SGR Mombasa-Nairobi to cost KES.4,500 per seat!!!!!!!!!!11
Personally , I would rather add Kshs 2,000 to Kshs 4,500 and book Fly 540 and travel for 45 mins than take the train.
otienosmall wrote:I don’t see anything outrageous with that price. If you’ve been out of Kenyan borders says a place like Japan, you would notice that taking a Shikansen for a similar distance (NRB-MBS) will cost you an equivalent of about Ksh 7, 000 one way. Taking a flight will cost you a similar amount, and many people still prefer the train due to its reliability and numerous other positive attributes over other means. So got to pay slightly more for quality and convenience! You dare compare Shinkansen with SGL. ?? Wacha matusi work to prosper
Impunity wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:4,500 kwani they will provide fish as an extra? This project if allowed to proceed like this will turn out to be one of the most whitest elephants in Africa. This thing as designed will not be profitable. Kwani ulikuwa unasoma na goggles? I thought that cost was rejected back in 2011? It was not rejected, it was shelved. "A ‘free’ feasibility study by China Roads and Bridges Corporation (CRBC) on the Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) proposed a Sh4,500 fare for passengers between Nairobi and Mombasa....However, the proposal in 2011 was rejected by Kenya Railways Corporation with Nduva Muli, then the firm’s managing director terming the fare “unattainable”. KR is yet to recommend a fare price that can attract passengers on the commuter trains and still enable the company to make a profit." Hiyo link wewe ndio umeweka lakini bado unasoma mambo yako!
Tokyo wrote:otienosmall wrote:I don’t see anything outrageous with that price. If you’ve been out of Kenyan borders says a place like Japan, you would notice that taking a Shikansen for a similar distance (NRB-MBS) will cost you an equivalent of about Ksh 7, 000 one way. Taking a flight will cost you a similar amount, and many people still prefer the train due to its reliability and numerous other positive attributes over other means. So got to pay slightly more for quality and convenience! You dare compare Shinkansen with SGL. ?? Wacha matusi @ Tokyo, what is the cost of Shinkansen Tokyo - osaka line per km?
Quote:@ Tokyo, what is the cost of Shinkansen Tokyo - osaka line per km? It costs JYen 50,000, and takes less than 2hrs, I have been down that route . Do not try and compare SGR with Shinkansen ( bullet train) my friend .
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
TAZ wrote:Impunity wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:Impunity wrote:Swenani wrote:4,500 kwani they will provide fish as an extra? This project if allowed to proceed like this will turn out to be one of the most whitest elephants in Africa. This thing as designed will not be profitable. Kwani ulikuwa unasoma na goggles? I thought that cost was rejected back in 2011? It was not rejected, it was shelved. "A ‘free’ feasibility study by China Roads and Bridges Corporation (CRBC) on the Standard Gauge Railway (SGR) proposed a Sh4,500 fare for passengers between Nairobi and Mombasa....However, the proposal in 2011 was rejected by Kenya Railways Corporation with Nduva Muli, then the firm’s managing director terming the fare “unattainable”. KR is yet to recommend a fare price that can attract passengers on the commuter trains and still enable the company to make a profit." Hiyo link wewe ndio umeweka lakini bado unasoma mambo yako! Blame my goggles!!! But what price do you as a Jubree insider think should be charged to make the whole project feasible? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
josimar wrote:Quote:@ Tokyo, what is the cost of Shinkansen Tokyo - osaka line per km? It costs JYen 50,000, and takes less than 2hrs, I have been down that route . Do not try and compare SGR with Shinkansen ( bullet train) my friend . The guy is asking about the cost of construction and not fare, I think so? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
josimar wrote:Personally , I would rather add Kshs 2,000 to Kshs 4,500 and book Fly 540 and travel for 45 mins than take the train. The key question is how fast will this train be? Remember you do not travel for 45 Mins to Msa considering 1Hr for checks at the gate especially if you carry bread, Report to the airport 1Hr before departure 45Min flying time and 1hr waiting for your check-in bags hence a total of 3Hrs 45Min The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
ZZE123 wrote:josimar wrote:Personally , I would rather add Kshs 2,000 to Kshs 4,500 and book Fly 540 and travel for 45 mins than take the train. The key question is how fast will this train be? Remember you do not travel for 45 Mins to Msa considering 1Hr for checks at the gate especially if you carry bread, Report to the airport 1Hr before departure 45Min flying time and 1hr waiting for your check-in bags hence a total of 3Hrs 45Min 3 hrs 45 mins+30 minutes(Msa rd or jogoo rd traffic)+15 (Minutes from Moi airport to your place)=4hrs 30 mins If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Wanjikus will always be there.How to elevate a Wanjiku to a Munroe its one's effort.That price for middle class in 2017 while exporting oil is not farfetched
SGR Mombasa-Nairobi to cost KES.4,500 per seat!!!!!!!!!!11