wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

14 Pages«<89101112>»
Binyavanga Wainaina
#181 Posted : Wednesday, February 12, 2014 8:37:51 AM

Coolbull wrote:
I saw Binyavanga today in Westlands. The fellow looks lost/confused. He has a look deep down his eyes which seems to be looking for answers.

Poor boy!

Thats the exact look I saw when he appeared on JKL in that floral pink and yellow dress.

He looked high on something.

I would sum up his situation as one where he has just realised the unique path he took is not fulfilling and thus would want to get back to the normal path that you and I trudge on.Yet this has its own challenges..........you have no friends, your rika has made grand achievements in life, they have families (wife and kids).Investments here and there, plans for tomorrow etc.Basically living and living with a purpose and enjoying the journey.

Where to begin is the biggest challenge for him, hence his coming out to explain himself to society and seek acceptance.

Even this Binya...........name is to look unique otherwise his days of Nax and Lenana he was Ken Wainaina with a Kamau Mwangi or some okuyo name in between.

#182 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 4:15:45 PM

#183 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 4:41:43 PM

Binya on BBC Hard Talk
#184 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 4:46:21 PM

Coolbull wrote:
I saw Binyavanga today in Westlands. The fellow looks lost/confused. He has a look deep down his eyes which seems to be looking for answers.

Poor boy!

Thats the exact look I saw when he appeared on JKL in that floral pink and yellow dress.

I would sum up his situation as one where he has just realised the unique path he took is not fulfilling and thus would want to get back to the normal path that you and I trudge on.Yet this has its own challenges..........you have no friends, your rika has made grand achievements in life, they have families (wife and kids).Investments here and there, plans for tomorrow etc.Basically living and living with a purpose and enjoying the journey.

Where to begin is the biggest challenge for him, hence his coming out to explain himself to society and seek acceptance.

Even this Binya...........name is to look unique otherwise his days of Nax and Lenana he was Ken Wainaina with a Kamau Mwangi or some okuyo name in between.

i think alikuwa Moi primary
#185 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 8:07:23 PM

Coolbull wrote:

Poor boy!

He was in Xaviers Primary then moved to Moi Primary performed well and went to Lenana High school.

#186 Posted : Wednesday, February 19, 2014 8:15:50 PM

Coolbull wrote:

Poor boy!

He was in Xaviers Primary then moved to Moi Primary performed well and went to Lenana High school.

Performed well? OK.
Caramba
#187 Posted : Saturday, February 22, 2014 12:38:43 AM

The evolutionary puzzle of homosexuality.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/magazine-26089486
#188 Posted : Saturday, February 22, 2014 2:38:06 AM

Coolbull wrote:

Poor boy!

Performed well? OK.

Laughing out loudly Umekatalia kwa gutter?

#189 Posted : Sunday, February 23, 2014 8:17:30 PM

Coolbull wrote:

Poor boy!

hehehe... i went to st Xaviers nursery and primary mbaka std 4! left at the end of 87. I am sure I must have seen him then. Siku za Mrs Wanguhu!

on other news - http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/11ioffmz/-/index.html this is exactly what is happening, its not wise to do advocacy in this manner huku! it won't work!
Buster
#190 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2014 12:04:50 AM

Has been included into the world's 100 most influential people list of the Times Magazine.

http://time.com/70795/bi...vanga-wainaina-time-100/
#191 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2014 10:03:29 AM

Buster wrote:
Has been included into the world's 100 most influential people list of the Times Magazine.

http://time.com/70795/bi...anga-wainaina-time-100/

Influencing who?

#192 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2014 10:15:34 AM

Why is the west so obsessed with homosexuals and the likes.....kama vita yao na russia imewashinda wasituletee nyef nyef, as i have insisted before anytime i would be a polygamous man and not those things they want to force down our throats
#193 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2014 10:23:26 AM

Buster wrote:

Influencing who?

Mahips Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#194 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2014 10:26:57 AM

chemos wrote:
Buster wrote:

Influencing who?

Mahips Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Wewe @Chemotherapy unatafuta uchokozi Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#195 Posted : Friday, April 25, 2014 10:28:29 AM

Coolbull wrote:

Poor boy!

hehehe... i went to st Xaviers nursery and primary mbaka std 4! left at the end of 87. I am sure I must have seen him then. Siku za Mrs Wanguhu!

on other news - http://www.nation.co.ke/...-/11ioffmz/-/index.html this is exactly what is happening, its not wise to do advocacy in this manner huku! it won't work!

hapari wafula?
Atalaku
#196 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 9:38:25 AM

#197 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 11:06:19 AM

Atalaku wrote:

Stripping candidate!
#198 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2015 11:06:35 AM

Coolbull wrote:

Poor boy!

hapari wafula?

lol ...good one...I had to do google translate to see if you actually were right and you are! I have been saying this throughout my life! (explains the poor insha scores). I guess you learn something new everyday... MPAKA ukufe ama?
#199 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2015 7:52:47 PM

Kwani Trust wrote:
On October 31st 2015, Kenneth Binyavanga Wainaina, suffered a stroke at his home and was admitted to the Intensive Care Unit at Karen Hospital. His speech was affected, and he needed to undergo MRI and CT scans, in addition to round the-clock observation. The doctors recommended medicinal treatment and specialized speech therapy. Binyavanga was discharged on Friday 6th November.

On Friday 13th November, he developed some physical difficulties arising from the

stroke. Following a scheduled appointment with a neurosurgeon, he was admitted to Nairobi Hospital for further observation and was immediately checked into ICU for 24 hours and upon stabilization, moved into the general ward. Doctors advised that Binyavanga has a chronic condition that affects the blood vessels to the brain making him susceptible to blockages and strokes. They also stated that an immediate intervention is required before extensive therapy beyond first-stage treatment.

Over the last two weeks, Binyavanga’s colleagues, family and friends have been working to avail the best medical care possible for him. He is now scheduled to travel to Bangalore, India, through a hospital-to-hospital transfer, where further tests will be conducted with the possibility of surgery. This will be followed by rehabilitation, recuperation and basic care.

From a preliminary assessment of the costs of travel (for him, an accompanying family member, doctor and nurse with their equipment), tests, medication, basic care, speech therapy and a period of recuperation, it was established that $30,000( Approx Ksh 3 Million) is required for his evacuation and a further $20,000 (Approx Ksh 2 Million) in a month's time. We now know that costs for post treatment care will rise and will be seeking a longer-term insurance solution given this pre-existing condition and the need for ready access to world-class care.

We have raised the initial amount of $30,000 (Approx Ksh 3 Million) needed for his immediate care. Efforts are still in place to raise a larger target now in excess of USD 75,000 (Approx Ksh 7.5 Million) as he will require extensive post-treatment care.

Medical fund accounts have been established in Binyavanga Wainaina’s name under Kwani Trust where all financial donations can be sent. We would appreciate your pledges and donations as soon as possible. Please see account details for the BINYAVANGA WAINAINA MEDICAL FUND below and feel free to seek further information from the contacts below:

Bank Name: Commercial Bank Of Africa (CBA)
Account Name: Binyavanga Med. Fund
• KES (Kenya Shillings) Account: 6564760155
• USD (US Dollar) Account: 6464760168

Bank Transfer Information (Applicable to both accounts)
SWIFT CODE: CBAFKENX
BANK CODE: 07
BRANCH CODE: 000
WESTLANDS BRANCH

Paypal (Visa, Mastercard, Discover or Amex) and mobile money transfer :
From Kenya: text BINYA to 22231
From elsewhere: Please visit bit.ly/binyamedicalfund

Since we opened up the appeal to the public, there has been a huge outpouring of love for Binyavanga. Please circulate this update to your networks if you can. There are several fundraising events underway all over the world, including Kwani Trust’s benefit concert featuring Fokn Bois in Nairobi on Saturday 5th December.

For updates, please follow us on twitter: @kwanitrust

For further Information, please contact: Angela Wachuka & Billy Kahora on medicalfund@kwani.org

popat
#200 Posted : Friday, November 27, 2015 8:15:21 PM

Hi.kari gani!!