wazua Thu, May 8, 2025

3 Bed Room Apartments on Lenana Road
#21 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 2:32:24 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mkenia wrote:
With that much (KES 20M), get yourself 3 units in Nyayo Estate, Embakassi flat.
You will be assured of 90K per month in rental income and now that Outer Ring road carpeting is in the plan, this income is likely to hit 100K. Can the lenana apartment give you that much?

Single 20M apartment in Kile/Kili will fetch 100-110K......

wow!! 100k for an apartment - kwani how much do those guys who rent in runda, ama those sides of gecha pay.

anyway, I am sure you pay more for maintenance huko kile/kili (hata sijui huko ni wapi), than for nyayo estate.
#22 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 3:14:55 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mkenia wrote:
You will be assured of 90K per month in rental income and now that Outer Ring road carpeting is in the plan, this income is likely to hit 100K. Can the lenana apartment give you that much?

wow!! 100k for an apartment - kwani how much do those guys who rent in runda, ama those sides of gecha pay.

anyway, I am sure you pay more for maintenance huko kile/kili (hata sijui huko ni wapi), than for nyayo estate.

Kile = Kileleshwa
Kili = Kilimani

#23 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 4:36:40 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mkenia wrote:

450K to 600k. It's cheaper to live at the Norfork full board at 350k a month.
Horton
#24 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 4:44:54 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mkenia wrote:

Haha that's like on the really higher end. On average is 250-350k
#25 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 8:35:54 PM

Horton wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mkenia wrote:

Haha that's like on the really higher end. On average is 250-350k

nyayo apartments are now at 7.5millions, rent 32K average

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 484,100 ABP 7.45; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Tgoldman
#26 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 10:20:46 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Horton wrote:
Wait is it an "Apartment complex" or "an apartment"??What's the square footage? Amenities?? Service charge?? How long is the lease?? Is it 99years or the 50yr ones??

@Tgoldman, A cousin to a friend of a friend's brother's nephew has just bought 3br all en-suite, sq with own entrance, 252 m2, lift, parking for two, no pool/sauna/gym, 32 units in compound for ksh 23M mortgage. The shainise man would have taken ksh 19M cash money. The lease is 99yrs, started in 1968, service charge 10k - Kileleshwa.

I understand those new walalo apartments at Lenana/Ring Road Kilimani (near SA High Commission) - 3br, one en-suite are going at ksh 23M before bargaining.

Gordon Gekko this apartment is 3br all en-suite, sq and best price they offered is 20m...Would you say its a good deal mate?
Tgoldman
#27 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 10:26:19 PM

Horton wrote:
Hmmm @dukang??? Maybe not so. Too many things to consider.
1.Many people don't like stand alone houses due to security issues, hiring all those extra staff(gardeners, watchies, etc)
2. Location? I have a friend who has a beach front 3 br flat in Nyali. Could u compare that to a stand-alone in Utange?(as standalone houses in Nyali are quite rare)

@TGoldman if it's 2250 Sq ft. It's an ok deal. Is it for investment? Don't know much about lenana road, however, I was offered on ole-dume road @16m 3br. But those were 1800sqf and the finishing was ok.

Horton its 2250sq, 3br all en-suite but no other amenities like pool, gym etc. The best price they can give me is 20m...Whats your take bro?
#28 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 3:50:28 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mkenia wrote:

I live near Runda and have never heard of Runda Mimosa.
#29 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 9:23:56 PM

@mawinder, you need to live IN Runda, not NEAR Runda to have heard of Mimosa. Once past the main gate, your first left turn is Mimosa Drive.....
@Tgoldman, it is a buyers market, how many units in the compound? Are they shainese? If shainese, knock off ksh 2M, what you will spend to replace all the sub-standard fittings.
#30 Posted : Sunday, February 09, 2014 9:52:07 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Mkenia wrote:

I live near Runda and have never heard of Runda Mimosa.

Yeah, if you live in Gachie, you may not know that Runda Mimosa is one of the most exclusive areas of Runda.
Horton
#31 Posted : Monday, February 10, 2014 8:53:57 AM

Tgoldman wrote:
Horton wrote:
Hmmm @dukang??? Maybe not so. Too many things to consider.
1.Many people don't like stand alone houses due to security issues, hiring all those extra staff(gardeners, watchies, etc)
2. Location? I have a friend who has a beach front 3 br flat in Nyali. Could u compare that to a stand-alone in Utange?(as standalone houses in Nyali are quite rare)

@TGoldman if it's 2250 Sq ft. It's an ok deal. Is it for investment? Don't know much about lenana road, however, I was offered on ole-dume road @16m 3br. But those were 1800sqf and the finishing was ok.

Horton its 2250sq, 3br all en-suite but no other amenities like pool, gym etc. The best price they can give me is 20m...Whats your take bro?

http://classifieds.capit...nt-for-sale-266858.html

Check out the link above.

@TGoldman.....asking too many people would just end up confusing you. I remember when I bought my first house a few years back, I would ask someone and I would mostly be discouraged (price is too high or area isn't good, getting tenants is difficult etc) what I realized is that most of these so-called "real estate experts" we're indeed someone's tenants, ie they didn't own any property.

If I were you, I would compare similar properties in the region of interest, find out how hard it is to rent(and if it is indeed hard, then why?), find out prices of similar properties, also the price you have been quoted is 8,888/= psf. It's an ok price, not a "steal" price. You are not getting a bargain of the year, neither are you getting ripped off. I understand these are still off plan? Then you have the upper hand, offer them 17m and see what happens. Don't pay asking price. Keep haggling, whatever you save would be to your advantage.

Good luck.
Tgoldman
#32 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 9:32:41 AM

Thanks Wazuans, especially Horton & Gordon Gekko in sealing my first apartment purchase. It was a good deal after a lot of haggling and I feel confident about it. Asanteni.

Horton & Gekko is there a way I may reach guys via email as I need to discuss something with both of you fellas. Thanks again.
Horton
#33 Posted : Tuesday, March 04, 2014 8:03:37 PM

Tgoldman wrote:
Thanks Wazuans, especially Horton & Gordon Gekko in sealing my first apartment purchase. It was a good deal after a lot of haggling and I feel confident about it. Asanteni.

Horton & Gekko is there a way I may reach guys via email as I need to discuss something with both of you fellas. Thanks again.

@tg karibu.

hortoncapital at gmail dot com
african coloner
#34 Posted : Wednesday, March 05, 2014 4:09:56 PM

Tgoldman wrote:

Now that we have selflessly assisted you in making in making that important life decision. Can you also selflessly share with us where you got 20million from. We would love to be neighbours.
Chaka
#35 Posted : Wednesday, March 05, 2014 4:23:43 PM

african coloner wrote:

Now that we have selflessly assisted you in making in making that important life decision. Can you also selflessly share with us where you got 20million from. We would love to be neighbours.

Seconded...
Tgoldman
#36 Posted : Thursday, March 06, 2014 1:32:36 PM

african coloner wrote:
Tgoldman wrote:

12 years of import business(mostly consumer electronic and clothing). These two businesses albeit being cyclical had put me through graduate school, 2 levels of cfa and a property in abroad.

Advise:
* Develop a thick skin and ride through the tough times. A personal recommendation of mine would be to have as a starter a cushioning employment paying minimal 100k as you navigate and learn more about the sector you ventured into.
* Listen to your inner voice. A hard lesson which took me a long time to learn is to listen to your gut voice after doing your own research as many at times I listened to what others(competitors, useless analyst had predicted about the trend) and failed miserably.
*Art of saving. I cannot stress this enough and according to me will largely determine your eventual reach and how fast you get there. Example for those of you who have been to Dubai, UAE, can you survive on a AED40/day budget there which includes, boarding, food, transport? Do tell?

4 years of export business. I cannot go further into this as it is still my bread and butter.

Good luck to fellow entrepreneurs and under dogs. Cheers