wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

38 Pages«<3031323334>»
Alfie the dodo
#621 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 7:36:22 PM

My two Zimbabwe cents.

I have read amazing and quite brilliant ideas here on best practices for running counties. My advise is that we share these brilliant ideas with our respective governors, the other 46 of them.

For Machakos, am afraid they are beyond the ideas stage, they are at the implementation stage.
Iganamagana
#622 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 7:48:55 PM

jguru wrote:
Treatment doesnt have to be in hospitals, those ambulances can be used as mobile clinics once in a while. But dakitari jguru, what is wrong with a location having an ambulance? I dont understand this negative reception maybe because in places where @kiash lives even the local fire-station has its own ambulance leave alone the hospitals. The reasoning being that no one should ever die because he could not reach to any health facility. So saidia mimi to understand why its un-viable to have 1 ambulance in a locale.

We are a country of limited resources. Akina @Kimuhu can afford to have world class health care even in a local ward.

Those ambulances have a stretcher and a couple of seats at the back. No monitors, no medical equipment, no emergency drugs. This reduces them to just normal matatus. A proper ambulance is like a mobile ICU (AAR, Red Cross etc). You can do emergency surgery in them.

My problem is that decisions are being made for political expediency and as an avenue to eat. We are just sewing patches onto a dress instead of proper planning, involving stakeholders in healthcare (who have a firm understanding of evidence based practice) and coming up with a proper healthcare reform plan (coming up with a new dress).

Let's appreciate the small and simple steps my friend. Many an accident victim have become permanently disabled after being ferried in saloon cars to hospitals. A simple stretcher and an attendant with first aid skill goes a long way. I have relatives and friends who are six feet down or disabled for lack of these basic facilities. Please appreciate the power of a siren on Uhuru highway or Limuru road. I have seen it all.
The Clown
#623 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 7:53:11 PM

Generally doctors hate it when a non-medic becomes the centre of attention in medical matters. People are just miffed that someone has thought out of the box to address access to healthcare.

I support what Machakos county is doing. Of course we must remember Mutua is a politician schooled in PR so he will milk as much goodwill as he can from this one.

People saying that Machakos hospital is run down know this is only a half-truth. Having poor and inadequate facilities gives many an excuse to skive work and do side jobs. Do you know that people fight tooth and nail to be posted to Machakos owing to its proximity to Nairobi where they can more easily moonlight?

If the senior doctors spent five days a week in Machakos and did their work seriously, very few patients would be sent to KNH.
#624 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 7:57:21 PM

Alfie ni shujaa. Let's criticize him even more, I'm sure these comments will somehow reach him, and he shall become better n better. Meanwhile, kavogho's subjects won't know what hit them damn! Some characters need to be lynched!
Iganamagana
#625 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 8:01:37 PM

Alfie ni shujaa. Let's criticize him even more, I'm sure these comments will somehow reach him, and he shall become better n better. Meanwhile, kavogho's subjects won't know what hit them damn! Some characters need to be lynched!

Do you have to mention him at this hour and make us loose appetite? It's dinner time meen.
#626 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 8:21:40 PM

Sansa
#627 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 12:46:30 AM

I watched that interview on Citizen and thought his answers were good. Now all he has to do is provide the auditor with those missing documents so people can move on. I saw a picture of the interior of one of those ambulances and I have to say it was quite bare. I really hope there was lifesaving equipment behind the photographer since all I saw was the stretcher, a comminucation device, a kabati with a few things in it and one electrical looking gadget on it. If we need to spend money for the right equipment lets do so otherwise this is just a van with a bed in it.
jmbada
#628 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 7:49:00 AM

Hate it when people criticize the fact that the ambulances are just a basic van. Most ambulances primarily need equipment and staff to do the following:
1. Stabilize patients (gauzes, stretcher, etc). In addition, they have mini-stimulants such as adrenaline (eg, to stabilize allergic reactions) and perhaps oxygen cannisters.
2. They have paramedics trained in stabilizing patients...NOT treating them.
3. They have sirens and trained drivers to get the patient to a medical doctor.

In all this criticism, I have barely seen ANYONE who has celebrated the fact that there are indeed AMBULANCES now available!

(in fact, so many ambulances, that the surplus at any given time can be made available to neighbouring counties on a "per call" lease rate + plus an annual subscription fee to remain on standby. Ultimately providing a positive economic return AND saving lives)

These reactions are the typical Kenyan "tear your neighbour down" mentality.

It's almost as though Kenyans have been "abused" by various levels of leadership for so long that when they see even a glimmer of good leadership, they reflexively believe that it is too good to be true and start to look for ways to tear it down in order to prove their "gut feeling" based on previous decades of poor service.
#629 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 8:40:56 AM

Kudo's to Mutua for a thread running into over 600 posts. Other gavanas featuring on wazua are Wambora, Kabogo, and kidero for his slapfest. People are questioning your approach to development, not slaps, insults to women or ...
#630 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 8:49:10 AM

At least for Mutua, there is something to discuss, criticize, appreciate, dis-agree with etc. We must all appreciate him for giving us something tangible to work with, from all aspects of logical arguments in here. Thus, from that front, we all agree Mutua is leading the way.
#631 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 9:03:57 AM

Robinhood wrote:
Kudo's to Mutua for a thread running into over 600 posts. Other gavanas featuring on wazua are Wambora, Kabogo, and kidero for his slapfest. People are questioning your approach to development, not slaps, insults to women or ...

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Pedes
#632 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 9:14:39 AM

As a Governor, when you are starting with a poorly developed county, it is easier to be lauded for development than for a Governor who is in a cosmopolitan county with well informed stakeholders.
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#633 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 2:18:24 PM

Interesting piece by Charles Onyango-Obbo
#634 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 9:28:10 PM

ako ntv sasa.why hasnt mutua just published the logbooks of the alleged vehicles the same way he published this homebreaker
#635 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 10:24:27 PM

'Do you agree the buck stops with you?' Larry Madowo
'The buck stops with the person who's responsible.'. Dr. Alfred Mutua
#636 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 7:21:47 AM

kibwana is starting construction of medical training centre next month.compared to mutuas ambulance white elephant,whos smarter now?
#637 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 7:42:51 AM

kibwana is starting construction of medical training centre next month.compared to mutuas ambulance white elephant,whos smarter now?

I simply cannot believe this crap. How different is this from the MTCs that dot the entire county. Why not simply sponsor people to the MTCs?
#638 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 7:47:49 AM

Robinhood wrote:

I simply cannot believe this crap. How different is this from the MTCs that dot the entire county. Why not simply sponsor people to the MTCs?

to some as long as it's not ambulances bring bought, it's the right move - you won't hear them complain of the building of mtcs before dispensaries. in fact I wonder why counties even use their funds in any other medical undertaking before building and equipping health centers.
#639 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 8:46:37 AM

muganda wrote:
'Do you agree the buck stops with you?' Larry Madowo
'The buck stops with the person who's responsible.'. Dr. Alfred Mutua

hehehe...spin
Ngogoyo
#640 Posted : Friday, February 21, 2014 12:05:24 PM

Iganamagana wrote:

Do you have to mention him at this hour and make us loose appetite? It's dinner time meen.

This lazy gavanaa cant even sort out potholes on a major road as outside Tuskys. Alifungua ile barabara alikuwa amefunga in Thika town?