wazua Mon, Jun 29, 2026

Kenya Army Soldiers Were Used to Rig 2013 Elections
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 11:00:12 AM

I am a Kenya Army soldier deployed in K****** barracks. On 10th september 2013, we were told that we needed to renew our armed forces job ID cards so that the name on the ID was to change to Defence Forces as per the constitutional change in the name. This was to take place immediately after the inaugration of the new constitution.
On 12th Sept the exercise began by BVR machines being brought to the barracks and our finger prints taken plus passport photos. In other instances where we were issued with the previous ID cards, we never had all our fingers taken for a simple job ID card. Taking all the 10 fingers this time was weird.
We never realised that this was an electoral process where we were being registered as voters without our knowledge. We were being put in a register. A week to the elections, all leave were cancelled and we were all ordered to be at work. Most soldiers from the Luhyia, Luo, Kamba and Kisii communities were put in formations ready to quell violence in Nyanza and Western province. This exercise involved over 60,000 soldiers.
During voter registrations, only IDs of people from Rift Valley and Central province were brought to the barracks for them to go register as voters. IDs for those from other parts of the country were missing. No clear explanation was forthcoming when we (soldiers) raised the issue with the commanders.
Before the March elections, we formed platoons “quick reaction force” which targeted mostly hotspots in Nyanza and Western provinces. Also during the election Luos and other tribes were fixed on duty while Kikuyus and Kalenjins went to vote. Previously the night before ballot boxes were brought in the barracks and were paid Ksh 1000 to vote for Uhuru.We (soldiers from other communities) were told to keep mum as the disciplinary action would be taken against anyone who talked.

unakumbuka hii hadithi?
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 11:04:22 AM

Old story, all I know is that my brother did not vote!!!!
Ngong
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 11:16:59 AM

Why?
I thought it's a basic right!Sad
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 11:58:53 AM

September 2013? Kwani they were registered as voters after the elections? Yawa. Some of these stories you should take with a pinch of salt.
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 12:18:55 PM

Ngong wrote:

Why?

from what i was told they usually have no id or passports as these are withheld and they are issued with the military id. so for them to register they had to get back their ids or passports which most did not bother with as i understand its not a simple process.
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 12:58:18 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Ngong wrote:

Why?

from what i was told they usually have no id or passports as these are withheld and they are issued with the military id. so for them to register they had to get back their ids or passports which most did not bother with as i understand its not a simple process.

My bro wanted but were told they were not going to vote, I'm yet to know if some of them were allowed, I will call him nione vile anasema!!!!
marko
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 30, 2014 1:28:47 PM

I am a Kenya Army soldier deployed in K****** barracks. On 10th september 2013, we were told that we needed to renew our armed forces job ID cards so that the name on the ID was to change to Defence Forces as per the constitutional change in the name. This was to take place immediately after the inaugration of the new constitution.
On 12th Sept the exercise began by BVR machines being brought to the barracks and our finger prints taken plus passport photos. In other instances where we were issued with the previous ID cards, we never had all our fingers taken for a simple job ID card. Taking all the 10 fingers this time was weird.
We never realised that this was an electoral process where we were being registered as voters without our knowledge. We were being put in a register. A week to the elections, all leave were cancelled and we were all ordered to be at work. Most soldiers from the Luhyia, Luo, Kamba and Kisii communities were put in formations ready to quell violence in Nyanza and Western province. This exercise involved over 60,000 soldiers.
During voter registrations, only IDs of people from Rift Valley and Central province were brought to the barracks for them to go register as voters. IDs for those from other parts of the country were missing. No clear explanation was forthcoming when we (soldiers) raised the issue with the commanders.
Before the March elections, we formed platoons “quick reaction force” which targeted mostly hotspots in Nyanza and Western provinces. Also during the election Luos and other tribes were fixed on duty while Kikuyus and Kalenjins went to vote. Previously the night before ballot boxes were brought in the barracks and were paid Ksh 1000 to vote for Uhuru.We (soldiers from other communities) were told to keep mum as the disciplinary action would be taken against anyone who talked.

unakumbuka hii hadithi?

Porojo!!!!!
WHO DARES WINS