wazua Sat, Dec 6, 2025

KTN IRRESPONSIBLE MEDIA COVERAGE
#21 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 12:06:00 PM

god the level of morality people profess here! you might think that some of the posters are the epitome of morality. and on issues of morality,a lot depend on the societal view/position. we now leave in a global village so to say. what may make the moral police in kenya forming in the mouth may be tolerated in other societies (which our newly weds wisely moved to).

two adults. consenting. not harming anybody. let them be. why impose your morality on them?
akowally
#22 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 12:33:00 PM

@ecstasy

KTN must have gotten consent from the parents to air the news ....

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#23 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 1:16:00 PM

Get real. Who would unless they were duped? I do not think so simply because the media station staff were reportedly thrown out of the compound.
akowally
#24 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 1:34:00 PM

.... according to the report ... 'they were thrown out then I had to speak to them in Kikuyu,eventually they agreed...

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
Spend.thrift
#25 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 1:45:00 PM

I have to say someting.

It is that this argument about KTN's irresponsibility is neither here nor in Muranga.

What I also think is that the station should have taken on a more socially beneficial (educative) perspective on the issue. e.g engage seasoned shrinks (not that regular quack,who is a common feature on TV nowadays) to inform the public on the factors that predispose boys and girls to this VICE called homosexuality and how to help nurture boys and girls into men and women respectively.

all media houses in Kenya are inherently/potentially irresponsible and KTN perhaps only got the first chance to do what they did...I still recall that fake report on some KCSE candidates preparing for exams in Samburu......very insulting to intelligent Kenyans

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
Buster
#26 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 1:57:00 PM

@ McReggae

You are spot on. People here are simply hypocrites. Why watch a Station that irks you? The only reason that most people here dont like KTN is because they usually speak the truth on mattars they would rather sweep under the carpet especially when it comes to PNU.

I watched that piece yesterday and the Parents did know what their Son was up to,Heck,they are even living in a stone house that the first Husband (The Mzungu) built them.

KTN is and always will be the station to watch. Just see how Nation always play catch up to them. As for K24... Please,these guys are not even off the lock yet. Lets hope L. Otieno will show them the wat.
Pastor M
#27 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 2:20:00 PM

@ buster

I wish you could argue like someone who has got parents.....or like a parent....or maybe someone who has the potential to be a parent......from that point of view you will understand the pain of a parent....a normal parent can not trade (house) money with his child,no single normal parent can bask in the shame of his child.because the pain of a child its the pain of a parent.I love KTN cause they expose the ills in our country.....but they should tame how they do it....they should always ask the question.How will this news assist its viewers...yesterday news about chege's parent was very very cheap news.........KTN give us real news...or else

We walk by faith,not by sight. Bible,2 Corinthians v. 7.
Spend.thrift
#28 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 2:31:00 PM

@ Pastor M,although this is besides the topic,if you would like to find out that parents can knowingly trade their children (children's dignity for that matter) for money,or is it livelihood,I urge you to visit just one place called Msambweni in South coast.....there are many more places all over Kenya Parents knowingly enjoy the proceeds of their girl's and boys' sexual exploits with tourists. And here homosexuality or ushoga is common talk.

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
Buster
#29 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 2:32:00 PM

Pastor M

I am a Parent of 4. 3 Boys and a Girl. And what I can tell you is that,no matter how well I believe that I will bring up my children... They still have a mind of their own. The world has never and will never be a fair place. If one of my own were to become Gay and everybody highlights it as the son of Buster... then too bad.

By the way I have been on the recieving end by the media because of a thieving Bro,but I did not blame them. They were just doing their job.

And they did show a stone house yesterday in the wazees compound of which they had confirmed that it was built for them by their first Son In Law. (The Mzungu Man). So the Parents are not as innocent as some people on this forum would have us believe.
#30 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 3:06:00 PM

No need to yell about something you saw on TV blah blah......

Simply get the remote and shield it permanently from accessing the KTN channel. There are so many channels nowdays and the days of 'donot adjust your TV set' are long gone. In the community where I am,the hotels and other social places only watch one channel; Citizen.

Work like you will die tomorrow,plan like you will never die
makeover
#31 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 3:42:00 PM

This topic reminds me of a lady who died of AIDS several years ago in my village. Her old mother was told she died of undiagonised illness while the whole village new the truth. Nobody has ever told her the truth. The old woman is very much at piece. I wonder whether this would have been the case if she had been told the truth.... Remember also the story of Mbugua's mother,the guy who married Wambui Otieno.

expose yourself to your deepest fear,after that fear has no power
#32 Posted : Thursday, October 22, 2009 3:48:00 PM

LOL... so wait,the parents lived in a nice house (for that area) that was built by the jamaa's first husband? Did the parents meet the mzungu?
*** And so what? They do NOT stop loving their son because he is THEIR son. Leave the parents alone. I am sure they love their son especially the Mother.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Josey
#33 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 1:55:00 AM

Personally i do not know what the hulabaloo is all about KTN and this dude's parents.
They are just doing their job! bringing news to your living room,that's why you tune to it.

These was a real story told as it is.
That they went and found the real parents of the dude that was excellent jounalism- indepth analysis of news.
KUDOS KTN.

Better put your money where your mouth is...
#34 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 6:59:00 AM

KTN is one of the best media houses in Africa.The stories they feature are in most cases daring and relevant to the common mwananchi.

Who wont want to know the parents of gay couples feelings on the issue? I think such expose' help people understand certain issues much better.

KTN reporters have won numerous awards for their reportage.Thats the reason their news anyway otherwise you wont be here complaining.

you can achive all things through Him(Jesus Christ)
Kamaa
#35 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 8:08:00 AM

brothers and sisters lets get impartial with this issue for once..

in as far as i am concerned KTN just conveyed news in their raw form & that is part of journalism! there are people who cheered and other agonized and FYI that is expected in any news...

if you got angry then take it as a lesson not to become a plug for your parents will one day receive the shocking news..

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
Djinn
#36 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 8:20:00 AM

@Selah...how was the intergalactic flight from Tatooine?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
mkristo
#37 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 8:42:00 AM

Just stop watching KTN and go to other stations; Aljazera,K24,Classic TV,KBC...Ama vipi?

Honestly I hate KTN.

each day is a gift from God; I dont know if I will be here tomorrow; should I be,I'll make the most of it for God's glory; should I be not,pick up and keep the legacy
#38 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 11:58:00 AM

@djin..

aah?

u must have confused me with someone else.

you can achive all things through Him(Jesus Christ)
#39 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 12:13:00 PM

I think it was inhuman to expose the parents on National TV as they received the News. It's the son who's gay,for crying out loud and not the parents! I think it's very idiotic of the media to drag the whole family into the issue. Being a parent is hard enough...and being dragged into your kids issues while you're trying to enjoy your sunset years is traumatic!

Why were they soo quick to follow up this story,make it headlines for a week and even traumatize the old folks? Why dont they do the same to our very own murderers,child molesters,rapists,sodomizers,serial killers..etc who live right under our noses and we so well know them? Why are they selective on who to name and shame? If they're as brave as they pretend to be,I dare them to bring Ngengi's(the groom) family on TV too..akina Chomdeley,Maina Njengas family..alafu tutajua ni mashujaa,now that they're very keen to name and shame. What happened to being 'human'?

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Djinn
#40 Posted : Friday, October 23, 2009 12:22:00 PM

@Selah - I wish Obi Wan Kenobi was near - anyway (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tatooine)...all I'm asking is,which planet did you come from to so boldly speak so in favour of KTN/STandard?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less