Alfie the dodo
Rank: Member Joined: 4/6/2010 Posts: 741 Location: Nairobi
Many developed countries have top notch hospitals, dispensaries and what nots. But they also have tonnes of ambulances.
chepkel wrote:Many developed countries have top notch hospitals, dispensaries and what nots. But they also have tonnes of ambulances. Egypt is not developed, no! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
jguru wrote:Robinhood wrote:Swenani wrote:jguru wrote:This obsession with ambulances in unbelievable! Since when did having ambulances equate to better health care delivery? What's the point of rushing 5 emergencies to Machakos Level 5 Hospital and having only 2 functional theaters? Those referrals will still die. Why did you shuttle them from Mwala to come die in Machakos? There shall be no improvements in mortality or morbidity.
These ambulances are just an avenue to eat. Period.
And politicians being the attention seekers that they are, having 80 flashy vehicles, going wiu-wiu-wiu all over the county is a sure way of getting votes. Access to health equates to better health care delivery i think;and thats what mutua is trying to do.can you imagine if kiambu county had an ambulance for each ward,mr thuo could still be alive:so think of the many lives that will be saved on msa rd accidents;pregnant mothers and kifs What I see from Jguru is either goggle mentality or ignorance of healthcare dynamics. He worries about ambulances which could save lives, he would rather Machakos level 5 hospital was turned into a copy of Nairobi hospital before infrastructure to access it is put in place. In the meantime, people can die in the villages of prevetable diseases until quality healthcare is available. What crap! Improving access and quality will be a long process. I am glad Mutua has taken concrete first steps in this direction. The next step is on quality, and I am sure Mutua has a plan for this too. Rome was not built in one day and neither will Machakos Dude, kwani it's personal now? Ambulances have existed in our public hospitals for a very long time. And despite the occasional referral from a level 4 to 5 or a level 5 to KNH, they are most often used to pick and drop doctors and nurses from their homes, carry gas cylinders from BOC, take the admins to the bank and for the occasional haulage of hospital consumables. Fact is, 10% of the overall usage is for non-patient purposes. The top 5 causes of mortality in Kenya are: HIV/AIDS, lower respiratory tract infections, diarrhoeal disease, TB, Malaria. Improve capacity to deal with these 5 and you'll definitely improve health care significantly. Trust me, unless you are referring the patients to a large private hospital, KNH will not accept to take a patient that should be manageable in Machakos. Why would KNH admit a road traffic accident patient with broken limbs while Machakos has 3 qualified surgeons on the GoK payroll who can do the operation? Or admit a mother with a complicated pregnancy while there are qualified ObGyns? So to where are we referring these patients? For CT Scans, MRIs and labs in Nairobi? so what would be wrong in having ambulances that can take machakos residents to see those qualified surgeons in machakos...i mean they are already there. or you want ten more to be hired before ambulances are bought? and given that it seems machakos county is already working on improving infrastructure and health facilities did you want mutua to wait and buy the ambulances only after the first two have been completed?
@Mkenyan, listen to j guru. He understands health in Kenya more than you. Your post above can be described as misleading at best and meaningless at worst.
captain kirk wrote:@Mkenyan, listen to j guru. He understands health in Kenya more than you. Your post above can be described as misleading at best and meaningless at worst. now that you are done licking jguru's boots, could you answer my questions?
mkenyan wrote:jguru wrote:Robinhood wrote:Swenani wrote:jguru wrote:This obsession with ambulances in unbelievable! Since when did having ambulances equate to better health care delivery? What's the point of rushing 5 emergencies to Machakos Level 5 Hospital and having only 2 functional theaters? Those referrals will still die. Why did you shuttle them from Mwala to come die in Machakos? There shall be no improvements in mortality or morbidity.
And politicians being the attention seekers that they are, having 80 flashy vehicles, going wiu-wiu-wiu all over the county is a sure way of getting votes. Access to health equates to better health care delivery i think;and thats what mutua is trying to do.can you imagine if kiambu county had an ambulance for each ward,mr thuo could still be alive:so think of the many lives that will be saved on msa rd accidents;pregnant mothers and kifs What I see from Jguru is either goggle mentality or ignorance of healthcare dynamics. He worries about ambulances which could save lives, he would rather Machakos level 5 hospital was turned into a copy of Nairobi hospital before infrastructure to access it is put in place. In the meantime, people can die in the villages of prevetable diseases until quality healthcare is available. What crap! Improving access and quality will be a long process. I am glad Mutua has taken concrete first steps in this direction. The next step is on quality, and I am sure Mutua has a plan for this too. Rome was not built in one day and neither will Machakos Dude, kwani it's personal now? Ambulances have existed in our public hospitals for a very long time. And despite the occasional referral from a level 4 to 5 or a level 5 to KNH, they are most often used to pick and drop doctors and nurses from their homes, carry gas cylinders from BOC, take the admins to the bank and for the occasional haulage of hospital consumables. Fact is, 10% of the overall usage is for non-patient purposes. The top 5 causes of mortality in Kenya are: HIV/AIDS, lower respiratory tract infections, diarrhoeal disease, TB, Malaria. Improve capacity to deal with these 5 and you'll definitely improve health care significantly. Trust me, unless you are referring the patients to a large private hospital, KNH will not accept to take a patient that should be manageable in Machakos. Why would KNH admit a road traffic accident patient with broken limbs while Machakos has 3 qualified surgeons on the GoK payroll who can do the operation? Or admit a mother with a complicated pregnancy while there are qualified ObGyns? So to where are we referring these patients? For CT Scans, MRIs and labs in Nairobi? so what would be wrong in having ambulances that can take machakos residents to see those qualified surgeons in machakos...i mean they are already there. or you want ten more to be hired before ambulances are bought? and given that it seems machakos county is already working on improving infrastructure and health facilities did you want mutua to wait and buy the ambulances only after the first two have been completed? I will bet on one thing...that most of these ambulances will end up being used more or less like matatus, just ferrying people to Machakos hospital to get treatment for common colds, backaches, stomach pains, insect stings etc and not emergency cases as should be the case... ...besides, the presence of a safe alone does not signify that there is money inside...
Treatment doesnt have to be in hospitals, those ambulances can be used as mobile clinics once in a while. But dakitari jguru, what is wrong with a location having an ambulance? I dont understand this negative reception maybe because in places where @kiash lives even the local fire-station has its own ambulance leave alone the hospitals. The reasoning being that no one should ever die because he could not reach to any health facility. So saidia mimi to understand why its un-viable to have 1 ambulance in a locale. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
mkenyan wrote:jguru wrote:Robinhood wrote:Swenani wrote:jguru wrote:This obsession with ambulances in unbelievable! Since when did having ambulances equate to better health care delivery? What's the point of rushing 5 emergencies to Machakos Level 5 Hospital and having only 2 functional theaters? Those referrals will still die. Why did you shuttle them from Mwala to come die in Machakos? There shall be no improvements in mortality or morbidity.
And politicians being the attention seekers that they are, having 80 flashy vehicles, going wiu-wiu-wiu all over the county is a sure way of getting votes. Access to health equates to better health care delivery i think;and thats what mutua is trying to do.can you imagine if kiambu county had an ambulance for each ward,mr thuo could still be alive:so think of the many lives that will be saved on msa rd accidents;pregnant mothers and kifs What I see from Jguru is either goggle mentality or ignorance of healthcare dynamics. He worries about ambulances which could save lives, he would rather Machakos level 5 hospital was turned into a copy of Nairobi hospital before infrastructure to access it is put in place. In the meantime, people can die in the villages of prevetable diseases until quality healthcare is available. What crap! Improving access and quality will be a long process. I am glad Mutua has taken concrete first steps in this direction. The next step is on quality, and I am sure Mutua has a plan for this too. Rome was not built in one day and neither will Machakos Dude, kwani it's personal now? Ambulances have existed in our public hospitals for a very long time. And despite the occasional referral from a level 4 to 5 or a level 5 to KNH, they are most often used to pick and drop doctors and nurses from their homes, carry gas cylinders from BOC, take the admins to the bank and for the occasional haulage of hospital consumables. Fact is, 10% of the overall usage is for non-patient purposes. The top 5 causes of mortality in Kenya are: HIV/AIDS, lower respiratory tract infections, diarrhoeal disease, TB, Malaria. Improve capacity to deal with these 5 and you'll definitely improve health care significantly. Trust me, unless you are referring the patients to a large private hospital, KNH will not accept to take a patient that should be manageable in Machakos. Why would KNH admit a road traffic accident patient with broken limbs while Machakos has 3 qualified surgeons on the GoK payroll who can do the operation? Or admit a mother with a complicated pregnancy while there are qualified ObGyns? So to where are we referring these patients? For CT Scans, MRIs and labs in Nairobi? so what would be wrong in having ambulances that can take machakos residents to see those qualified surgeons in machakos...i mean they are already there. or you want ten more to be hired before ambulances are bought? and given that it seems machakos county is already working on improving infrastructure and health facilities did you want mutua to wait and buy the ambulances only after the first two have been completed? Because the hospital has no blood, no gloves, no sutures, no blades, no pain meds, no antibiotics, no sterile gauze, no intra-op monitors, no anaesthetist, water ran out last week and all the theater nurses are on maternity leave. Fix the health institutions first before buying 80 vehicular contraptions. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
SMH. Roads being improved Health facilities being improved Ambulances on ground Hii kelele yote ni ya nani? What has your ngavana done? Mine has dug trenches across streets in the middle of town. Semeni ng'ombe TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
murchr wrote:Treatment doesnt have to be in hospitals, those ambulances can be used as mobile clinics once in a while. But dakitari jguru, what is wrong with a location having an ambulance? I dont understand this negative reception maybe because in places where @kiash lives even the local fire-station has its own ambulance leave alone the hospitals. The reasoning being that no one should ever die because he could not reach to any health facility. So saidia mimi to understand why its un-viable to have 1 ambulance in a locale.
We are a country of limited resources. Akina @Kimuhu can afford to have world class health care even in a local ward. Those ambulances have a stretcher and a couple of seats at the back. No monitors, no medical equipment, no emergency drugs. This reduces them to just normal matatus. A proper ambulance is like a mobile ICU (AAR, Red Cross etc). You can do emergency surgery in them. My problem is that decisions are being made for political expediency and as an avenue to eat. We are just sewing patches onto a dress instead of proper planning, involving stakeholders in healthcare (who have a firm understanding of evidence based practice) and coming up with a proper healthcare reform plan (coming up with a new dress). Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
[quote=simonkabz]SMH. Roads being improved Health facilities being improved Ambulances on ground
Hii kelele yote ni ya nani?
What has your ngavana done? Mine has dug trenches across streets in the middle of town. Semeni ng'ombe[/quote He registered Subarus in the County executive committe's names,Spent 3m for Mutula's funeral yet Mutula is from Makueni,He hired a PA system for 5 hours for 1m,no tenders are invited for his projects etc.He is a thief who should go the Wambora way and be jailed.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
jguru wrote:murchr wrote:Treatment doesnt have to be in hospitals, those ambulances can be used as mobile clinics once in a while. But dakitari jguru, what is wrong with a location having an ambulance? I dont understand this negative reception maybe because in places where @kiash lives even the local fire-station has its own ambulance leave alone the hospitals. The reasoning being that no one should ever die because he could not reach to any health facility. So saidia mimi to understand why its un-viable to have 1 ambulance in a locale.
We are a country of limited resources. Akina @Kimuhu can afford to have world class health care even in a local ward. My problem is that decisions are being made for political expediency and as an avenue to eat. We are just sewing patches onto a dress instead of proper planning, involving stakeholders in healthcare (who have a firm understanding of evidence based practice) and coming up with a proper healthcare reform plan (coming up with a new dress). @jguru The disillusioned wont make head or tail of what you are crying out hoarse about. They are content with pettiness, superfluous shows of grandeur. mesmerised by the razzmatazz. You can hear them begging 'give us more! give us more!' People want to see things.. they are being shown things.. they are being shown fundamendooz
poundfoolish wrote:jguru wrote:murchr wrote:Treatment doesnt have to be in hospitals, those ambulances can be used as mobile clinics once in a while. But dakitari jguru, what is wrong with a location having an ambulance? I dont understand this negative reception maybe because in places where @kiash lives even the local fire-station has its own ambulance leave alone the hospitals. The reasoning being that no one should ever die because he could not reach to any health facility. So saidia mimi to understand why its un-viable to have 1 ambulance in a locale.
We are a country of limited resources. Akina @Kimuhu can afford to have world class health care even in a local ward. My problem is that decisions are being made for political expediency and as an avenue to eat. We are just sewing patches onto a dress instead of proper planning, involving stakeholders in healthcare (who have a firm understanding of evidence based practice) and coming up with a proper healthcare reform plan (coming up with a new dress). @jguru The disillusioned wont make head or tail of what you are crying out hoarse about. They are content with pettiness, superfluous shows of grandeur. mesmerised by the razzmatazz. You can hear them begging 'give us more! give us more!' People want to see things.. they are being shown things.. they are being shown fundamendooz Building roads, health centres, dams is pettiness....razzmatazz sijui nini. Have you ever seen anything good in this country ama kila SAA ni nduru tu? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
mawinder wrote:[quote=simonkabz]SMH. Roads being improved Health facilities being improved Ambulances on ground
Hii kelele yote ni ya nani?
What has your ngavana done? Mine has dug trenches across streets in the middle of town. Semeni ng'ombe[/quote He registered Subarus in the County executive committe's names,Spent 3m for Mutula's funeral yet Mutula is from Makueni,He hired a PA system for 5 hours for 1m,no tenders are invited for his projects etc.He is a thief who should go the Wambora way and be jailed. Wewe kwani ulihama kutoka mumias? Mutua gave a plausible explanation i guess you are the only one complaining despite being a stakeholder "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Mutua planned on what goals to achieve when he becomes governor, "Others" were to plan if they win; that is the difference. wazuans need to focus on enriching the work in progress instead on destructive criticism. I envy this man, Keep it up what a big departure from the Gava spokesperson I knew I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
jguru wrote:murchr wrote:Treatment doesnt have to be in hospitals, those ambulances can be used as mobile clinics once in a while. But dakitari jguru, what is wrong with a location having an ambulance? I dont understand this negative reception maybe because in places where @kiash lives even the local fire-station has its own ambulance leave alone the hospitals. The reasoning being that no one should ever die because he could not reach to any health facility. So saidia mimi to understand why its un-viable to have 1 ambulance in a locale.
We are a country of limited resources. Akina @Kimuhu can afford to have world class health care even in a local ward. Those ambulances have a stretcher and a couple of seats at the back. No monitors, no medical equipment, no emergency drugs. This reduces them to just normal matatus. A proper ambulance is like a mobile ICU (AAR, Red Cross etc). You can do emergency surgery in them. My problem is that decisions are being made for political expediency and as an avenue to eat. We are just sewing patches onto a dress instead of proper planning, involving stakeholders in healthcare (who have a firm understanding of evidence based practice) and coming up with a proper healthcare reform plan (coming up with a new dress). Alfie said the ambulances are fully equipped wewe umeona ndani ya hio gari? And why the assumption that stakeholders were not involved? Apparently I see the Mks women rep is a doc "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
I would rather have 1 Alfred Mutua than 42 Kideros. Even if that ambulance is a mkokoteni, trust me, in a location, that may be the only means of transport in the area. The people of Lamu don't even have fuel let alone a car. Honestly sometimes we do need to see when someone is trying to do good and this fellow is trying better than anyone. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
alma wrote:I would rather have 1 Alfred Mutua than 42 Kideros. Even if that ambulance is a mkokoteni, trust me, in a location, that may be the only means of transport in the area.
The people of Lamu don't even have fuel let alone a car.
Honestly sometimes we do need to see when someone is trying to do good and this fellow is trying better than anyone. hebu ambia hawa watu! what have the others done over the same period? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:alma wrote:I would rather have 1 Alfred Mutua than 42 Kideros. Even if that ambulance is a mkokoteni, trust me, in a location, that may be the only means of transport in the area.
The people of Lamu don't even have fuel let alone a car.
Honestly sometimes we do need to see when someone is trying to do good and this fellow is trying better than anyone. hebu ambia hawa watu! what have the others done over the same period? The financial year is coming to an end in June, will they surrender the money back to the gov? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
poundfoolish wrote:jguru wrote:murchr wrote:Treatment doesnt have to be in hospitals, those ambulances can be used as mobile clinics once in a while. But dakitari jguru, what is wrong with a location having an ambulance? I dont understand this negative reception maybe because in places where @kiash lives even the local fire-station has its own ambulance leave alone the hospitals. The reasoning being that no one should ever die because he could not reach to any health facility. So saidia mimi to understand why its un-viable to have 1 ambulance in a locale.
We are a country of limited resources. Akina @Kimuhu can afford to have world class health care even in a local ward. My problem is that decisions are being made for political expediency and as an avenue to eat. We are just sewing patches onto a dress instead of proper planning, involving stakeholders in healthcare (who have a firm understanding of evidence based practice) and coming up with a proper healthcare reform plan (coming up with a new dress). @jguru The disillusioned wont make head or tail of what you are crying out hoarse about. They are content with pettiness, superfluous shows of grandeur. mesmerised by the razzmatazz. You can hear them begging 'give us more! give us more!' People want to see things.. they are being shown things.. they are being shown fundamendooz To improve healthcare, you equip health centers at the grassroots, not buying 200 ambulances to ferry patients from ramshackle dispensaries at the grassroots to mayakos hospital, knh etc. To improve security and reduce crime, you create more employment for the youth, not buying 200 patrol cars and fierce dogs, and CCTVs in every shopping centre. Seems mutua is an expert in treating symptoms instead of addressing the cause of the problems afflicting mayakos. His development model can never work. He even grabbed the Veterinary land that was being used for livestock research to build an entertainment park! The land (and research) was helping small scale livestock farmers in mayakos improve their stocks and increase incomes.
Alfie the dodo