wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Rogue Contractors name & shame!!
#21 Posted : Tuesday, January 07, 2014 8:33:35 PM

Best road section ever built: Blue Posts Hotel~Kenol highway. Completed 1991, and not even a SINGLE CRACK, appears like it could do another 30 years before we see the first pothole. Done by TM-AM. Where did they go?
Mpenzi
#22 Posted : Tuesday, January 07, 2014 9:07:56 PM

Best road section ever built: Blue Posts Hotel~Kenol highway. Completed 1991, and not even a SINGLE CRACK, appears like it could do another 30 years before we see the first pothole. Done by TM-AM. Where did they go?

No, it was completed earlier than that - about 1988.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, January 07, 2014 9:23:02 PM

Mpenzi wrote:

Sure? A sign on the kabati flyover indicates 1991. Then again 1988 gives it an impressive 25 years without even a crack. This is a record for Kenya!
bebeto
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 7:52:09 AM

kollabo wrote:
No.1 on the list... S.S MEHTA CONSTRUCTION

2 years ago they filled potholes and did one half of Waiyaki Way and left the other half undone for almost 2 months. Caro Mutoko even castigated their work on Kiss. Now the road is torn to shreds from Uthiru to Westlands.

Yet they always seem to get contracts Not talking Not talking

The guy who did Kiserian to Ngong road...if am not wrong Kirinyaga construction...[b]the tarmac layer is like 2 inches.[/b]...

cant blame him on this blindly. If he changed the design specs, then hes to blame. but if its what the design prescribes( 2"=50mm, very common for a wearing course), blame the designer.
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
bebeto
#25 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 8:02:04 AM

a4architect.com wrote:
the reason for poor shoddy work lies in how ministry of roads manages the contractors eg
1. how the contractor is selected/competency/experience for particular road works.
2. contract sum. Can the contract sum allow for good quality materials procurement ?
3. guidance and supervision form roads engineers i.e are the engineers enough and making proper supervision?

In most international contracts eg the chinese contracts, all the above are present hence better quality. If kirinyaga contractors are supervised well, with well funded contracts and employ experienced labour, their roads will be as good as chinese but kickbacks, low govt engineer staffing and poor quality staffing/labour ensures we get lower quality roads.

Exactly. i particulary like the better( not BEST)quality. Money and hence all resources are the major undoing for local contractors, giving an upper hand to the chinese. As for quality. do not be so sure. they require strict and close supervision, otherwise they'll mess up big time.

On thika road, they were ready to alter concrete mixes whenever the supervision team was away. They could even pour concerete on a site where underground water was flowing....they were not directly under me. You raise the issue by informing the supervisors, they are overruled by their superiors( chinese are politically "correct" and approach issues from above. Case in point-limuru road/forest road junction. And theres a crack at museum hill interchange..a a major one.
on Ojijo/ forest round...same case So as much as RE team is to blame( responsibility contractually), look at the bigger picture
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
kollabo
#26 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 9:05:46 AM

Just drove down Loresho road into westlands this morning. This road is so bad even ma3's wont touch it when avoiding the jam. Surprisingly a number of Diplomats live next to it including those who supposedly fund infrastructure development.
mmarto
#27 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 12:23:49 PM

TM-AM did Narok-Mulot road and this portion of road has been superb more than 15 years now. The company is owned by an Israel investor
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, January 08, 2014 1:13:34 PM

mmarto wrote:

TM-AM did Narok-Mulot road and this portion of road has been superb more than 15 years now. The company is owned by an Israel investor

Seems they have integrity, an ingredient very scarce in many people.
#29 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 8:37:57 AM

Strabag-Mugoya Sultan Hamud to Mtito Andeismile smile smile

Mbele iko Sawa
Barabara murua kabisa done siyui Nyayo era
iMANI
#30 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 7:15:00 PM

josimar wrote:
MATTAN CONSTRUCTION - The road contractor in Upper Hill beats them all hands down. Our office moved to Upper in Sept 2012 and this guy was on the ground digging trenches and doing excavation works , as at Jan 6th 2014 there is not an inch of tarmarc in place just the trenches. Bure Kabisa!

I agree that the works have taken long but before we go crucifying the contractor, kindly note that most of the delays are occassioned by the govt not keeping it's end of the deal.

Rink here
Life and beer are very similar........chill for best results.

chikonde
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 06, 2014 2:58:23 PM

Siringi wrote:
Strabag-Mugoya Sultan Hamud to Mtito Andeismile smile smile

Mbele iko Sawa
Barabara murua kabisa done siyui Nyayo era

It all depends on the quality of the design and the supervision of the contractor (I was part of the team so I know). The Mtito Andei to Bachuma gate section of the Mombasa road was done at the same time (China Road) and is now a mass of potholes and patches, poor drainage etc. All contractors need to be closely supervised to produce good results in anything.
mkeiy
#32 Posted : Friday, February 07, 2014 8:52:19 AM

Nyoro Construction Company [NCC] doing roads in Shauri/Pumwani/Ziwani roads.

As much as supervision is needed, the contractors should also have a sense of purpose and responsibility.

We should just forget local contractors [except guys like H & Young], they seem to be doing fairly well.
#33 Posted : Saturday, February 08, 2014 2:59:47 PM

Mpenzi wrote:

Sure? A sign on the kabati flyover indicates 1991. Then again 1988 gives it an impressive 25 years without even a crack. This is a record for Kenya!

And who did Limuru-Mai mahiu road?
I think its the oldest standing tarmac in this region.