wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

How sharp are you?
Josey
#1 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 2:27:00 PM

Below are four (4) questions and a bonus question. You have to answer them instantly. You can't take your time,answer all of them immediately. OK?
Let's find out just how clever you really are....
Ready? GO!!!

First Question:
You are participating in a race. You overtake the second person. What position are you in?
~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~
Answer: If you answered that you are first,then you are absolutely wrong! If you overtake the second person,you take his place,so you are second!
Try not to screw up next time.
Now answer the second question,but don't take as much time as you took for the first one,OK?

Second Question:
I f you overtake the last person,then you are...?
~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~
Answer: If you answered that you are second to last,then you are wrong again. Tell me,how can you overtake the LAST Person?
You're not very good at this,are you?
Third Question:
Very tricky arithmetic! Note: This must be done in your head only.
Do NOT use paper and pencil or a calculator. Try it.
Take 1000 and add 40 to it. Now add another 1000. Now add 30.
Add another 1000. Now add 20. Now add another 1000
Now add 10. What is the total?
~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~
Did you get 5000?
The correct answer is actually 4100.
If you don't believe it,check it with a calculator!
Today is definitely not your day,is it?
Maybe you'll get the last question right.......Maybe.
Fourth Question:
Mary's father has five daughters: 1. Nana,2. Nene,3. Nini,4. Nono. What is the name of the fifth daughter?
Did you Answer Nunu?
NO! Of course it isn't.
Her name is Mary. Read the question again!
Okay,now the bonus round:
I may have sent this one before. I'm never sure.
A mute person goes into a shop and wants to buy a toothbrush. By imitating the action of brushing his teeth he successfully expresses himself to the shopkeeper and the purchase is
done.
Next,a blind man comes into the shop who wants to buy a pair of sunglasses; how does HE indicate what he wants?
He just has to open his mouth and ask...It's really very simple.... Like you!
PASS THIS ON TO FRUSTRATE THE SMART PEOPLE IN YOUR LIFE!

Better put your money where your mouth is...
m water
#2 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 3:12:00 PM

this unlimited offer thing.
sawa,karibuni wageni.
enjoy it while it lasts.

tugae gama gitu gimoja
#3 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 3:29:00 PM

I thought I was sharp Sad

AKS
#4 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 4:23:00 PM

Isht! Hav done this thng b4 bt bado naloba tu!

Can silence be misquoted?
#5 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 4:23:00 PM

Isht! Hav done this thng b4 bt bado naloba tu!

Kamaa
#6 Posted : Monday, October 26, 2009 6:33:00 PM

even though i had come across this one on a fwd,that one of the arithmetics changanyad me...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Noble
#7 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 4:45:00 AM

I failed question four. Thought its Nunu. Am very stupid.

rock
#8 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 6:55:00 AM

I don't know how I've gotten this far in life...yani this is my second time to do this and I've failed question 2 & 3 AGAIN!!...can't believe it!

Things may come to those who wait,but only what’s left behind by those that hustle.

seeker*
#9 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 7:51:00 AM

the arithmetic question...grrrrrrrrr. nice though.

better a friendship founded on business than a business founded on friendship.
Don't fight a battle if you gain nothing by winning.” Erwin Rommel
When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became an adult, I no longer used childish ways.
brav
#10 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 9:03:00 AM

Did you have to add the bonus question?

Damn!!!! i was doing so well till I said the blind man will touch his eyes. HAHAHAHAHA bure mimi that A1.

Usichoke kutafuta salary
ispoa
#11 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 10:24:00 AM

Question four & five got my ribs cracking!

Dint think i was a dander

He that rides the Tiger,cannot dismount
#12 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 11:29:00 AM

Luckily I have revised this questions over and over again. But I did make someone feel stupid by asking them the bonus question while sitted at the bar counter last night. I browse SK all the time.

Baada ya dhiki,faaraja
Djinn
#13 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 11:33:00 AM

clearly I am as sharp as a marble....

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
mkristo
#14 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 12:20:00 PM

I answered exactly as the predited wrong answers. Well,if the one who constructed the questions could predict those answers and is supposedly the sharp one,then I am as sharp as he/she is.

Please note there is a condition to answering these questions,'Do not take much time thinking,just answer'. In other words in most people's cognitive process,within the first few moments your thoughts tend to be linear (ie straight foward). However if you took a bit more time,you will think beyond the surface level and definately get the correct answer.

If the same quetions had been asked and the condition be,'Think carefully before you answer',again most of us would get the answers answers correct. In essence,the questions are not necessarily testing sharpness parse but people's cognitive process,time being a constraint.

My take

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
#15 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 1:29:00 PM

@mkristo,I think its SHARPNESS,yaani ability to think QUICK!

Kamaa
#16 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 1:38:00 PM

i think it is testing intelligence (understanding things clearly & logically) & sharpness (speed)

cognitive is more of a thought process...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#17 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 2:23:00 PM

question 2 - I f you overtake the last person,then you are...?

the alleged ground for invalidating an answer to this question is wrong. the question is not complete and actually makes no sense so most answers would be right given the lack content/content.

yes you can overtake the last person in a race!

if say you were number 3 and you overtake the first person in front of you,that makes you the second person. in say,a hundred meters race the last person for you to overtake would be that number 2 whom you have just replaced.

but say then you get to be strong and fast enough to overtake the next person and win the race. obviously that would be the last person. so really in a 100 meters race the last person you can overtake shall be that ex-number one making you number 1.

now there is a difference between a 100 m race and say a race around the field three/four etc times. in the latter case,if the last person is used as the person in the last position in the race then you get to overtake her by lapping her.

so if you are the second last person and you lap the last person then you would be SECOND LAST PERSON AFTER OVERTAKING THE LAST PERSON.

#18 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 2:26:00 PM

Damn! I have done this severally na bado naanguka? bure kabisa!

Thanks for sharing Josey..it's a good one!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Sasha
#19 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 2:29:00 PM

@mkenyan & mkristo: I believe there is a saying that goes 'It takes a shorter time to do something right than to explain why you did it wrong'!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#20 Posted : Tuesday, October 27, 2009 2:29:00 PM

on 2rd question...Yes..you can overtake the last person...happens all the time during any race. ... the last person better have no other meaning...and Mkenya saw that before i did...

wishes to inform the citizens of Kenya,in the light of your failure to elect a competent President for the past 46 years,and thus failure to govern yourselves,I hereby give notice of the revocation of your independence...