Kusadikika wrote:Let me be the devils advocate here. I like the way county governments are and I like the current setup that makes them more or less tribal kingdoms. I like that they have the mediocre representatives that they have and that they are making the idiotic decisions that they are making and getting the peoples reaction.
My reason for liking this situation is that the people have no one to else to point a finger to but themselves. Walilia wembe na sasa washapatiwa. Let reform and discipline come from within the counties themselves. Some will figure it out faster than others. In five years some counties will have maendeleo that will be the envy of their peers in 10 years some will be little Singapores while some will be worse that South Sudan. Wacha watu wajiamulie.
I like your line of reasoning. However, that being said, any measure(s) that will saves Kenyans from themselves is welcome. Na sio wakenya wote walillia wembe; 33% walikataa huo wembe me included. We need to appreciate we have a serious problem and tackle this head on and not bury our heads in the sand.
Let reform and discipline come from within the counties themselves..
You think that can happen? seriously? and in the current setup? Well, call me a cynic, a pessimist or whatever but I think the county governments started on a very wrong footing. They started off on the wrong footing when they seemed to be more concerned with the trappings of their new offices than with improving services and making devolution work and the so called teething problems are not showing signs of easing any time soon.
In my view, the current setup of 47 counties is simply not sustainable and sooner rather than later the country will go bust. I'm willing to bet to my last cent that there will no little Singapore in 10 or even 100 years. You simply cannot tax your way to development the way the thinking seems to be at the moment