14 Pages«<34567>»
Binyavanga Wainaina
#81 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 9:47:04 AM

majimaji wrote:

Gay rights are human rights

Gay rights are human whites!
Caramba
#82 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 9:52:27 AM

I have come accross the following in previous posts:

*Homosexuality is unAfrican. It was brought to Africa by the west.

*There are no animals that engage in homosexual behaviour.

Bigotry and ignorance at their best.
majimaji
#83 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 9:54:42 AM

Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I am human.

So what rights are these you speak of?

I speak of all the human rights. No one should be denied (copy paste): a right that is believed to belong justifiably to every person because they are gay
Muriel
#84 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 10:00:49 AM

majimaji wrote:
Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I am human.

I speak of all the human rights. No one should be denied (copy paste): a right that is believed to belong justifiably to every person because they are gay

Like which one? Be specific. Just an example.

Pedes
#85 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 10:42:16 AM

Amores wrote:
i follow the guy on twitter (he is a fellow from Nax). I kinda always suspected it based on the kind of advocacy he had been on. well.. sijui niseme or hata kama kuna kitu ya kusema! i guess i felt the same why when Sheldon of "the big bang theory" came out. do you separate the man from the artist? crossroads my friends crossroads!! but it's kinda sad!

He is? I didn't hear of his coming out story.
Maybe everyone who is should come out,ndio we demystify this thing once and for all!

i was a great fan of the big bang theory! way before it was hip to watch it. i used to download it hours after they showed it in the US. the wife and I used to watch it together talk about following it religiously until sometime season 5 when they made the announcement - have never had psyche to watch it again.

For me it was Barney of 'How I met your mother' I have never reconciled between the guy who was always looking for an opportunity to land on airports and the other out of the closet...no.

yes that happened to me as well... my interest kwishad and i have never been bothered with the program. he also had a part to play in the smurfs and when he kissed the 'spouse' on the movie i was like - yuck!! boss ignorance is bliss! the first time this ever happened was will ellen degeneres and her sitcom Ellen (she was the funniest woman I had ever seen) then she came out and interest dwindled.

Oh yes, I also dint watch the Smurfs and Ellen too..i find her show and everything she hosts out of taste. I was once a fan of Anderson cooper then he pricked the bubble and everything went down for me. Just why do they have to tell everyone?

Someone stops being funny because they have come out of the closet?
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
Pedes
#86 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 10:45:34 AM

Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:
Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I am human.

@Majimaji, what gays want right now is recognition, then same sex marriage then adoption. Are these the kind of rights' you are talking about?
Caramba
#87 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 10:47:13 AM

Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:
Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I am human.

1) The colour of your skin. There are other people who considered being born with a black skin a curse. They even used the bible to justify this. The Afrikaans believed the black man was created to serve them as slaves.

2) Left-handed people. Some communities regarded them as cursed and would subject them to exorcism and severe beatings to cure them.
Muriel
#88 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 11:19:48 AM

Caramba wrote:
Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:
Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I am human.

1) The colour of your skin. There are other people who considered being born with a black skin a curse. They even used the bible to justify this. The Afrikaans believed the black man was created to serve them as slaves.

2) Left-handed people. Some communities regarded them as cursed and would subject them to exorcism and severe beatings to cure them.

How have you tied these 2 to and with gayism?

The point I am trying to make is that you guys have made 'human rights' to be a cliche. So that when your opponents open fire at you you duck behind blanket 'human rights' for cover.

'Come out' and dance in the open!
#89 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 12:34:06 PM

Pedes wrote:
Amores wrote:
i follow the guy on twitter (he is a fellow from Nax). I kinda always suspected it based on the kind of advocacy he had been on. well.. sijui niseme or hata kama kuna kitu ya kusema! i guess i felt the same why when Sheldon of "the big bang theory" came out. do you separate the man from the artist? crossroads my friends crossroads!! but it's kinda sad!

Maybe everyone who is should come out,ndio we demystify this thing once and for all!

i was a great fan of the big bang theory! way before it was hip to watch it. i used to download it hours after they showed it in the US. the wife and I used to watch it together talk about following it religiously until sometime season 5 when they made the announcement - have never had psyche to watch it again.

For me it was Barney of 'How I met your mother' I have never reconciled between the guy who was always looking for an opportunity to land on airports and the other out of the closet...no.

yes that happened to me as well... my interest kwishad and i have never been bothered with the program. he also had a part to play in the smurfs and when he kissed the 'spouse' on the movie i was like - yuck!! boss ignorance is bliss! the first time this ever happened was will ellen degeneres and her sitcom Ellen (she was the funniest woman I had ever seen) then she came out and interest dwindled.

Oh yes, I also dint watch the Smurfs and Ellen too..i find her show and everything she hosts out of taste. I was once a fan of Anderson cooper then he pricked the bubble and everything went down for me. Just why do they have to tell everyone?

yeap! being funny results from a personal connection. think about it - if a great actor or comedian is suddenly outed as being a pedophile - will his jokes stop being funny? i bet they would! why? coz you already have a preformed image of the person before hand. if someone is engaged in deep politics especially if the said politics are different from yours - will you find him funny? it's the human condition - we associate with people we feel connected to.
#90 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 1:20:21 PM

Muriel wrote:
Caramba wrote:
Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:
Muriel wrote:
majimaji wrote:

I am human.

How have you tied these 2 to and with gayism?

The point I am trying to make is that you guys have made 'human rights' to be a cliche. So that when your opponents open fire at you you duck behind blanket 'human rights' for cover.

'Come out' and dance in the open!

Muriel, the reason(s) for heterosexuals not talking about the sexuality, differ from the reason(s) why homosexuals prefer to remain in the closet. And even, don't you think heterosexuals are almost always talking about their sexuality? Take wazua as an example, how do threads on 'fish' and 'landing' fare? Look at the girl/woman walking on the streets look at how the men around are behaving. Showing your heterosexual leanings in the 'appropriate language' earns one admiration and envy. Not so, for homosexuality.

Humans have a right not just to associate with others but to express the truth in these associations. This right has been denied, for example, to the homosexuals.

I'm concerned that in wishing to uphold morality we are losing it, and that instead of Man seeking God's face we are turning away from it, and instead of healing we're offering wounds.
Pedes
#91 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 2:18:14 PM

Pedes wrote:
Amores wrote:

yeap! being funny results from a personal connection. think about it - if a great actor or comedian is suddenly outed as being a pedophile - will his jokes stop being funny? i bet they would! why? coz you already have a preformed image of the person before hand. if someone is engaged in deep politics especially if the said politics are different from yours - will you find him funny? it's the human condition - we associate with people we feel connected to.

@Masukuma. Unajua Kusukuma point home. Makes sense.
Muriel
#92 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 2:48:13 PM

Muriel, the reason(s) for heterosexuals not talking about the sexuality, differ from the reason(s) why homosexuals prefer to remain in the closet. And even, don't you think heterosexuals are almost always talking about their sexuality? Take wazua as an example, how do threads on 'fish' and 'landing' fare? Look at the girl/woman walking on the streets look at how the men around are behaving. Showing your heterosexual leanings in the 'appropriate language' earns one admiration and envy. Not so, for homosexuality.

Humans have a right not just to associate with others but to express the truth in these associations. This right has been denied, for example, to the homosexuals.

I'm concerned that in wishing to uphold morality we are losing it, and that instead of Man seeking God's face we are turning away from it, and instead of healing we're offering wounds.

Brother,

You are right about heterosexuals always talking about their orientation in so many words and in so many places.

Lets take the right to associate that you have given. You are also right.

I add, that gays, whether they know it or not, accept it or not, are always 'proselytizing' or seeking 'new' flesh when the euphoria of the 'old' wanes. You know, they are hardly the paragon of monogamy. Think of the revulsion atheists get when they are being proselytized.

The desire to make new friends and associate, if and when the opportunity avails itself, and the accompanying desire to invite these new friends see the 'truth' is a 'right'.

Now suppose paedophiles also claimed this 'human right' to associate and express their truth too,,,,,,,

At some point, claims to 'rights' have got to be tethered and denied. If it is any consolation, even heterosexuals have this 'human right' to associate and express their truth tethered. We could ask the bigamists incidentally in those capitals where these very 'human rights' of association and truth expression are being championed and sent out to the world if their 'rights' of association and truth expression are being honored.

Therefore, I still insist that 'human rights' are not gay rights and the use of 'human rights' as a gay crutch is illogical.

#93 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 2:50:14 PM

Pedes wrote:
Amores wrote:

@Masukuma. Unajua Kusukuma point home. Makes sense.

Yes, it makes sense to love those who agree with us, and to 'hate' those who don't. But humanity is about going beyond such limits. Going beyond sense and nonsense.
#94 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 3:05:56 PM

Muriel wrote:
Brother,

You are right about heterosexuals always talking about their orientation in so many words and in so many places.

I add, that gays, whether they know it or not, accept it or not, are always 'proselytizing' or seeking 'new' flesh when the euphoria of the 'old' wanes. You know, they are hardly the paragon of monogamy. Think of the revulsion atheists get when they are being proselytized.

The desire to make new friends and associate, if and when the opportunity avails itself, and the accompanying desire to invite these new friends see the 'truth' is a 'right'.

Now suppose paedophiles also claimed this 'human right' to associate and express their truth too,,,,,,,

At some point, claims to 'rights' have got to be tethered and denied. If it is any consolation, even heterosexuals have this 'human right' to associate and express their truth tethered. We could ask the bigamists incidentally in those capitals where these very 'human rights' of association and truth expression are being championed and sent out to the world if their 'rights' of association and truth expression are being honored.

Therefore, I still insist that 'human rights' are not gay rights and the use of 'human rights' as a gay crutch is illogical.

This is brilliant.

I bow down deep in respect.
#95 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 3:36:05 PM

Yes, it makes sense to love those who agree with us, and to 'hate' those who don't. But humanity is about going beyond such limits. Going beyond sense and nonsense.

kawaida huwasQuailewi but leo umesema uQuaili!
#96 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 3:48:01 PM

Muriel wrote:

Brother,

To 'tether' or 'constrain' rights in a bid to prevent 'conversion' is to say that truthful discussion on sexuality and other aspects of human living is impossible. Otherwise why shouldn't the homosexuals also be proselytized?

Again, heterosexuality isn't by itself better or preferable to homosexuality. What accounts for purity and righteousness is 'Godliness'. An encounter and intimate relationship with 'God'. And it's this encounter that transforms. Denying anyone the freedoms of speech and association is denying him/her this encounter.

If there are people who need human rights, then they are the 'lost'.
Muriel
#97 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 4:56:11 PM

To 'tether' or 'constrain' rights in a bid to prevent 'conversion' is to say that truthful discussion on sexuality and other aspects of human living is impossible. Otherwise why shouldn't the homosexuals also be proselytized?

Again, heterosexuality isn't by itself better or preferable to homosexuality. What accounts for purity and righteousness is 'Godliness'. An encounter and intimate relationship with 'God'. And it's this encounter that transforms. Denying anyone the freedoms of speech and association is denying him/her this encounter.

If there are people who need human rights, then they are the 'lost'.

The gays do like to use generalized concepts. They have generalized 'human rights'. I almost thought you too have generalized the concept of discussing 'other aspects of human living' when you termed it impossible if a gay is denied his right.

Heterosexuality has ensured you exist today. What could have happened to you if say just 600 years ago, when present technology was not there, your ancestors did not have sex with your other ancestors that resulted to births instead each preferred their respective sexes? On that single score, heterosexuality is far better and exceedingly preferable than homosexuality.

ION,

What accounts for purity and righteousness is faith and obedience. Hence faith and obedience facilitates an encounter with God.

I do not see how accessing human rights can facilitate an encounter with God but you and I do not have to proselytize each other on this point. I understand your position well and I know you understand mine.

I am unsure what is meant by 'intimate relationship with God' - after reading an article @Mtu Biz wrote about 'looving' God and crooning love songs to him, instead of loving God and obeying his commandments if you love him.

Or how have you used the word 'intimate' and 'God'?

lol.
#98 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 5:43:02 PM

Sparkly's theory of human sexuality:- Human sexuality is a continuum between Homosexuality and heterosexuality, where heterosexuality is the extreme. Lets face it women-women bonds are power strong men-men bonds are power strong. Men-Women bonds are only for procreation.
#99 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 6:11:38 PM

Sparkly's theory of human sexuality:- Human sexuality is a continuum between Homosexuality and heterosexuality, where heterosexuality is the extreme. Lets face it women-women bonds are power strong men-men bonds are power strong. Men-Women bonds are only for procreation.

it's not your theory... cite sources please!
Rollout
#100 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 6:14:51 PM

Muriel wrote:
Rollout wrote:
[quote=Njung'e][quote=Rollout]

is to support other gays and encourage them to be comfortable with themselve, nothing wrong with that.

!

Aldulterers should also come out to support each other since those involved are at all times consenting aldults.Before you get mad,let me ask you to show some love to the man who screws your wife since,in your words,the fellow isn't landing on you.

Sir, Gay is a sexual orientation so you cannot really group them with aldulterers why are you so bothered by who is sleeping with who? Are you sure you don't have feelings for other men and you're just bashing them to hide your feelings? I am straight so it really doesn't bother me since I know I will always meet women and I don't have to compete with gay people! can anyone tell me what swahili pilipi saying stated? Pilipili usiyoila yakuwashiani?

Rollout, Mr., you are wrong.

Gays want a redefinition of 'marriage'.

In this light what do you think is the distinction between them?

Your opinion about 'marriage' orients your view, oreo cookie.

Do you believe the redefinition of marriage BS? How can a gay couple redefine your marriage? By the way the biggest threat to marriage is not homosexuality, if anything, it would be dirvoce!