wazua Tue, Feb 25, 2025

5 Pages<12345>
@Njung'e, Djinn and usual suspects
#41 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 4:37:16 PM

This is keep-right road, not Kenya, right?

DRC
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 4:40:27 PM

@Mukiha,

I travel for the love of it.My longest road trip (It was madness) was Bukavu-Lubumbashi via Mbuji Mayi,Kolwezi,and Likasi and back.Bukavu-Mbuji Mayi is roughly 1400Km while Mbuji Mayi-Lubumbashi is roughly 1100km. The main highways between this towns are far much better than our A1s (They call them RN1s). Traversing Katanga Province and all it's beauty remains one of the most memorable things i have done this far and i would do it again.

(Pix in previous post is of a road section between Likasi and Kolwezi in Katanga.Likasi is not very far from the border of Angola.

Applause Applause Applause Wow, impressive, I hope you didn't come across many otoyos!!!smile
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 13, 2014 4:51:01 PM

@Mukiha,

Applause Applause Applause Wow, impressive, I hope you didn't come across many otoyos!!!smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....Nope!!...The only scare was the name of a small town halfway or so between Bukavu and Mbuji Mayi named Lubao.I couldn't separate it with our Lubao of Malava and the trade that goes on theresmile.Mbuji Mayi also has generally short people and we had heard stories about cannibals of Central DRC.I didn't sleep!!smile
#44 Posted : Friday, February 14, 2014 12:23:22 AM

@Mukiha,

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ....Nope!!...The only scare was the name of a small town halfway or so between Bukavu and Mbuji Mayi named Lubao.I couldn't separate it with our Lubao of Malava and the trade that goes on theresmile.Mbuji Mayi also has generally short people and we had heard stories about cannibals of Central DRC.I didn't sleep!!smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly that was an experience. I hope you are a licensed gun holder. I wouldn't think of venturing some areas bilaz.
wilyum
#45 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 6:29:36 PM

since am seeing some road trips enthusiasts here,what about organizing one ?
chris79
#46 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 7:05:27 PM

wilyum wrote:

Great idea, count me in...
#47 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 10:21:21 PM

chris79 wrote:
wilyum wrote:

Great idea, count me in...

me too..
#48 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 10:31:53 PM

@Wilyum/Chris/Harry,

What do you guys have in mind?.A local?
#49 Posted : Monday, February 17, 2014 11:50:27 PM

@Wilyum/Chris/Harry,

I would love to join you guys. A local or regional would do for me!
#50 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:08:57 AM

@Wilyum/Chris/Harry,

any would do especially where I haven't ventured before.
#51 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 12:47:53 AM

@Wilyum/Chris/Harry,

any would do especially where I haven't ventured before.

I won't mind joining if the route ain't too familiarsmile .Any proposals?
Mpenzi
#52 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 1:15:19 AM

@Wilyum/Chris/Harry,

Njung'e,

I think you have lived a crazy life, why would you do a road trip in excess of 2000 km in the DRC for fun?

But it seems it would be fun to do a local road trip with you. I am you would regale us with enough stories cia marimusmile
#53 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 1:36:52 AM

Mpenzi wrote:
@Wilyum/Chris/Harry,

Njung'e,

I think you have lived a crazy life, why would you do a road trip in excess of 2000 km in the DRC for fun?

But it seems it would be fun to do a local road trip with you. I am you would regale us with enough stories cia marimusmile

Why not?smile
#54 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 6:20:50 AM

Suggestion: Nrb- Machakos-Matuu-Kiritiri-Embu-Meru-Isiolo-Nanyuki-Nyeri-Nyahururu-Kapenguria-Turkana

NB: I have never been on the entire route!
wilyum
#55 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:36:39 AM

great, i see we can get a quorum, my suggestions, we start with a local and then after seeing how it goes, we can go regional, I have always wanted to drive upto to CapeTown and back.

@njunge, you are the experienced guy here, what about you give us suggestions and then we debate.

@radio,thanks for the suggestions, what do the rest think?
wilyum
#56 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 8:54:56 AM

the route suggested by @radio is approx 1205 kms.

see below

Prime
#57 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 2:53:30 PM

ai anzeni na something small bwana... kitu ya sunday tu
#58 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 3:04:02 PM

radio wrote:
Suggestion: Nrb- Machakos-Matuu-Kiritiri-Embu-Meru-Isiolo-Nanyuki-Nyeri-Nyahururu-Kapenguria-Turkana

NB: I have never been on the entire route!

Nyahururu-Kapenguria ndio gani tena?
wilyum
#59 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 3:38:23 PM

Prime wrote:
ai anzeni na something small bwana... kitu ya sunday tu

any suggestions on a route?
#60 Posted : Tuesday, February 18, 2014 7:06:25 PM

wilyum wrote:
the route suggested by @radio is approx 1205 kms.

see below

the map is invisible...anyway after Nyahururu, it's better to come back to Nai for the 1st trip. We can do turkana in another trip as we venture ethiopia. au sio?