wazua Wed, Jul 1, 2026

12 Pages«<34567>»
Abolish County Governments!!!!
Ole Lenku
#41 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 3:08:58 PM

geccko wrote:
Me, new?? naah. Been on SK since 08, well, as a guest of course.

As for the bill, you are right. It is meant to reduce the number of counties to a manageable level not to get rid them. That means we revert back to the former eight provinces now to be christened as "states" with one or two additions.

smile smile smile smile smile Cool mate.
#42 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 3:28:06 PM

Let me be the devils advocate here. I like the way county governments are and I like the current setup that makes them more or less tribal kingdoms. I like that they have the mediocre representatives that they have and that they are making the idiotic decisions that they are making and getting the peoples reaction.

My reason for liking this situation is that the people have no one to else to point a finger to but themselves. Walilia wembe na sasa washapatiwa. Let reform and discipline come from within the counties themselves. Some will figure it out faster than others. In five years some counties will have maendeleo that will be the envy of their peers in 10 years some will be little Singapores while some will be worse that South Sudan. Wacha watu wajiamulie.
#43 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 3:34:26 PM

Let me be the devils advocate here. I like the way county governments are and I like the current setup that makes them more or less tribal kingdoms. I like that they have the mediocre representatives that they have and that they are making the idiotic decisions that they are making and getting the peoples reaction.

My reason for liking this situation is that the people have no one to else to point a finger to but themselves. Walilia wembe na sasa washapatiwa. Let reform and discipline come from within the counties themselves. Some will figure it out faster than others. In five years some counties will have maendeleo that will be the envy of their peers in 10 years some will be little Singapores while some will be worse that South Sudan. Wacha watu wajiamulie.

Quite some advocate there smile but at whose cost?
#44 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 3:38:38 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
I agree with this bill by the way. I wonder how smart it is to ask mpigs endorse a bill that will sacrifice them. How many will support a measure to reduce their numbers? I expect they will ammend this bill to trim number of senators and governors but retain their number.

Indeed, they themselves are a big drain in the exchequer. Still, it's worth a try. Let's see how it pans out.
#45 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 5:47:02 PM

#46 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 6:10:23 PM

Exactly. There's nothing wrong with 47 counties. The leadership is the problem. That is what needs to be sorted out.
geccko
#47 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 6:56:00 PM

I like your line of reasoning. However, that being said, any measure(s) that will saves Kenyans from themselves is welcome. Na sio wakenya wote walillia wembe; 33% walikataa huo wembe me included. We need to appreciate we have a serious problem and tackle this head on and not bury our heads in the sand. Let reform and discipline come from within the counties themselves..

You think that can happen? seriously? and in the current setup? Well, call me a cynic, a pessimist or whatever but I think the county governments started on a very wrong footing. They started off on the wrong footing when they seemed to be more concerned with the trappings of their new offices than with improving services and making devolution work and the so called teething problems are not showing signs of easing any time soon.

In my view, the current setup of 47 counties is simply not sustainable and sooner rather than later the country will go bust. I'm willing to bet to my last cent that there will no little Singapore in 10 or even 100 years. You simply cannot tax your way to development the way the thinking seems to be at the moment

#48 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 7:07:07 PM

Umeongea kama ndume kumi zimekunywa mayai ya quail. Agreed!
blueman
#49 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 10:04:14 PM

It was a big mistake all along, we should have listened to Moi on the new constitution making. The most redundant positions are senators, women reps and the county cabinets. We did not really have to replicate the national government bureaucracy in county governments...we just have a long way to go (going back).
We make or break our own tomorrows today!
#50 Posted : Sunday, January 26, 2014 10:52:50 PM

meanwhile Kilifi governor's residence was purchased for 140 Million yet his constituents are among the poorest in the country. Talk about being out of touch and insensitive
12 Pages«<34567>»