wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

10 Pages«<678910>
ku on rampage,fires&lootings
Mr.Tea
#141 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 10:30:00 AM

@nanfor,obi and co.

So the panacea would be to sack Prof Olive Mugenda? The students bear little or no responsibility if your posts are to be believed.... If what you write is to be taken at face value,then one would have no difficulty concluding that you must be naive but you are not. What are you working so hard to destroy?

If the truth be told the old lady and the senate,were just working hard to live up to their contractual terms. Had they known that their (in)actions would lead to riots which dented their tenure,believe you me,they would have done everything in the book to avoid them. The prof is on performance based contract.
If she has to go she will,but that will set a very bad precedent in the history of our institutions of higher learning.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
adept
#142 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 10:30:00 AM

@Mcreggae - I agree. Tuwachane na theory. Tho' the same premise can be used in reverse i.e. wait till someone close to you has their car stoned or house burned by rioting students as they are taking their 2 month-old baby for a checkup...

Anyway,I get your point. The Management has to be subjected to some level of scrutiny on how the whole issue has been handled. It will not necessarily guarantee a completely trouble-free environment. But hopefully the students and the admin will work together for the benefit of all stakeholders.
#143 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 10:33:00 AM

Adept,

That is the point. This is clearly a case where we have both sides to blame. Why should we rush to only blame the students where as others put it the old (Mugenda et al) should have learnt the hard life lessons so as to be able to handle the sudents appropriately.

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
#144 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 10:42:00 AM

@nanfor,

You seem to have beef with the world......Very sorry but i will keep the soap and water for......What did you say?.....Forget it!.I don't throw good money after bad.......You have won.

Guka wa bijuti...
adept
#145 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 10:59:00 AM

Right. So the following positions are both valid i.e.

1. Management - Has to be interrogated on how the whole issue was handled.
Commend the good and condemn the bad. Some of their actions may have been appropriate while others probably weren't...to some extent,no one on the outside seems to have the whole story.

Ideally,this should be the Senate's job...if they can't then this should move higher up. We claim to be a democracy so we have to at least try and feign interest in the student's views tho' I know it's nothing more than raging hormones.

2. Students - Anyone who can be credibly identified as having taken part in or supported the destruction of university or private property must face the law. Much as the Admin may not have acted well,the students must understand that even when the Admin is unreasonable,they must learn to respect private or state property.
#146 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:05:00 AM

@ Mr Tea.

In any other society,the VC would have resigned by now in shame.

To be honest I am not going to type from the comfort of my seat on what should be done,mine is just a suggestion.

If the VC does not do the right thing and step aside,then sacking her without due process is as knee jerk a reaction as the arrest of the students.

How about initiate a process to quickly resolve the problem,say in 1 week. Have a panel/commision to review her actions vis a viz what is expected of her.

The most important thing is to re-open the college ASAP and have it returned to a semblance of nomalcy.

To pretend that nothing happened and that she was doing her best is nothing short of a joke. There is no reason why we should hold the VC of this University to a lower standard than say the VC of Strathmore or Daystar.

And to push my case,I am sure you remember the chinese milk scandal. 1 company sold a chemical mixture that could pass for milk in powder form and which most analysts admitted was not easy to detect.

But the chairman of the dairy company that bought the milk in innocence was jailed for life,it was found that she had breached the trust that the public had placed on her.

@Ecstacy,before you compare milk and students,try and think.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#147 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:07:00 AM

Mugenda asiende!! kwani ni yeye alistrike?
#148 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:15:00 AM

action and reaction,students striking and rioting over non issues have caused their own deaths and injuries. who is to blame? if it were upto Mugenda by this time some students would have done half of their exams - the sooner the better.

Bill gates had a list of commandments that anyone who is in jua kali or is employed knows:

Rule 1: Life is not fair - get used to it!

Rule 2 : The world won't care about your self-esteem. The world will expect you to accomplish something BEFORE you feel good about yourself.

Rule 3 : You will NOT make $60,000 a year right out of high school. You won't be a vice-president with a car phone until you earn both.

Rule 4 : If you think your teacher is tough,wait till you get a boss (or landlord). He doesn't have tenure or belong to a union with a death grip on your parents property.

Rule 5 : Flipping burgers is not beneath your dignity. Your Grandparents had a different word for burger flipping: they called it opportunity.

Rule 6: If you mess up,it's not your parents' fault,so don't whine about your mistakes,learn from them.

Rule 7: Before you were born,your parents weren't as boring as they are now. They got that way from paying your bills,cleaning your clothes and listening to you talk about how cool you thought you were. So before you save the rain forest from the parasites of your parent's generation,try delousing the closet in your own room.

Rule 8: Your school may have done away with winners and losers,but life HAS NOT. In some schools,they have abolished failing grades and they'll give you as MANY TIMES as you want to get the right answer. This doesn't bear the slightest resemblance to ANYTHING in real life.

Rule 9: Life is not divided into semester . You don't get summers off and very few employers are interested in helping you FIND YOURSELF. Do that on your own time..

Rule 10: Television is NOT real life. In real life people actually have to leave the coffee shop and go to jobs.

Rule 11: Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.

students should strive to be ready for this kind of life
#149 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:16:00 AM

@Obi,

I am not against you suggestion but.....another commission?...urgggh..!!.Show me one whose recommendations have been implemented to 10% in your lifetime.

Guka wa bijuti...
#150 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:23:00 AM

@Njung'e

I also dread commissions or panels in kenya as they don't work.

Adept suggested the senate,that should suffice for me.

The point is to draw lessons from her experience for the future,if you summarily show her the door,we will never learn anything. Then the MBA classes will forever be discussing the Pavlov's dogs and the assembly line of I don't know where and the BCG as reference material.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#151 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:40:00 AM

...The students did not just protest because of the dress issue. Why has it become the only issue of discussion on this topic?

@Nanfor: What has the world done to you? You seem to be so so so bitter? Are you frustrated where you are-somewhere in the diaspora? Have you been laid off? Take it easy,man. These things shall pass.

PS: I know you will hurl all sorts of incomprehensible insults at me. but i dont give a damn!!!
Brewer
#152 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:47:00 AM

Kenyan experience. Shout until you sound right. A commission is appointed where the truth is told with decorum over a long time. Who then cares. The appointing authority is happy to be in office another day and wait for another shouting match.
#153 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 11:56:00 AM

@magigi...

hehehehehehe..... You are insult proof?? aaaaiiish,I prefer to keep off when i see things getting there....

I also didnt understand why @nanfor seemed so bitter but dint want to ask her if there was something more than just this thread.... but think i understand..... not necessarily agree.

On a light note: @nanfor's bitterness dint seem to match the mood of the thread..... Just like our police and the students.... But she finally laughed at my observations so may be its her way to unwind....... hehehe!

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#154 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:02:00 PM

@Wendz: Lets wait and see. The good lady is defending her position with passion,like SK will write her a cheque at the end of the day!!!
#155 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:07:00 PM

@Wendz,

Magigi ametupa mawe polisi ikampata OCS..........Twende kazi...!!

Guka wa bijuti...
#156 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:11:00 PM

@magigi....

Aaauuuiiiih .......... wewe kwisa.... by the time it is over,you will go back to read that 'bad marriage' thread again coz the war will be worse than in a 'bad marriage'... You might actually have to print it and read it at home..... loooooooooooooooong lecture!

@Njung'e
hata mimi nitasema hivyo hivyo tu.... twende kazi....

Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
#157 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:12:00 PM

Instead of incorrigible and oxymoronic arguments...try realise in Kenya,we're talking of fighting impunity not Mugenda or Ali your pet subject....and at all levels..join the bandwagon..instead of burning it....it will dawn on you one day....hopefully!.. .it's a Kenyan problem.
#158 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:21:00 PM

@ Wendz: By the way,I have already printed it and distributed to my staff,Thanks!!! I have also send it to those who matter,but not before doing some editing-out of 43 items I knocked out 5-the very sensitive ones that touch on me!!! I guess as you say I might have to need it later....

@Njung'e: I have put on a bullet proof vest. So I am ready for war....
#159 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:40:00 PM

@Magigi,

Is there a bullet proof vest for balls??.....Most ladies target just that...!!

Guka wa bijuti...
#160 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2009 12:54:00 PM

...@Njung'e : I knew that long time ago. A few weeks back,I gave a wielder at industrial area an order to make for me a metallic underwear,which I have already collected. So,yes,I can cofidently say that,in area,i am safe......