wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

46 Pages«<2122232425>»
Do Wazuans Exercise?
#441 Posted : Tuesday, February 25, 2014 4:06:43 PM

@Washiku, on payment wanasema coming soon, do you have the exact figures for the following:

Individual MembershipOur Individual membership is a great way for you to meet your fitness goals. In addition to all the equipment, swimming, squash courts, steam & sauna, you will get access to all our group class; group fitness are a fun way to stay fit.

We have individual membership in different categories.

•Annual
•6-months
•3-months
•1-month
•Travellers
•12 visits
•6 visits

•Annual= 108k with towel, 83 without towel
•6-months=65 with towel, 54 without towel
•3-months= 35 with towel, 29 without towel
•1-month= Monthly peak 12,000 with towel, 10 without towel
•Travellers= 23K for 25 visits.
•12 visits=11k
•6 visits=5,500
#442 Posted : Tuesday, February 25, 2014 4:26:50 PM

@Washiku, on payment wanasema coming soon, do you have the exact figures for the following:

Individual MembershipOur Individual membership is a great way for you to meet your fitness goals. In addition to all the equipment, swimming, squash courts, steam & sauna, you will get access to all our group class; group fitness are a fun way to stay fit.

•Annual
•6-months
•3-months
•1-month
•Travellers
•12 visits
•6 visits

•12 visits=11k
•6 visits=5,500

@Washiku, thus where you work(employed)?
#443 Posted : Tuesday, February 25, 2014 4:59:41 PM

•Annual
•6-months
•3-months
•1-month
•Travellers
•12 visits
•6 visits

•12 visits=11k
•6 visits=5,500

Thanks man, wewe ni member kweli, I will also check other options.....this looks great though.
#444 Posted : Tuesday, February 25, 2014 5:03:34 PM

•Annual
•6-months
•3-months
•1-month
•Travellers
•12 visits
•6 visits

•12 visits=11k
•6 visits=5,500

@Washiku, thus where you work(employed)?

Nope. I dont work there, but I have the info. Fortunately we have a gym where I work so I no longer go to Sarit.

#445 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 8:16:31 AM

jokes wrote:
Maybe contributors to this forum should make suggestions on the best places to exercise.

Nyeri Green Hills.

One of my favorite places to exercise. The gym instructors are good. They give good practical advice, are mature and respectful. The clientele is mature and you will feel comfortable .Last time i was there they had added new guy who introduced some dance to the aerobics. some calypso, zumba, qwaito lingala (wacha tu!) ilishika mpaka guys trooped in numbers.it became popular. guys were paying full month, half year etc. the place started making serious money after this dude came in. it goes to show if you recognize talent, pay it, it will result in a windfall of money.

Karura Forest

This place i got to know accidentally. i was passing by to buy some flowers for my garden when i noticed a sign board advertising what was on offer. i decide to inquire and found out they were offering nature walks, bike trails, picnics the works. i got interested and next time came with the kids. it was fun.
Now most "big" guys hate being seen running cause people tend to laugh at them. this is the place for them. some privacy is guaranteed as you grunt along. nobody will laugh at your antics.
running in this terrain will introduce you to another aspect you will never experience on the trend-mill or the well tarmacked or paved roads of Nairobi.
first of all be prepared for your lungs to burn! They will be on fire as you breath in and out. It will feel as if a giant has a sand paper in his hand busy rubbing the skin off your lungs.
secondly your lungs capacity to absorb air will be severely tested. your lungs will gasp for air. You will run out of air more quickly than you can breath in. This results in less oxygen in your body resulting to fatigue kicking in earlier and you cant run no more. you will learn to breath properly as time goes on. This is something you have to learn on your own.
The forest air is quite different than the one in the gym or along the road. It feels as if it has acid in it, painful to breath, heavier and will leaving you gasping the first few times, you get fatigued easily until you get used to it.
The terrain is rough and bumpy. small barely noticeable hills and valleys that really tax your legs, lungs and shoulders.
I noticed in this terrain your arms will ache, shoulder joints will ache for days, ankles will ache, knee joints will ache, back will ache, as muscles tear and form again, then as they heal the itch starts and you start scratching. this is expected , bear with it, it will go away.
lakini baiskeli ndiyo mambo ingine bad. your shoulder joints, masquembe and fore-arms will really scream for mercy and you will puff like a dog especially up a hill. but when racing its fun

Mombasa the beach.

Niseme nini?? hiyo maji! waves! wacha tu!! chumvi ni dawa.

1.Hiking-Mt Longonot, Ngong Hills and Mt Kenya
2.Running in your estate early morning or late evening
3.Gym

1. Arboretum - For jogging, yoga
2. UON sports grounds - Football, cycling, jogging, basketball etc

jokes
#446 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 10:46:22 AM

jokes wrote:
Maybe contributors to this forum should make suggestions on the best places to exercise.

Nyeri Green Hills.

One of my favorite places to exercise. The gym instructors are good. They give good practical advice, are mature and respectful. The clientele is mature and you will feel comfortable .Last time i was there they had added new guy who introduced some dance to the aerobics. some calypso, zumba, qwaito lingala (wacha tu!) ilishika mpaka guys trooped in numbers.it became popular. guys were paying full month, half year etc. the place started making serious money after this dude came in. it goes to show if you recognize talent, pay it, it will result in a windfall of money.

Karura Forest

This place i got to know accidentally. i was passing by to buy some flowers for my garden when i noticed a sign board advertising what was on offer. i decide to inquire and found out they were offering nature walks, bike trails, picnics the works. i got interested and next time came with the kids. it was fun.
Now most "big" guys hate being seen running cause people tend to laugh at them. this is the place for them. some privacy is guaranteed as you grunt along. nobody will laugh at your antics.
running in this terrain will introduce you to another aspect you will never experience on the trend-mill or the well tarmacked or paved roads of Nairobi.
first of all be prepared for your lungs to burn! They will be on fire as you breath in and out. It will feel as if a giant has a sand paper in his hand busy rubbing the skin off your lungs.
secondly your lungs capacity to absorb air will be severely tested. your lungs will gasp for air. You will run out of air more quickly than you can breath in. This results in less oxygen in your body resulting to fatigue kicking in earlier and you cant run no more. you will learn to breath properly as time goes on. This is something you have to learn on your own.
The forest air is quite different than the one in the gym or along the road. It feels as if it has acid in it, painful to breath, heavier and will leaving you gasping the first few times, you get fatigued easily until you get used to it.
The terrain is rough and bumpy. small barely noticeable hills and valleys that really tax your legs, lungs and shoulders.
I noticed in this terrain your arms will ache, shoulder joints will ache for days, ankles will ache, knee joints will ache, back will ache, as muscles tear and form again, then as they heal the itch starts and you start scratching. this is expected , bear with it, it will go away.
lakini baiskeli ndiyo mambo ingine bad. your shoulder joints, masquembe and fore-arms will really scream for mercy and you will puff like a dog especially up a hill. but when racing its fun

Mombasa the beach.

Niseme nini?? hiyo maji! waves! wacha tu!! chumvi ni dawa.

1.Hiking-Mt Longonot, Ngong Hills and Mt Kenya
2.Running in your estate early morning or late evening
3.Gym

1. Arboretum - For jogging, yoga

2. UON sports grounds - Football, cycling, jogging, basketball etc

This is interesting. will try that out.
#447 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 10:48:10 AM

Anybody has an experience with YMCA????
jokes
#448 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 11:00:16 AM

seppuku wrote:
My Target for this year:Have visible six pack by June 2014

Some fitness trainers here think it may not always be such a healthy goal after all. You be the judge.

Do you know losing a tummy and having a six pack is the most difficult thing to achieve.I work out all my body muscles but this year am paying more attention to my tummy.

Is it possible to lose fat on a specific body part...like the tummy only and leave the other body parts 'intact'. Is that really possible?

Nope, that is the mistake many make by concentrating on the roller and sit ups to finish the tummy, that only trains the stomach muscles, otherwise the fat in the stomach must be consumed by other means!!!!

Kumaliza hiyo tummy sio kazi rahisi...for starters you must ensure your late night calory intake is just enough for breathing purposes, nothing to be stored.
Start by eating Fruits only for supper...I did that last year and developed 4 packs though still not well exposed.
This by June 12 I should have exposed the other 2 lower packs remaining.
Chida kubwa ni discipline, like seeing wet fry with waru inside it and still decide to sleep on a piece of watermelon...ni ngumu jamaneni!

Just read your earlier post impunitysmile kumaliza pot belly ndiyo nguma kabisa. its the last to go. Lakini wet fry na viazi ndani jo! siwezi wachaLaughing out loudly
#449 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 11:07:34 AM

jokes wrote:
seppuku wrote:

Some fitness trainers here think it may not always be such a healthy goal after all. You be the judge.

Do you know losing a tummy and having a six pack is the most difficult thing to achieve.I work out all my body muscles but this year am paying more attention to my tummy.

Is it possible to lose fat on a specific body part...like the tummy only and leave the other body parts 'intact'. Is that really possible?

Nope, that is the mistake many make by concentrating on the roller and sit ups to finish the tummy, that only trains the stomach muscles, otherwise the fat in the stomach must be consumed by other means!!!!

Kumaliza hiyo tummy sio kazi rahisi...for starters you must ensure your late night calory intake is just enough for breathing purposes, nothing to be stored.
Start by eating Fruits only for supper...I did that last year and developed 4 packs though still not well exposed.
Chida kubwa ni discipline, like seeing wet fry with waru inside it and still decide to sleep on a piece of watermelon...ni ngumu jamaneni!

Just read your earlier post impunitysmile kumaliza pot belly ndiyo nguma kabisa. its the last to go. Lakini wet fry na viazi ndani jo! siwezi wachaLaughing out loudly

Am well on track to have visible six packs
#450 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 10:30:03 PM

Nice pool when clean. Has a small gym with aerobics 3-4k a month.

#451 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 3:04:09 AM

jokes wrote:
seppuku wrote:

yeah, the body chooses where to burn fat from! as someone said hapa tumbo is the real sehemu nyeti! diet and increased metabolism should work wonders (eventually). yangu imepotea but bado cubes hazijatokea (kuna kaStronghold mahali)
#452 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 8:57:01 AM

jokes wrote:
seppuku wrote:

yeah, the body chooses where to burn fat from! as someone said hapa tumbo is the real sehemu nyeti! diet and increased metabolism should work wonders (eventually). yangu imepotea but bado cubes hazijatokea (kuna kaStronghold mahali)

If you can feel the cubes under the skin then you are almost there.

Do more core exercise,planks and reverse crunches
#453 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 9:02:04 AM

I understand the current Aerobics room used to be the squash court...NKT, I wish they had a squash court to complement the gym.....seems I got to start swimming!!!
#454 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 9:56:05 AM

This is the YMCA near UON? 3-4K kwani ni mawe ama really gym instruments.

@MC can you visit the place and give feedback, preferably with photos

#likeaboss
#455 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 10:09:37 AM

This is the YMCA near UON.3-4K kwani ni mawe ama really gym instruments.

#likeaboss

YMCA near 'THE'. I have just called them and gotten this feedback.

One Activity (Gym or Aerobics)Member - 3K
Non Member - 3.5K

Two activities (Combine Aerobics & Gym)Member - 3.5K
Non member - 4.5K

Swimming
Member 150/- per session
Non Member 200/- per person.

Membership is 1K per year, looks a deal to me. The photos on their website aint bad!!!!t
#456 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 10:15:11 AM

#likeaboss

Non Member - 3.5K

Non member - 4.5K

Swimming
Member 150/- per session

Membership is 1K per year, looks a deal to me. The photos on their website aint bad!!!!t

It is a deal, Whats their peak and off peak times during the day for the gym and swimming pool, considering they have hostels and its near UON hostels too?
#457 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 10:28:42 AM

#likeaboss

Non Member - 3.5K

Non member - 4.5K

Swimming
Member 150/- per session

It is a deal, Whats their peak and off peak times during the day for the gym and swimming pool, considering they have hostels and its near UON hostels too?

I'm not sure the peak time but weekdays they open 6am - 9pm and sato 7am - 8pm......flexible I can say!!
#458 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 10:38:28 AM

jokes wrote:
seppuku wrote:

i had the most awesome six pack when I was younger added a layer of flab on top. kazi nikutoa flab! everyone has cubes but the question is - are you ripped enough to see them?
#459 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 2:43:39 PM

jokes wrote:
seppuku wrote:

i had the most awesome six pack when I was younger added a layer of flab on top. kazi nikutoa flab! everyone has cubes but the question is - are you ripped enough to see them?

I can see mine whenever i lift my hands up or sleep facing up.My target is to have them visible by June 2014 either standing or seated

deadpoet
#460 Posted : Thursday, February 27, 2014 3:47:54 PM