wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

I need a job with the UN
mackenzie22
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 9:05:37 AM

Anyone here who can help me get a job with the UN? I am a Law graduate and I am ready to start from the bottom.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 9:11:28 AM

One of the very fine things about law is precedent...

precedent
mackenzie22
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 9:33:54 AM

Thanks a lot butterflyke. That precedent has really opened my eyes. My opinion on UN jobs has definitely changed.
webish
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 9:14:01 PM

mackenzie22 wrote:
Thanks a lot butterflyke. That precedent has really opened my eyes. My opinion on UN jobs has definitely changed.

smile smile . Good for you. But don't loose hope quickly.

All the Best in your search.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 8:39:35 AM

mackenzie22 wrote:

If you want to grow professional don't bother joining UN but if you are after the money, don't give up
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 8:44:45 AM

mackenzie22 wrote:
Anyone here who can help me get a job with the UN? I am a Law graduate and I am ready to start from the bottom.

Also look into working for Government. Shockingly, they pay better than the private sector. You even get a dog walking allowance!!! Wtf???

MKWASI
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 9:09:09 AM

mackenzie22 wrote:

If you want to grow professional don't bother joining UN but if you are after the money, don't give up

Good advise.

As you consider joining UN, consider also opportunities in being your own employer- setting a law firm, it might be difficult..returns are far much greater in the long run than any UN job.

Wish you well.

#8 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 9:35:49 AM

mackenzie22 wrote:

@mackenzie, no one ever really needs a job with the UN....people want to work for the UN, mostly because of societal perceptions. the organisation is more idealistic than it is realistic

if you've just completed kusoma, i would say that there are other career oriented opportunities for you out there. keep searching
arkard
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 11:42:27 AM

Haiya kumbe. But it still remains one of the best places to start. I just completed my degree in Telecommunications Engineering and have already made 2 unsuccessful applications there.
Above all, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.
faa
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 11:50:58 AM

are there other companies,NGO's that pay better than the UN?

Which ones are they?
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 12:03:50 PM

faa wrote:

Which ones are they?

Yes. Most NGOs set their own salos. I hear AMREF, Oxfam, Red Cross, Care, World Bank (and I believe PSI if it's an NGO) also pay good money and in $s.

webish
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 12:26:31 PM

faa wrote:

Which ones are they?

Yes. Most NGOs set their own salos. I hear AMREF, Oxfam, Red Cross, Care, World Bank (and I believe PSI if it's an NGO) also pay good money and in $s.

Not sure if it even makes a difference being paid in USD or in Shillings..

Unless there's like a minumum USD pay that "USD paying" employers give. Otherwise, someone who earns USD 1000 is same as someone who earns 90,000 KES..

Most of these International companies (NGO or Private) are getting brighter everyday and have started giving "kenyan" salaries.
They know, full well, our cost of living is less than most parts of the world. They even know how to get interns to work for them Free of charge for 'God knows how long... smile

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 1:00:17 PM

arkard wrote:
Haiya kumbe. But it still remains one of the best places to start. I just completed my degree in Telecommunications Engineering and have already made 2 unsuccessful applications there.

Its a better place to move to when you have some good years in terms of experience, better still go in as a consultant at least you negotiate the pay - at the starting level utawekwa sijui g7, assistant something whose qualification is just secondary education and trust me moving grades for the junior guys is very hard.
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 2:12:49 PM

arkard wrote:

Its a better place to move to when you have some good years in terms of experience, better still go in as a consultant at least you negotiate the pay - at the starting level utawekwa sijui g7, assistant something whose qualification is just secondary education and trust me moving grades for the junior guys is very hard.

It is not, You will leave that place with zilch additional knowledge.I know some development consulting firms and NGO's that will not hire you if you have worked with any UN entity.

omhangla
#15 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 4:17:51 PM

Bridge International Academies. If you are a mzungu, your min net salo 1m. others average good pay. but HR is non existent. kienyeji policies. however, good thing you will most likely get a permanent contract after 1 year.
faa
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 4:29:43 PM

omhangla wrote:
Bridge International Academies. If you are a mzungu, your min net salo 1m. others average good pay. but HR is non existent. kienyeji policies. however, good thing you will most likely get a permanent contract after 1 year.

had a colleague who worked there,got retrenched after 1 year....tread carefully with bridge.
omhangla
#17 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 4:48:10 PM

was there when they retrenched. like I said poor hr.haphazard hiring, bloated workforce and duplication of roles led to the one time retrenchment. left the place though
#18 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 4:49:33 PM

omhangla wrote:

kumbe this thing of racism in pay is in many places. I know an NGO that pays all mzungus consultancy fees of 80k.
#19 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 4:50:37 PM

arkard wrote:

It is not, You will leave that place with zilch additional knowledge.I know some development consulting firms and NGO's that will not hire you if you have worked with any UN entity.

It depends with what you are doing - I am sure our foreign affairs secretary gained some decent knowledge from the UN
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 20, 2014 4:54:58 PM

omhangla wrote:

kumbe this thing of racism in pay is in many places. I know an NGO that pays all mzungus consultancy fees of 80k.

Depending with the NGO, most if not all wazungus are considered to be international staff/consultants, and thus they are paid using different standards as opposed to local hires/consultants.
even foreign blacks are usually considered internationals and are paid using different standards - I do not think its an issue to do with racism, that is in most cases.