different this yr, a real 'Nubian' chick....like Lupita.

...@jaggernaut...it is the best SUPPORTING actress. Even if somebody appears for only 1 minute and does her stuff well she would get. Toa hizo magoggles. Kama ni teacher wanjiku (whose show has flopped big time!!!) Hungesema hivyo...
#80 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 11:08:13 AM

theman192000 wrote:

...@jaggernaut...it is the best SUPPORTING actress. Even if somebody appears for only 1 minute and does her stuff well she would get. Toa hizo magoggles. Kama ni teacher wanjiku (whose show has flopped big time!!!) Hungesema hivyo...

Nothing to do with goggles. What were your views after watching the movie? What would be your sincere view of her performance if she wasn't Kenyan/African?