wazua Thu, Jul 2, 2026

12 Pages«<45678>»
Abolish County Governments!!!!
#51 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 11:26:13 PM

Shak wrote:
meanwhile Kilifi governor's residence was purchased for 140 Million yet his constituents are among the poorest in the country. Talk about being out of touch and insensitive

Sad http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/bgrhxmz/-/index.html Sad
#52 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 5:37:37 AM

Jaramogi Oginga Odinga the doyen of opposition politics once quipped:

" Moi ni kama giraffe, anaona mbeeeeleee..."

now see Moi told Kenyans hii katiba ni ghasia, italete ukabila, did you listenSad

Just because Agwambo read it and said, you vote YES halafu tutabadilisha hiyo kidogo mbaya people voted without thinking.

what annoys most is the pretense of very learned and prominent , NGO 'expert' activists that promoted this katiba where are they now when 'Mwananichi' mwenye nichi ' is feeling the heatShame on you

I listened to Mo1 and voted NO lakini Rayila stole the referendum votes Sad smile

I asked the question here

http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=25313&p=3
#53 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 5:40:22 AM

Shak wrote:
meanwhile Kilifi governor's residence was purchased for 140 Million yet his constituents are among the poorest in the country. Talk about being out of touch and insensitive

I insist, ni haki yao!! For as long as these decisions are being made by the elected representatives of the people of Kilifi and all due process has been followed it is right and proper. Their freedom to do as they wish with their money is sacrosanct, it is the very essence of devolution....... kuleta serikali mashinani.... to give the people a say in how they want to be governed and use their money.

It would be a greater abuse of democracy if someone outside of Kilifi forced the people of Kilifi to build a hospital with the 140 million than if they all decided through their elected representatives to buy every resident of Kilifi 5 years supply of beer or mnazi using that money. Let the protests on how monies are used in counties come from within counties. Ukisikia your governor or county assembly is abusing your money go and organise protests in your county. If you do not find enough people to support you then it means they are OK with that decision and should not complain to anyone.

Let there be as much chaos as can be generated in the counties to get people to understand that it is theirs. Governance is hard and the responsibility of citizens does not end by casting a ballot. Walitaka waletewe serikali karibu..... this is exactly what it means.... serikali is right there with you at the county level and they are using your money to build mansions.... what are you going to do about it???..... it is your serikali!!!! The beauty of these counties being tribal is that Kikuyus should be angry with their Kikuyu leaders, Luos should be angry with their Luo leaders and Kisiis with their own.........it is going to be messy for a while but I see opportunity for counties that get a critical mass of people realizing that this thing is ours, our destiny is in our hands and we can do something for ourselves that we can be proud of.
#54 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 5:44:23 AM

@kusadikika I guess you have never stepped in Kilifi your entire life donge?

if you knew the level of poverty in Kilifi Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you you vould not have written what you wrote above

Micah Cheserem cried when he went to Kilifi

The calibre of leaders called Members of County Assembly are just Kanjoras, these are the guys managing our taxes alonside some cronies called county cabinets
#55 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 6:10:29 AM

So should the gov of Kilifi's spending habits be the reason why county govts should be abolished? There are other areas where governors are working toe and nail. Let the people of Kilifi take it upon their minds to either kick out the guy or petition courts to stop those dubious projects. Kenyans should learn to solve problems rather than taking the short cuts
#56 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 7:39:30 AM

So should the gov of Kilifi's spending habits be the reason why county govts should be abolished? There are other areas where governors are working toe and nail. Let the people of Kilifi take it upon their minds to either kick out the guy or petition courts to stop those dubious projects. Kenyans should learn to solve problems rather than taking the short cuts

asante sana!Applause
Ole Lenku
#57 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 7:40:14 AM

Siringi wrote:
Jaramogi Oginga Odinga the doyen of opposition politics once quipped:

" Moi ni kama giraffe, anaona mbeeeeleee..."

now see Moi told Kenyans hii katiba ni ghasia, italete ukabila, did you listenSad

Just because Agwambo read it and said, you vote YES halafu tutabadilisha hiyo kidogo mbaya people voted without thinking.

what annoys most is the pretense of very learned and prominent , NGO 'expert' activists that promoted this katiba where are they now when 'Mwananichi' mwenye nichi ' is feeling the heatShame on you

I listened to Mo1 and voted NO lakini Rayila stole the referendum votes Sad smile

I asked the question here

http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=25313&p=3

Stop this hypocrisy immediately. You vilify people for voting based on what RAO said and in the same post say you listened to Moi and voted no. Get out of the closet and stop pretending to be objective. One more thing, why are you glorifying Moi so much. Everybody knows how he mismanaged and pillaged and plundered this country.
#58 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 7:50:45 AM

I tend to agree with @murchr and kularaha. Every time I feel unhappy with how county govts are being run, I remind myself about the clamour for a new order from the 90s. One of the key complaints was that the Moi and Kibaki govts would allocate resources in a skewed manner. Thus regionalism and later devolution. To some extent, county based devolution is better than region based. Yes, it's expensive administratively but it does minimise ethnic strife in the devolved govts as Turkanas are in their own county and so are the Samburu. Let's live with our choices so that we are wiser in 17
#59 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 9:29:19 AM

@olelenku come here

olelenku wrote:

Stop this hypocrisy immediately. ? which one now?

You vilify people for voting based on what RAO said and in the same post say you listened to Moi and voted no.

And what is wrong with that? Am a KANU lifemember smile and so are very many Kenyans I know...

Nothing wrong with voting NO it was one of the many options and I belief I made a very informed choiceSad

Get out of the closet and stop pretending to be objective.

Hiyo ni ya akina BinyaV mambo ya closet siyui

One more thing, why are you glorifying Moi so much. Everybody knows how he mismanaged and pillaged and plundered this country

Moi held this country together during a time when rest of Africa was going through very difficulty transitions. Granted he (or people aroud him) could have made a few mistakes... But he is my hero. A true Statesman who believed in one Kenya one Nation na Uhuru wa Mwafrika kuamua mambo yake

#60 Posted : Monday, January 27, 2014 10:08:17 AM

For 50 years in this country, resources were shared based on how the region voted. We tried the centralised system for 50 years it didn't work. Why should we cry to return to Misri just because the road to Canaan looks rough? Devolution should be made to work. The only reason the current crop of leaders are 'mis-using' the money is coz they have been left 'free' to decide. We need to strengthen the laws so that its very clear how much money should be used for development and how much should be used for other expenditure. If the budget for non-critical services is reduced, then the governors will not have any money to spend on those things and thus they will not use them. If the counties are too too many, then we can reduce them, but let us not go back to a system we have tried and tested for 50 years and realised it wasnt really working. If the governors are 'forced' to spend 60% of the devolved money on development, in a few years, they will find themselves tarmacking every local village road simply coz there are no other places to take the money(they cant use it to fly out because it will be illegal)

I insist, we should not lose hope that soon!!!
12 Pages«<45678>»