wazua Mon, Jun 29, 2026

12 Pages«<9101112>
Abolish County Governments!!!!
Alba
#101 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 4:16:41 PM

In summary you want to be a dictator. Your ideas may be good but they lack foundation. You need to know how to make them work in the system that we have.

To take your example above you can still accomplish this by petitioning either a 2 thirds majority in parliament to amend the constitution to abolish the senate or petition a million people to demand a referendum to make another constitution to eliminate the senate. Once you have accomplished this you will need to petition the Commission of Revenue allocation to have more revenue allocated to security and specifically the police. Once this has been accomplished I am sure the Police service Commission will have to be involved in the decision to hire more police officers.

I may have got myself mixed up in who needs to be consulted for what above but my point is, to fire a senator and hire a police man to save a woman from being mugged at Kencom is a long convoluted process that can take many years and millions or billions of shillings.

Talk about twisted logic. Listen to yourself for a second. I am posting my opinions on Wazua. This is a message board where people post their views. How the heck does that amount to being a dictator ?

And who told you that I want to accomplish any of this ? Heck I have also said that I want Kenya's GDP to grow as fast as Ethiopia which is accelerating. Are you now going to post a thesis on what I would have to do to make Kenya's GDP to grow at 7%.

I guess next Kusadikika will go the sports forum. There are people their who are dissatisfied with Kenya rugby sevens and have proposed improvements. Kusadikika will accuse them of wanting to take over and write a thesis telling those asking for Kenya rugby sevens to improve what they would have to do to make Kenya reach the semi-finals. Maybe he will tell them they will literally have to chip in their own salaries to pay the players more money.

Seriously some people are taking themselves and opinions on Wazua too seriously. Please. Wazua is only about opinions. No one here wants to take over anything.
#102 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 4:24:39 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
jmbada wrote:
Much as I have come to dislike these devolved units, I hereby stand in defence of Kilifi county govt for purchasing the 140m mansion.

1. I have seen some counties proposing spending close to 400m esp nyanza n wesdan.

2. It's a one off buyout. It would have been bought either way, sooner or later, n the sooner the better.

In defence?
1. Person A wasted less cash than person B, so Person A's wasted money is okay???
2. Person B or their successor would have wasted money anyway so they might as well blow the cash right now, when it's most desperately needed!

Who says this is a one-off?
a) The facilities are not necessary. Governor does not need to entertain anyone and hold meetings in their house, that's what offices and conference facilities are for!
b) Every successor will spend North of KES50MM on renovations / fumigation / updating equipment, so again not a one-off
c) Also likely that a successor would say that the property is unnecessary and then auction it off at a throw-away price!

It's not wastage~maybe lack of priority. Muranga Governer operates from Nairobi daily. I wouldn't mind if they built one at a fair cost. I stand by my post.

I thought this guy lives in Gatanga (Maki) and commutes to Nairobi to his other job? IPS. Yaani he is not a full time Gavana.

Which other "job"?
Alba
#103 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 4:29:06 PM

The USA was not rich when they wrote their constitution. How about we plan to grow the counties wallets. We have hundreds of policemen idling in offices

The USA was not as rich as they are now but relatively speaking they had far more resources than most countries or Kingdoms at the time.

Also, just because the US has senators does not mean we have to follow them blindly. As I have said before, in the US, senators actually produce results and when they do not, they are voted out. Kenyan senators on the other hand are mostly idlers. We need to come up with a system that works for Kenya.

The US has also made several mistakes over the years. Instead of repeating those same mistakes we should study those mistakes and not repeat them in Kenya. As I said in another thread, Experience teaches fools. Clever people learn from others mistakes and avoid making the same mistakes.

Why does the Kenyan tax payer have to financially support a bunch of idlers and their staff ?

There is so much to do in Kenya: There are only two cancer treatment centers in Kenya, hospitals are horrible, Nairobi is congested, crime is through the roof, there's not enough housing, Turkana people are starving, arid areas need irrigation, most Kenyans dont have piped water, .....................

All I am saying is that a broke country like Kenya should not be in the business of just throwing money away.

According to Standard, the budget deficit, estimated to be Sh356 billion. The gava is overwhelmed by its wage bill and also overwhelmed by corruption.

And its not just salaries. Government officials abuse their privileges. There are people doing their private business using government cars. Essentially the gava pays for their petrol and such. And the more government officials you have, the more the meagre government coffers will be looted. You now have an additional 47 people plus their staff who can also participate in looting the treasury mercilessly.
#104 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 4:54:57 PM

Alba wrote:

In summary you want to be a dictator. Your ideas may be good but they lack foundation. You need to know how to make them work in the system that we have.

To take your example above you can still accomplish this by petitioning either a 2 thirds majority in parliament to amend the constitution to abolish the senate or petition a million people to demand a referendum to make another constitution to eliminate the senate. Once you have accomplished this you will need to petition the Commission of Revenue allocation to have more revenue allocated to security and specifically the police. Once this has been accomplished I am sure the Police service Commission will have to be involved in the decision to hire more police officers.

I may have got myself mixed up in who needs to be consulted for what above but my point is, to fire a senator and hire a police man to save a woman from being mugged at Kencom is a long convoluted process that can take many years and millions or billions of shillings.

Talk about twisted logic. Listen to yourself for a second. I am posting my opinions on Wazua. This is a message board where people post their views. How the heck does that amount to being a dictator ?

And who told you that I want to accomplish any of this ? Heck I have also said that I want Kenya's GDP to grow as fast as Ethiopia which is accelerating. Are you now going to post a thesis on what I would have to do to make Kenya's GDP to grow at 7%.

I guess next Kusadikika will go the sports forum. There are people their who are dissatisfied with Kenya rugby sevens and have proposed improvements. Kusadikika will accuse them of wanting to take over and write a thesis telling those asking for Kenya rugby sevens to improve what they would have to do to make Kenya reach the semi-finals. Maybe he will tell them they will literally have to chip in their own salaries to pay the players more money.

Seriously some people are taking themselves and opinions on Wazua too seriously. Please. Wazua is only about opinions. No one here wants to take over anything.

Samahani ndugu, sikuwa na ubaya. Mine too was just an opinion showing that making changes is a long and complicated process. I should have chosen my words more carefully. Kama nimekosa naomba msamaha.
Iganamagana
#105 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 5:38:26 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
jmbada wrote:
Much as I have come to dislike these devolved units, I hereby stand in defence of Kilifi county govt for purchasing the 140m mansion.

1. I have seen some counties proposing spending close to 400m esp nyanza n wesdan.

2. It's a one off buyout. It would have been bought either way, sooner or later, n the sooner the better.

In defence?
1. Person A wasted less cash than person B, so Person A's wasted money is okay???
2. Person B or their successor would have wasted money anyway so they might as well blow the cash right now, when it's most desperately needed!

a) The facilities are not necessary. Governor does not need to entertain anyone and hold meetings in their house, that's what offices and conference facilities are for!
b) Every successor will spend North of KES50MM on renovations / fumigation / updating equipment, so again not a one-off
c) Also likely that a successor would say that the property is unnecessary and then auction it off at a throw-away price!
lo

It's not wastage~maybe lack of priority. Muranga Governer operates from Nairobi daily. I wouldn't mind if they built one at a fair cost. I stand by my post.

I thought this guy lives in Gatanga (Maki) and commutes to Nairobi to his other job? IPS. Yaani he is not a full time Gavana.

Which other "job"?

Is he not one of the big Kahunas at the Aga Khan affiliated IPS.
#106 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 6:04:53 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
jmbada wrote:

In defence?

lo

Which other "job"?

Is he not one of the big Kahunas at the Aga Khan affiliated IPS.

Didn't know. Part time ngafana, is this even legal?
#107 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:08:41 AM

[quote]BUSIA Governor Sospeter Ojaamong has said he may introduce a bill to punish gossipers as they have become a nuisance.

Speaking during the launch of Busia Business Advisory Centre on Thursday, sponsored by Palweco, Ojaamong warned those practising the vice that their days are numbered.

“Some people have become experts in gossips. They walk along the streets peddling lies and spreading propaganda from morning to evening."

"Such 'big mouth talkers' use their mobile phones to demean the county commissioner and myself for owning a big vehicle instead of minding their own businesses,” Ojaamong said. He said the fines will act as a deterrent measure to enable gossips venture into productive activities.

The Governor also announced that his government had set aside Sh50million for bursary for students in educational institutions who have joined national schools and those from less privileged families.

However, Ojaamong said the funds will be disbursed to the recipients subject to the passing of the Bursary Family Bill to be tabled in the County Assembly next week.

He had good news when he announced that his government will avail free seeds and fertilizer to identified farmers to caution the County against hunger which is threatening the country.

Ojaamong said a permanent solution on constant power outages in the County was being addressed, adding that plans are in the offing to light up all border streets.

Palweco Programme Director Sakwa Mwangala said the centre will provide people with an opportunity to meet and discuss with those who can help them turn their business ideas into reality.

Busia County Commissioner Josephine Onunga urged residents to use ‘Nyumba Kumi’ concept positively and not to use it to look at negative factors but to secure the region.

The DCC said Malaba and Busia were strategically located along the Northern Corridor , thus the need to ensure it is effectively utilized to spur growth and development.
- See more at: http://the-star.co.ke/ne...or#sthash.P7IyNTXs.dpuf[/quote]
#108 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 10:46:40 AM

[quote=Swenani]
BUSIA Governor Sospeter Ojaamong has said he may introduce a bill to punish gossipers as they have become a nuisance.

Speaking during the launch of Busia Business Advisory Centre on Thursday, sponsored by Palweco, Ojaamong warned those practising the vice that their days are numbered.

Some people have become experts in gossips. They walk along the streets peddling lies and spreading propaganda from morning to evening."

"Such 'big mouth talkers' use their mobile phones to demean the county commissioner and myself for owning a big vehicle instead of minding their own businesses,” Ojaamong said. He said the fines will act as a deterrent measure to enable gossips venture into productive activities.

The Governor also announced that his government had set aside Sh50million for bursary for students in educational institutions who have joined national schools and those from less privileged families.

However, Ojaamong said the funds will be disbursed to the recipients.......to spur growth and development.

#109 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 11:13:30 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
[quote=Swenani]
BUSIA Governor Sospeter Ojaamong has said he may introduce a bill to punish gossipers as they have become a nuisance.

Some people have become experts in gossips. They walk along the streets peddling lies and spreading propaganda from morning to evening."

However, Ojaamong said the funds will be disbursed to the recipients.......to spur growth and development.

How? Devolution has lost its course!
accelriskconsult
#110 Posted : Monday, February 03, 2014 4:00:36 PM

Siringi wrote:
Jaramogi Oginga Odinga the doyen of opposition politics once quipped:

" Moi ni kama giraffe, anaona mbeeeeleee..."

now see Moi told Kenyans hii katiba ni ghasia, italete ukabila, did you listenSad

Just because Agwambo read it and said, you vote YES halafu tutabadilisha hiyo kidogo mbaya people voted without thinking.

what annoys most is the pretense of very learned and prominent , NGO 'expert' activists that promoted this katiba where are they now when 'Mwananichi' mwenye nichi ' is feeling the heatShame on you

I listened to Mo1 and voted NO lakini Rayila stole the referendum votes Sad smile

I asked the question here

http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=25313&p=3

The constitution we have is near perfect. Even the Bible does get misused by preachers once in a while.

12 Pages«<9101112>