ku on rampage,fires&lootings
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/4/2008 Posts: 1,289 Location: Nairobi
I wonder what the VC was meant to do. Letting the police to the halls was as a last resort. When people burn their dorms and classes is a sign that the madness has gone too far. I remember Nyayo dorms being built. Where next would they have burned?
I saw those hooligans running out of the campus laughing as if nothing happened with our dear policemen scaring them. Bure kabisa. Lost generation. lost future. Lost country. Lets get back to basics and find out what went long where.
Fundamentals + Sentiments = Position
These are not kids like some of you would want us to believe....the police are not expected to treat the university students the same way the would treat High school kids.
life is too short to blend in
all should know that no one is supporting hooliganism in the KU thing. all should also understand that hard talk,has never solved anything. we should not pretend that there is no underlying causes/problems in the whole saga. Even in your own house.....have anyone ever asked oneself why people smoke bang,use drugs when we all know its wrong. Stop pretending,....unless we are discussing with people direct from class eight with no secondary or tertially institutions. the truth shall set you free..... "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
@nanfor
You seem to suggest other people here have shallow arguments? What is wrong with dressing decently? Why do organisations have dress codes? Some so stiff that ladies can not work without their jackets on..... Until recently,bankers wore uniforms - literally.... Airlines still do. these students are not even being asked to wear UNIFORMS just (as leona said) to wear CLOTHES..... Is that so hard to understand? You dont have to be christian,muslim,hindu or at all religious for your to be decent........do you? How deep is the argument about wearing indecently,advocating for violence directed to innocent motorists or even other students,to justifying burning down of the same learning resources that the student are going to need for their education which their parents are paying through the nose for? and which has taken the institution so long to build? Are these the future leaders we are hoping for? do they understand how many students are going to graduate these few months while they are at home and who will be fighting for the few jobs in the market? someone said that the university students behave as if the university is a destination and he was very right..... they arent there for ever. even if they are not happy with the management,they should see it as a transit point and focus on their goals... ati you burn a whole building and IT Centre coz of 1000 bob!! And we are expected to understand how 'not' shallow their grievances are?????
No one is saying students have to be mistreated,but was that the only channel they had address their grievances?
Some deals are like glass. Sometimes it's better to leave them broken than try to hurt yourself putting it back together.
suspending several students is a way of making sure that the administration has a security threat in people waiting to vend their revenge. http://gramware.blogspot.com
Well said that we should learn from the experienced. I went to a public University and this I know:
A university student is a guest at the university for a very short time. One should make maximum use of this time in productive ways such as building friends and connections (these are invaluable once you graduate),testing your limits within legal bounds (dress as you wish,drink till 6.30 a.m.,date the impossibles,espouse radical views including support for lost political and social causes,change religion,) but by all means study for the course you enrolled. Your potential is limitless. The world out here is harsher than any VC. The bosses,the landlords,the traffic cop- all exercising some form of authority over you. There is no solution to be found in tackling problems 'out here' with violence. And as someone said,everything you do has consequences. It is strange that one hardly remembers any serious grudge with the university administration as you do with family,friends over the years. Those student leaders are basically stupid loud mouths and agents of political causes and forces that have little to do with being a university student. Good leadership at the university is rare and is to be found in other areas such as religious bodies,profession-oriented groups (e.g. AISEC,engineering student bodies etc) and not the umbrella leaders. These umbrella leaders will be your MPs who at the university were merely practising how to incite,charge and basically hoodwink less learned people,who must be easier. Approach your being a student as an opportunity rather than with a sense of entitlement. Those facilities have taken generations to put up. It might be the only place you get facilities at such subsidized costs. 'Out here' one earns and pays for everything they got. Whether you are taking a walk from 'modern green night club' or the girls hostels,or from any gathering,avoid the police- they are decent without uniform and are our brothers and sisters but when at work,pen and paper is not their tool of trade,their brains is not the most active part of their body and they have a particular allergy for university students that sends them into convulsions of violence. While at it,ji-enjoy. Man,university should be fun.
Sometimes I wonder if it is I with a problem. What world do majority of bloggers here live in. I have read 65 comments here and save for Nanfor and Burning spear. The rest are arrogant and disconnected from reality. The worst is those who are trying to justify dress codes,or dressing decently. How do you define decent. Most are condemning the students for burning and looting and completely ignoring the role played by the University Management. I was in a kenyan public University (Egerton) and I was never in the frontline of any strikes or demo's but I mostly supported them. What I remember is that before this strikes happened,the student leaders would hold a kamukunji and attempt to talk to the management over their issues. The strike/demo only went ahead if the two sides were unable to agree. I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
That the universities are supposed to produce intellectuals to drive our vision of ever becoming a developed country. The same shallow minds who will see nothing wrong with burning dormitiries they sleep in and the library in the cumpus . Was this meant to punish the VC. Imagine you had a company and KU is you main source of work force. would you not fear that one day they will burn the company or its toilets in the pretext of fighting for their rights. WE ARE PRODUCING LEARNED FOOLS
muthuri mwanake
And please all. The burning of dormitories,the looting and stoning of cars has nothing to do with individuals. Its called 'GROUP DYNAMICS' surely you must know this. The easiest experiment to prove this is in cows. A single cow will never fall into a hole,but when they are spooked and they start a stampede,then they all follow the first cow into the same hole. I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
the university has been functioning well without a dress code,same with other universities world wide. so why try to force one. ku is not a work place,where you apply for a job,and therefore you agree to the dress code http://gramware.blogspot.com
@ Obi,like your friends nanfor and burning spear you miss the point. Nobody is saying that the students may not have had valid grievances. What you need to learn,not just you but apparently a high percentage of Kenyans is the use of violence is not a solution to our problems. Yesterday,my landlord increased the rent by 1000. According to you i would be justified in burning down the whole apartment building. I didn't do that. Why? I'll end up in prison. Lesson? Grow up and realize that every action has its consequences no matter how aggrieved you feel. Also,there are channels for airing ones grievances that exist and are more civilized. Try those
R
@ Kasheshi,you simply don't get it. You choose to condemn the students for burning the dorm = effect I choose to condemn the university management for negligence = cause Btn the 2 of us who is addressing facts and who is witch hunting. I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
all you guys who recommend stern actions to deal with strikes and call the students who passed their way to campus fools,the university admin already beat you to such a ruling after The first strike. The result was a very violent second strike which looters and arsons happily joined in. So we can implement your recommendations,and keep them safely to implement them after the next strike. As you drive near the campus,watch out for the next strike too. Repeat this process until the campus is no more,where all the students have been suspended,shot or have been arrested. http://gramware.blogspot.com
I've heard you loud and clear now answer this question without beating about the bush. Once you leave campus and join the real world and are confronted with real life problems,are these the same methods you'll use to address your grievances?
R
@kasheshi and followers, frankly,what courses did you take in universities(not intended to rub you the wrong way) Didnt you do such units of sociology and similar units. Did you understand the behavioural living approach of human beings and to some extent animals(man included). Read Dr Ken Ouko from THE and he will be telling you how people act the way they act. Am sorry but most of you are burrying their heads in the sand or like the provabial ostrich,chicken..... THE PROBLEM NOW IS TO CORRECT THE UNDERLYING CAUSES BEFORE YOU TALK OF THE DAMAGE. I can bet that suspending students or killing or expelling the students is not the solution if we do not look back and rectify where the admin went wrong. "You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 971 Location: Home
Haven't bothered to read all the threads but one thing for sure,if you attended a public university (moreso as a regular student) you'll identify with the Comrades at KU. Whats with the dresscode?? If you need one go to Baraton,Daystar etc or any religious based universities that bears semblance to High school. COMRADE POWER!!!! Ra! Ra!
@ Kasheshi What do you mean in the real world. But to answer your question,at University,I was young and impressionable,I made choices based on my thinking then. I did make mistakes but non that I regret. The only change are expectations in life,I have more responsibilities,I am more patient and understanding and definitely take much less risk. But the bottomline is the same person then is still the same person now. The University students do not have the benefit of hindsight and experience that the management does. So management must bear more responsibility and act like managers and not students. Obama himself has admitted to doing weed as a university student,yet he has turned out okay. I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
A few years ago,if a woman wore pants she was indecently dressed and was going to get a public beating. This decency thing is as holier than thou argument as you will ever get. It is used by rapists who say that the woman was provoking them. It does not pass muster. If you want to control how people dress,I suggest you talk to your own children and not mine.
The Vice Chancellor of Kenyatta University is not the fashion police. If she is then she should join mungiki and al queda. I am sure they will find proper use for her.
Do not pretend that the students woke up one morning and decided to go burn buildings with nothing provoking them.
The reason could have been stupid or legitimate. It depends on your point of view. If you are the admin it is stupid. If you are a student,it was legitimate.
The question you should be asking is what was the admin doing to quell something which anyone knew was going to blow up? She was issuing more rules. Guys,these are not sheep you are dealing with. If she does not know the basics of human behavior then she should not be there. She reminds me of someone else who I will not mention on this thread.
Someone's child is dead today after your vaunted police decided to shoot all those who do not dress decently,or those against the VC. I will not be shocked to learn that the said student was nowhere near the hooligans that started all this. All that the VC apologists are talking about is a building and computers. I guess now the dead student equals the buildings as per these arguments.
If Mbithi could stand up during Moi's era and stop students from rioting,kweli what is this woman? She is a failure and you can abuse me as much as you wish but she is. She has a direct hand in everything that has happened in that campus the past few days.
To make things worse,she is a liar. I for one do not pretend to be so saved that I cannot see a liar when I see one. She is not fit to lead that campus and no amount of making the students the only devils in all this will change that. She lied to the parents of that student that their son was safe. She is a liar.
I am still waiting for someone to tell me exactly what scientific evidence anyone on SK has come up with that shows that dressing 'decently',being in the NYS,sexually molesting students,expelling students,and even killing some of them will forever stop student riots in universities in Kenya.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
@Wendz i agree with you on this one. @Kasheshi I get your point....lakini wengine hapa hawawezi elewa hata u-explain aje! To me,it seems like it's become a battle between certain age groups thus the varied opinions. Needless to say,Age comes with wisdom. and one day,some of the contributors will understand why some things have to be done in certain ways and some dresscodes have to be reserved for certain occasions.and why violence never solves anything... But,until then,we cannot force it upon them to understand...Age,will do its work Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't.. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
and now the woman is saying that THE had something to do with the strike.......lhuyu mwanamke ameshindwa job......PERIOD!!! Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
ku on rampage,fires&lootings