#81 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 6:12:44 PM

del
#82 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 6:21:18 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Amores wrote:
@ Tycho,i have just watched the movie on youtube.Seems like it was directed by you hehehehe.

I'm 'amazed' by the turn of events, and that you've watched the movie before me and on YouTube. I must sack my movie supplier. And pinch myself on the cheek.

Yeah,youtube is a life saver!Faimba !

@Amores, what did you think about the movie ama 'ulifloat'? smile

@Tycho, have you watched it yet?

Yes, @butterflyke. I've watched it. At last.

Many thoughts. Were you saddened by the elusiveness of love?

#83 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 8:19:35 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Amores wrote:
@ Tycho,i have just watched the movie on youtube.Seems like it was directed by you hehehehe.

I'm 'amazed' by the turn of events, and that you've watched the movie before me and on YouTube. I must sack my movie supplier. And pinch myself on the cheek.

If you've asked @Amores what she thinks of the movie, then you must be asking me the same question.

I think the movie makes some compelling arguments, and 'depictions' that I have experienced in what I may call 'real life'. The 'metaphor' is deep, the symbols beautiful. Like, the professor's spectacles being broken in Lisbon and the process of replacing them was of interest to me, and the more I think about it the more I create meaning. Layer after layer.

I have asked myself similar questions that have been asked in the movie. For example I remember writing a poem asking about when life really begins, or wondering what the greatest achievement one should have, at some point. I could even identify with Amadieu's graduation speech.

The movie has thus spurred more thought than most movies that I've watched before.

#84 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 10:49:04 PM

@tycho, glad you watched it in the end....my disappointment was very simplistic, when Amadeus' love interest declares that she could not give him what he wanted and that they did not want the same things....it's seemed such a waste of what was a perilous effort to be together.

Interesting what you thought about the symbolism of the broken's specs....I tried to read into it but did not come up with much...may be if I watch it again.
#85 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 11:09:05 PM

butterflyke wrote:
@tycho, glad you watched it in the end....my disappointment was very simplistic, when Amadeus' love interest declares that she could not give him what he wanted and that they did not want the same things....it's seemed such a waste of what was a perilous effort to be together.

Interesting what you thought about the symbolism of the broken's specs....I tried to read into it but did not come up with much...may be if I watch it again.

I wouldn't say your disappointment was 'simplistic'. And you know the girl was right, and brave in refusing to take Amadeus' offer. Only Amadeus couldn't live with the implications of her choice. But look at what the 'optician' does. He asks Raimund to stay in Lisbon if he wished to do so. Hers is a powerful role but it's hidden. It's like the movie has three levels. Amadeus' level, the Professor's level which adjusts reality to a better ending, then the viewers level whose reality is so open and amenable to learning.

I wonder if watching the movie again will open up insight and understanding. But lying on your right, and following your breath while replaying the movie in your mind might do wonders.
#86 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 9:11:52 AM

butterflyke wrote:

I wouldn't say your disappointment was 'simplistic'. And you know the girl was right, and brave in refusing to take Amadeus' offer. Only Amadeus couldn't live with the implications of her choice. But look at what the 'optician' does. He asks Raimund to stay in Lisbon if he wished to do so. Hers is a powerful role but it's hidden. It's like the movie has three levels. Amadeus' level, the Professor's level which adjusts reality to a better ending, then the viewers level whose reality is so open and amenable to learning.

I wonder if watching the movie again will open up insight and understanding. But lying on your right, and following your breath while replaying the movie in your mind might do wonders.

that would be a lot of work @tycho! Laughing out loudly

On a serious note, I think the reason I was disappointed is because I put myself in Amadeus' shoes and I have found it hard to live with those choices in the past. However, I have discovered that when life gives you lemons, you make lemonade and then find someone with vodka or gin and have a party. It's not that serious smile
#87 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 12:45:03 PM

butterflyke wrote:

On a serious note, I think the reason I was disappointed is because I put myself in Amadeus' shoes and I have found it hard to live with those choices in the past. However, I have discovered that when life gives you lemons, you make lemonade and then find someone with vodka or gin and have a party. It's not that serious smile

A lot of work is good, if there's pleasure in it, the rewards are high, and focus is on the mind and spirit, and body.

That's when you realize that you only get lemons because you sought them. And that life is about getting everything you ask for, even subconsciously.

Amadeus decided his fate when he formed his ideas. His grasp of mortality made him mortal, his disdain for dictatorship set him up for the disappointment that came. Had Estefania accepted his proposal then wouldn't he be the dictator in fact?

Amadeus didn't see this, Raimund saw more clearly with his new specs. I see even more clearly than Raimund. . . I for one sees immortality. And perfect love, where each moment counts even with death being defeated.
#88 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 3:29:44 PM

butterflyke wrote:

A lot of work is good, if there's pleasure in it, the rewards are high, and focus is on the mind and spirit, and body.

That's when you realize that you only get lemons because you sought them. And that life is about getting everything you ask for, even subconsciously.

Amadeus decided his fate when he formed his ideas. His grasp of mortality made him mortal, his disdain for dictatorship set him up for the disappointment that came. Had Estefania accepted his proposal then wouldn't he be the dictator in fact?

Amadeus didn't see this, Raimund saw more clearly with his new specs. I see even more clearly than Raimund. . . I for one sees immortality. And perfect love, where each moment counts even with death being defeated.

Hii philosophy nimeikataa. I think there are some lemons which end up in your basket, whether or not you asked for them.

#89 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 3:52:11 PM

butterflyke wrote:

Hii philosophy nimeikataa. I think there are some lemons which end up in your basket, whether or not you asked for them.

Who sends the lemons, and why?
#90 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 9:34:01 PM

butterflyke wrote:

Who sends the lemons, and why?

lool simunanijaz na lemons.I agree with butter.

The lemon masquerades as orange.One discovers it's bitterness after peeling.
#91 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 10:08:15 PM

@tycho, i wake up in the morning, get on with my day and somewhere along the day the lemons and oranges in lemon skin appear.

@kysse, join this philosophical train!
#92 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 10:12:33 AM

butterflyke wrote:
@tycho, i wake up in the morning, get on with my day and somewhere along the day the lemons and oranges in lemon skin appear.

Have I ever had lemons in my life? What is it about lemons that is 'painful'? Or what's 'undesirable'?

But I have seen someone devour lemons.

Lemons look like oranges. As a child they used to give me problems, these two. How did I learn to differentiate them?

Then there are those who choose oranges that taste like lemons. Like me. And they get angry. The problem is ignorance. That's why Amadeus had that Library. Or Raimund went straight at the books when he visited Adriana.

Like for me, this lemon matter, especially in relationships, was resolved when I read Shakespeare. Lol. Perhaps it was 'Love's labour's lost' that made me laugh at myself, and only wished I had read Shakespeare earlier.

Those who want to experience perfect love must seek knowledge, for there in, lies the power of 'God'.

#93 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 11:57:08 AM

butterflyke wrote:

Have I ever had lemons in my life? What is it about lemons that is 'painful'? Or what's 'undesirable'?

Lemons look like oranges. As a child they used to give me problems, these two. How did I learn to differentiate them?

Then there are those who choose oranges that taste like lemons. Like me. And they get angry. The problem is ignorance. That's why Amadeus had that Library. Or Raimund went straight at the books when he visited Adriana.

Like for me, this lemon matter, especially in relationships, was resolved when I read Shakespeare. Lol. Perhaps it was 'Love's labour's lost' that made me laugh at myself, and only wished I had read Shakespeare earlier.

Those who want to experience perfect love must seek knowledge, for there in, lies the power of 'God'.

i think we will agree to disagree on the lemons and ignorance part smile

nevertheless, this is now a challenge for me to read Love's Labour Lost but sijui nitamaliza karne ipi!
#94 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 12:42:21 PM

butterflyke wrote:

i think we will agree to disagree on the lemons and ignorance part smile

nevertheless, this is now a challenge for me to read Love's Labour Lost but sijui nitamaliza karne ipi!

This movie is about a man and woman finding love through learning from others. Raimund and the 'optician'. Raimund thinks he's going for the girl with the red coat. Kumbe it's the girl with the glasses that would help Raimund read a book. That's how oranges and lemons are met.
#95 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 5:55:41 PM

butterflyke wrote:
Amores wrote:

If you've asked @Amores what she thinks of the movie, then you must be asking me the same question.

Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall
#96 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 6:03:21 PM

Amores wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Amores wrote:

Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

My apologies @Amores. Mr. Cool aid. Thought error.
#97 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2014 5:56:14 PM

butterflyke wrote:

ok
lemon and oranges are found in different settings ie;work,relationships and homes.

Those found in homes are not our choice.We learn how to live with them.
The ones found in workplaces are temporary, we learn how to accomodate without letting them influence our performance.
Now the ones we fall in love with or choose as friends are our own choice.
We learn to how to deal with them.

To become a well rounded person,one has to learn how to live with,accomodate and deal with both lemons and oranges.

Fact is,we cannot run away from them because they form part and parcel of the society.

#98 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2014 9:03:14 PM

butterflyke wrote:

ok
lemon and oranges are found in different settings ie;work,relationships and homes.

The ones found in workplaces are temporary, we learn how to accomodate without letting them influence our performance.

To become a well rounded person,one has to learn how to live with,accomodate and deal with both lemons and oranges.

Fact is,we cannot run away from them because they form part and parcel of the society.

I agree smile
#99 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 9:04:30 AM

butterflyke wrote:

ok

I agree smile

A person isn't just how he/she looks, but is also the ideas and relations associated with him.

Bodies change, ideas, relations also change, it all depends on how you think.
MKWASI
#100 Posted : Wednesday, January 29, 2014 9:15:57 AM

butterflyke wrote:

Word.