wazua Tue, Jun 30, 2026

5 Pages«<345
SGR Mombasa-Nairobi to cost KES.4,500 per seat!!!!!!!!!!11
josimar
#41 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 5:59:49 PM

I would not want to sound pessimistic but the current commuter rail ( Syokimau , Makadara and Imara Daima) system offers valuable lessons .
#42 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 7:19:21 PM

thats a fair cost in 2017. There should be different classes. I am sure some will be willing to pay 12k on 1st class. You will also have lots of tourists opting to use the train than fly as they check the sites. What about the transportation of goods? I think that's where good money is to be made.
Alba
#43 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 9:17:08 PM

thats a fair cost in 2017. There should be different classes. I am sure some will be willing to pay 12k on 1st class. You will also have lots of tourists opting to use the train than fly as they check the sites. What about the transportation of goods? I think that's where good money is to be made.

- 2017 is only 3 years away. You mean to tell me the rate of inflation over 3 years will be such that the drastic increase in ticket prices will be acceptable ?

- Can businesses afford to ship goods over an expensive line ?

- And how many tourists per day are you counting on ? There will be several days when there are zero tourists wanting to travel.

Maswali tu
#44 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 9:48:23 PM

josimar wrote:
Personally , I would rather add Kshs 2,000 to Kshs 4,500 and book Fly 540 and travel for 45 mins than take the train.

The key question is how fast will this train be?
Remember you do not travel for 45 Mins to Msa considering 1Hr for checks at the gate especially if you carry bread, Report to the airport 1Hr before departure 45Min flying time and 1hr waiting for your check-in bags hence a total of 3Hrs 45Min

3 hrs 45 mins+30 minutes(Msa rd or jogoo rd traffic)+15 (Minutes from Moi airport to your place)=4hrs 30 mins

kwani where do you guys fly. si u just come 30 m8ns to time. mi siwesi kuja ati 2hrs b4 flightm waste of time.
#45 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 9:53:42 PM

the sgr was/is supposed to lower the cost of transporting goods and services. so if inflation will that high. the price should at todays cost. in order for the effects to be felt. and then again what the cost of hoing to mombasa 3 years ago? has the price really incresaed 4.5x???
#46 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 8:08:42 AM

kyt wrote:
the sgr was/is supposed to lower the cost of transporting goods and services. so if inflation will that high. the price should at todays cost. in order for the effects to be felt. and then again what the cost of hoing to mombasa 3 years ago? has the price really incresaed 4.5x???

For a fact the price has stagnated.

#47 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 8:28:00 AM

kyt wrote:
josimar wrote:
Personally , I would rather add Kshs 2,000 to Kshs 4,500 and book Fly 540 and travel for 45 mins than take the train.

The key question is how fast will this train be?
Remember you do not travel for 45 Mins to Msa considering 1Hr for checks at the gate especially if you carry bread, Report to the airport 1Hr before departure 45Min flying time and 1hr waiting for your check-in bags hence a total of 3Hrs 45Min

3 hrs 45 mins+30 minutes(Msa rd or jogoo rd traffic)+15 (Minutes from Moi airport to your place)=4hrs 30 mins

kwani where do you guys fly. si u just come 30 m8ns to time. mi siwesi kuja ati 2hrs b4 flightm waste of time.

If you are fling from/to Mandera,isiolo,lamu,wajir,garissa.lodwar,kitale,lamu etc you can check in 3 mins before but JKIA its better you check in earlier coz you never know
Tokyo
#48 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 9:17:47 AM

majimaji wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
otienosmall wrote:

I don’t see anything outrageous with that price. If you’ve been out of Kenyan borders says a place like Japan, you would notice that taking a Shikansen for a similar distance (NRB-MBS) will cost you an equivalent of about Ksh 7, 000 one way. Taking a flight will cost you a similar amount, and many people still prefer the train due to its reliability and numerous other positive attributes over other means. So got to pay slightly more for quality and convenience!

You dare compare Shinkansen with SGL. ?? Wacha matusi

@ Tokyo, what is the cost of Shinkansen Tokyo - osaka line per km?

Tokyo-Osaka is 512KM. Takes 2hrs35min by Shinkansen ¥14280[kshs 12,000]. Tokyo -Nagoya 360+Km by new Maglev 45min only.
work to prosper
#49 Posted : Sunday, March 02, 2014 7:58:36 PM

with kq coming with a 2850 shillings flights. Where does l
tjis leave SGR now?
#50 Posted : Sunday, March 02, 2014 8:19:27 PM

kyt wrote:
with kq coming with a 2850 shillings flights. Where does l
tjis leave SGR now?

Cargo.