wazua Mon, Nov 3, 2025

38 Pages«<1415161718>»
Alfie the dodo
Iganamagana
#301 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:26:31 PM

gadj wrote:
Now back to the cars, next time he does purchase more cars he should try some 4*4, this tiida cant maneuver well on the rough roads of macha.

At least this is a good start. Going by what I saw, very few if them were Tiida.
#302 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:41:39 PM

The cars that Mutua buys seem to be mutumbas. From the subarus to now the Tiidas. I thought govt procurement regulations are very clear that the govt does not buy used cars - since this can be abused by individuals to supply govt with junks. And was tendering done for the supply of these vehicles, was it advertised?
#303 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 1:46:02 PM

The first comments to this thread are hilarious lol! Im wondering if Kularaha actioned his threat smile.
#304 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:10:26 PM

The cars that Mutua buys seem to be mutumbas. From the subarus to now the Tiidas. I thought govt procurement regulations are very clear that the govt does not buy used cars - since this can be abused by individuals to supply govt with junks. And was tendering done for the supply of these vehicles, was it advertised?

Which government...Government of Kenya or Government of Machakos?
#305 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:26:16 PM

Both. What would stop a rogue supplier from buying a salvage vehicle, take it kirinyaga road for repairs and then sell it to the county govt?
#306 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:29:52 PM

Both. What would stop a rogue supplier from buying a salvage vehicle, take it kirinyaga road for repairs and then sell it to the county govt?

Well...That would probably happen in your county, not in Machakos...Unatoka wapi? Hatujui kuibaPray
#307 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:33:14 PM

Well...That would probably happen in your county, not in Machakos...Unatoka wapi? Hatujui kuibaPray

My county is Nairobi and with all the wheeler dealers around (including @mawinder & co.), you can never be sure. But the big question is .... does the law allow govt (national & county) to buy used cars?
Nandwa
#308 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:46:11 PM

Obviously there is always a risk that some wheeler dealer can scam you, but is that a good enough reason to deter you from doing the ideal and most reasonable thing.

I suppose you as an individual do appreciate that 90% of Kenyan population who own cars actually opt for second hands. You might constitute this number yourself.

If it makes sense for you and I, so should it be for Tax payer funded institutions.

Ways ought to be found to mitigate the risk you raise, but certainly not to abandon a good thing out of paranoia

Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#309 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 2:55:34 PM

Fear of kamutiismile
#310 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:03:26 PM

In my honest opinion.. 120 cars are unnecessary for Machakos county..
#311 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:07:12 PM

Target is 200 cars...County yako ni gani...hata hamjanunua baiskeli na unaongea. Bure kabia! Ama nyinyi ndio mmenunua 300 copies of 'The flame...'
#312 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:07:29 PM

Alfie the dodo has quit to run for MAchakos Governor.

Poor Machakos if they vote for him.

#313 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:13:48 PM

@jaggernaut is asking a valid question, why not a few but brand new land cruisers (my little geography tells me this would be ideal)? We should not just be happy with quantity but also quality!!!
#314 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:16:31 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly There was a thread someone had started about people chewing their words. This belongs there.
#315 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:17:25 PM

Target is 200 cars...County yako ni gani...hata hamjanunua baiskeli na unaongea. Bure kabia! Ama nyinyi ndio mmenunua 300 copies of 'The flame...'

Mutua's approach to fighting crime is also wrong. He should deal with the causes not the symptoms. Thus he should create employment to reduce crime not buying 2 patrol cars for every village ....and menacing dogs.
#316 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:19:49 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly There was a thread someone had started about people chewing their words. This belongs there.

I bet @kula raha is currently hiding under a thicket like @Quincy Timberlake!

#317 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:20:02 PM

What scientific reasoning are you basing your opinion on? Population? Geographical size? No of locations/Sub counties? etc...If you bring your figures, we may discuss it from that perspective.
#318 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:21:15 PM

@jaggernaut is asking a valid question, why not a few but brand new land cruisers? We should just be happy with quantity but also quality!!!

Yep, how suitable are those vehicles for the job considering the poor roads in the county? Even in syokimau the roads are in tatters.
#319 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:21:41 PM

Mutua's approach to fighting crime is also wrong. He should deal with the causes not the symptoms. Thus he should create employment to reduce crime not buying 2 patrol cars for every village ....and menacing dogs.

That is where he started. He gave them seeds, tuchuis, tractors etc. Wacha walime sasa.
Wainadi
#320 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 3:31:38 PM

Mbwa na gari za polisi, ni za kushika kaluvu?
Its all good.