Abolish County Governments!!!!
Lolest! wrote:How did we get here?
There were some issues. Chief among them being equitable distribution of wealth(national cake or ugali), proportionate representation and gender representation.
Thus we created counties to help us with the distribution of the cake. The county executives had to have some oversight hence your MCAs.
We increased the constituencies to sort the problem of (dis)proportionate representation(one man one vote). This is the most misunderstood thing. Most people have never really grasped that the main purpose of parliament is representation. Legislatures exist because we cannot hold referenda on everything from budget to approving members of anti-FGM Board...we thus elect a few people to represent us in decision making and oversight! These people are your honourable memebers of national assembly, senate and county assemblies!
Now, when it comes to decision making, would you want a case where 1000 people are represented by 1 rep while another 500,000 are also represented by 1 rep?
We also added 47 special seats for women as an affirmative action for the fairer gender who had been 'disadvantaged for decades'
Question now is how do we address the unit of identity of tribe and gender? For example if the whole country was one tribe and one gender how would you constitute the governance structures?
theman192000 wrote:Lolest! wrote:How did we get here?
There were some issues. Chief among them being equitable distribution of wealth(national cake or ugali), proportionate representation and gender representation.
Thus we created counties to help us with the distribution of the cake. The county executives had to have some oversight hence your MCAs.
We increased the constituencies to sort the problem of (dis)proportionate representation(one man one vote). This is the most misunderstood thing. Most people have never really grasped that the main purpose of parliament is representation. Legislatures exist because we cannot hold referenda on everything from budget to approving members of anti-FGM Board...we thus elect a few people to represent us in decision making and oversight! These people are your honourable memebers of national assembly, senate and county assemblies!
Now, when it comes to decision making, would you want a case where 1000 people are represented by 1 rep while another 500,000 are also represented by 1 rep?
We also added 47 special seats for women as an affirmative action for the fairer gender who had been 'disadvantaged for decades'
Question now is how do we address the unit of identity of tribe and gender? For example if the whole country was one tribe and one gender how would you constitute the governance structures? If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
MaichBlack wrote:We need to go for a referendum and get rid of county governments and the senate. And while at it, reduce the number of MPs to 150!!!
This county governments have done more harm than good!! And this are not teething problems! We will be spending most of our tax money on salaries and other recurrent [and useless] expenditures! They are demanding for money from the central government, hiking taxes/charges and doing a lot of nothing development wise. They have taken both corruption and tribalism to new heights!!! I say we get rid of this County governments NOW!!!
Think. Don't let emotions confuse you!!! This I will support 105%. Even in machakos, the supposed model county, the locals cannot equate the increased taxation to improved services. Now in kajiado, our governor has broken a new record; he has outdone the olekajuado county council in terms of incompetence. The former local authority could manage to collect garbage once a week in the market centers, not anymore. And these idiots have the audacity to start charging parking in kitengela town.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/5/2008 Posts: 532 Location: Nairobi
Rankaz13 wrote:I have argued before and I repeat again: Kenya is over-represented. This country needs perhaps a maximum of no more than 150 constituencies, anchored in law so that we do away with the nonsense of redrawing boundaries and splitting constituencies every 10yrs. The law needs to establish the max no. of constituencies as well as the population of each. That way, the no. of constituencies per region/county/province would be dictated by population census figures as conducted every decade while the total no. of ~150 countrywide remains unchanged.
As far as counties are concerned, I'm afraid abolishing them would prove too unpopular at this time. The top guys will most likely hope that they unravel on their own. I would personally wish they didn't exist but I'd be willing to go for a compromise of about 15-18 counties max. Let no one fool you, counties as they exist now are nothing but tribal conclaves.
By the way, how is a country like China, with a billion plus citizens, administered? India? 5 cheers dude. You've thought like 8 sages! I don't have the actual facts for now but nigeria with about 200M population has about 46 regional govs. America with about 320M people has X number of states. The concept and theory of regional governments was a briliant one for kenya.... but 47? We need to sober up and objectively review these counties with a view to sizing down to a max 15.Plus cut down on the number of constituencies, otherwise i'm afraid we going to bleed dry, what with double taxation, at National and county governments. Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
FRM2011 wrote:MaichBlack wrote:We need to go for a referendum and get rid of county governments and the senate. And while at it, reduce the number of MPs to 150!!!
This county governments have done more harm than good!! And this are not teething problems! We will be spending most of our tax money on salaries and other recurrent [and useless] expenditures! They are demanding for money from the central government, hiking taxes/charges and doing a lot of nothing development wise. They have taken both corruption and tribalism to new heights!!! I say we get rid of this County governments NOW!!!
Think. Don't let emotions confuse you!!! This I will support 105%. Even in machakos, the supposed model county, the locals cannot equate the increased taxation to improved services. Now in kajiado, our governor has broken a new record; he has outdone the olekajuado county council in terms of incompetence. The former local authority could manage to collect garbage once a week in the market centers, not anymore. And these idiots have the audacity to start charging parking in kitengela town. Has he lifted the ban on land transactions? Most useless governor
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Seems like someone has been hard at work. Let the debates begin.Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
This is an extremely welcome piece of news  . Indeed it's like a breath of fresh air. I'd rather we waste "money" on a referendum to get rid of the counties than on this monstrosity called devilution. We need our sanity back and this bill will be very timely so kudos to mheshimiwa Mutambo for having the sense to see what many still refuse to see. Hii devolution inaumiza wanjiku. period. In fact it was never about wanjiku Make no mistake i was against the new constitution from the word go so guys are just seeing the sense we saw back then to reject. Unfortunately we never carried the day. Someone please remind, me why did we change the constitution?
geccko wrote:This is an extremely welcome piece of news  . Indeed it's like a breath of fresh air. I'd rather we waste "money" on a referendum to get rid of the counties than on this monstrosity called devilution. We need our sanity back and this bill will be very timely so kudos to mheshimiwa Mutambo for having the sense to see what many still refuse to see. Hii devolution inaumiza wanjiku. period. In fact it was never about wanjiku Make no mistake i was against the new constitution from the word go so guys are just seeing the sense we saw back then to reject. Unfortunately we never carried the day. Someone please remind, me why did we change the constitution? I know you are new but you should not give a comment before reading the bill or at least a summary of it. The bill is meant to reduce counties not get rid of them. Next time you say something like that do not expect to be handled with kid gloves. Welcome to wazua btw. C& P "Mwingi Central MP Joe Mutambu wants the number of counties reduced from the current 47 to 10 or 11 and the number of Members of National Assembly from 349 to 180 to 210. The reduction of counties would effectively reduce number of senators and governors to 10 or 11."
I agree with this bill by the way. I wonder how smart it is to ask mpigs endorse a bill that will sacrifice them. How many will support a measure to reduce their numbers? I expect they will ammend this bill to trim number of senators and governors but retain their number.
Me, new?? naah. Been on SK since 08, well, as a guest of course.
As for the bill, you are right. It is meant to reduce the number of counties to a manageable level not to get rid them. That means we revert back to the former eight provinces now to be christened as "states" with one or two additions.
Abolish County Governments!!!!