wazua Thu, Jun 25, 2026

Nairobi traffic lights
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 10:18:15 PM

....Just arrived home...Traffic in the city was a disaster. What is the purpose of having the traffic lights if they cant work...In addition why waste power on these traffic lights if they are not working? Isn't that misuse of tax payers money...didn't use so much money to install these useless traffic lights...
#2 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 8:15:51 AM

....Just arrived home...Traffic in the city was a disaster. What is the purpose of having the traffic lights if they cant work...In addition why waste power on these traffic lights if they are not working? Isn't that misuse of tax payers money...didn't use so much money to install these useless traffic lights...

The problem with most of these traffic lights is synchronization.There is once I crossed Kenyatta avenue near Bank of India and was forced to wait in the middle of the road for 90 secs coz the lights from BOI was green but on the other side it was red
#3 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 8:26:47 AM

Wooi guys be patient.

The job is yet to be completed so that they can be synchronized.

A traffic cop I spoke to told me their priority every evenning is to clear the grid lock within CBD so they give more time to those leaving CBD along University Way, Kenyatta Avenue, Haile Selassie and Globe.

Hence the reason why we park for so long along Uhuru highway.

I did not understand nor find sense in his explanation but I accepted.

#4 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 8:43:07 AM

The reason we park so long on the highway is because cops give matatus running perpendicular to the highway priority. For example, Kenyatta Ave roundabout. You can sit for 20 minutes while cars flow out of town and out of Valley Road freely. Just do a quick count, 60% are matatus. Then when they do finally open the highway, you fly to the next roundabout since there are no cars there.

Foolishness.
#5 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 9:33:51 AM

Wooi guys be patient.

The job is yet to be completed so that they can be synchronized.

A traffic cop I spoke to told me their priority every evenning is to clear the grid lock within CBD so they give more time to those leaving CBD along University Way, Kenyatta Avenue, Haile Selassie and Globe.

Hence the reason why we park for so long along Uhuru highway.

I did not understand nor find sense in his explanation but I accepted.

It is easier to control cars on the highway than in the numerous routes and lanes in the CBD - so the cops prefer to ease traffic in the central district, because a gridlock will need numerous resources to clear. Its a standard practice especially when resources are limited.
#6 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 9:55:00 AM

A "Green-Wave" sequence on Uhuru Highway sort out 75% of the CBD problem!

Green-Wave means when you enter the controlled region, say starting from Westlands R/About, and travel at the recommended speed, say 60km/h, you should reach every subsequent junction just as the lights are turning green. So you wont have to stop.

Result is that the backlog is held outside the controlled region - in this case, along Waiyaki way. As the Red-to-Green cycle flows at Westlands, cars are released into Uhuru highway in "pulses"

Cars from CBD get their chance to enter Uhuru highway during the "Gaps" in the flow pulses.

This Green Wave actually works BEST when operated MANUALLY.... but who will explain it to our Std-8-drop-out cops?
XSK
#7 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:00:32 AM

mukiha wrote:

Green-Wave means when you enter the controlled region, say starting from Westlands R/About, and travel at the recommended speed, say 60km/h, you should reach every subsequent junction just as the lights are turning green. So you wont have to stop.

Result is that the backlog is held outside the controlled region - in this case, along Waiyaki way. As the Red-to-Green cycle flows at Westlands, cars are released into Uhuru highway in "pulses"

Cars from CBD get their chance to enter Uhuru highway during the "Gaps" in the flow pulses.

This Green Wave actually works BEST when operated MANUALLY.... but who will explain it to our Std-8-drop-out cops?

@Mukiha

This sound good. Where has it been used? Lakini wachana na drop outs wetu, they are a reflection of us! smile
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
kollabo
#8 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:04:32 AM

mukiha wrote:

Hmmm sounds good.
#9 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:10:04 AM

XSK wrote:
mukiha wrote:

@Mukiha

This sound good. Where has it been used? Lakini wachana na drop outs wetu, they are a reflection of us! smile

Who is responsible for controlling the traffic lights? Is it the County Government of Nairobi or Traffic police?
#10 Posted : Friday, January 31, 2014 10:12:21 AM

Look at our choices: Kidero's donkeys or Kimaiyo's monkeys.

Poor Nairobians.