I remember the first time i walked as a form of exercise.
It was a sunny Sunday morning, not too hot. Just tolerable.
I put on my beat up casual shoes, my old khaki trousers and old short sleeved shirt.
Dumped my phone so i don't call for help from mama, which i had done on a previous failed effort.
No money in case i chicken out and hike a mat back to the house.
Leave my watch, cause watching time move slowly is a torture in itself.
My target after all was distance.
Walk from my house to KCA and BACK.
I bounded off with enthusiasm to the road.
Timed my self, it was quarter past 9.00.
smiled at the watch man and strolled with joy in my heart.
Up a small hill i went.
corner mbili tatu past the petrol station and i was on thika road.
Up to uchumi supermarket i was okay.
The downhill to the river was not bad, enjoyable infact.
wacha nianze kupanda kuelekea allsopps!, by the time i reached the GSU stage i was puffing out a lung and sweating like crazy.
The matatu guys hollered for potential fares and assumed i was one.
shook my head and off i trudged on.
kuinua my legs to step on the pavement and off and on again and off was a torture.
phew! at last i was on a long flat stretch. Wiping my sweat off i willed my self to go on. After all the target (KCA) was within sight.
Off to the right shell petrol station passed by.
Another tortuous on and off stepping of the pavements and here comes KCA.
Relax, slowly turn my head to the right no cars, cross the road.
stepping off and on again of the pavements.
Turn left cars, people , okadas, dodge them and head back to allsopps.
saa hii my shoes are pinching me.
i believe the toenail on the small toe is biting into my 2nd smaller toe.
i find out later my toe had bled into the socks.
The heat from the pavement is killing me.
My feet feel as if the are stepping onto hot baked paving stones.
I grimly walk on, braving the sun and the wind which is now blowing directly into my face.
People are every where especially at the allsopps stage.
I have to be careful i don't collapse and get hit by a car or bump into somebody cause I know i wont be able to move on.
Down the hill i go, this time its excruciating painful cause i have to apply brakes to avoid rolling over.
The toes, my legs are screaming for help urging me to stop and rest.
I know if i do i wont be able to move. I will myself up the hill.
This takes forever and at last i arrive at the the top .
This time my legs are not my own but i am happy i have arrived.
I slowly walk home tired and exhausted.
I have done it i tell myself now its - reach home.
This takes a while i am no longer in hurry. I know i will make it.
Fika home, knock as i lean on the door for support, limp to my favorite armchair, dump my body and proceed to order my son to remove my shoes and bring water.
Tell Mama to bring a glass of yoghurt and njugus to quite the hunger pangs ( i was attempting a diet
)and off i nod snoring to sleep for the next 2hours.
This exercise had taken 2 and half hours for a 4 kilometer walk.
Later as i limped to the bathroom for a shower i noticed the skin on my inner thighs had scrapped off, it was painful
. lesson never wear boxers when walking, hung loose.
Secondly i bought good walking shoes from bata.
flat kabisa called north star
. laugh but they and their equivalent are the best for walking and running.
wachana na hizo zingine ni show off tu except the expensive ones bought by athletes which we are not.
hizo zingine can hurt your feet and cripple your toes and are heavy to lift.
They can cause you to trip or sprain your ankles. Be advised.
Good Luck in your attempts.