wazua Tue, Jun 30, 2026

County Protests
#21 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 9:07:53 PM

The biggest problem is that our leadership style is unnecessarily too confrontational. What is so difficult with calling these informal traders to a meeting, listening to them and coming to a mutually agreed solution (reminds me of the late Karisa Maitha)?

IMO, whenever you disregard an adult and show him he doesn't matter, (s)he will most certainly always fight back in an attempt to prove that, indeed, they matter.

Telling informal traders to vacate the streets without offering viable alternatives in my opinion only exacerbates the problem.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 9:18:40 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
The biggest problem is that our leadership style is unnecessarily too confrontational. What is so difficult with calling these informal traders to a meeting, listening to them and coming to a mutually agreed solution (reminds me of the late Karisa Maitha)?

IMO, whenever you disregard an adult and show him he doesn't matter, (s)he will most certainly always fight back in an attempt to prove that, indeed, they matter.

Telling informal traders to vacate the streets without offering viable alternatives in my opinion only exacerbates the problem.

This is actually a better suggestion. DIALOGUE. Not tear gas everyday. They could also be reduced, but scrapping them to me sounds too radical a choice.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 9:39:02 PM

Choices have consequencies. We made this choice in 2010. Let's live with it. It was obvious that taxes were going to go up despite what CoE, activists and YES politicians told us...but how were we going to deal with the issue of sharing national ugali without gatuzis? However, I feel these raises should have been done gradually
#24 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 9:40:34 PM

Rwanda runs a system that's county-based like ours. Headed by a mayor. Even ours should work
#25 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 9:54:44 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

This is actually a better suggestion. DIALOGUE. Not tear gas everyday. They could also be reduced, but scrapping them to me sounds too radical a choice.

As much as i would fall to the issue of dialogue am sure it cant work in kenya where jubilee will want odm gavana to fail and vice versa. the thing is work like kagame, its either you are inside there or you are not there. sometimes i pass by muthurwa market and the thing u see there is this attitude by traders that they dont care about the facility. it has to start from the mwananchi. Wish kenyan traders could go to kimironko market in rwanda and see how well its organised. traders clean it after work and make sure that takataka is put in the dust bins
#26 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 9:06:12 PM

Protests in Bomet over increased taxes
#27 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 9:23:45 PM

Shak wrote:
Protests in Bomet over increased taxes

And did yu see how fast the Bomet Central MP appeared to support n address them?
Ngong
#28 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 10:43:26 PM

@Washiku have you visited the city council for trading license this year?
#29 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 11:38:40 PM

Ngong wrote:
@Washiku have you visited the city council for trading license this year?

Nope. Why? I visited GPO. Huduma centre.
#30 Posted : Saturday, January 25, 2014 12:16:05 AM

Everything that is happening at the counties including these protests is normal and proper. These are the teething problems of devolution and they will further the cement the concept of devolution in the general population. Governance has come close to the people and they are seeing the consequences of their actions.

When we had a central government many people voted for an MP and then a government was formed in Nairobi which made decisions about them. The government was so far away that to most people there was no difference between being ruled from Nairobi and being ruled from London during the colonial days.

Now the decisions to spend money is being made at the local level. Different counties will have different priorities and will allocate money differently but what I love about this system is that the object of the peoples anger is not an unknown or unreachable minister or president but one of their own. When a budget is passed to build a Mausoleum to Moses Budamba it is passed by the County Assembly who is akina baba fulani wa pale kwa kina nani...... they are local people who the people can reach out to and protest. The Governor cannot go and hide in Nairobi. He is right there in the county.

I hope governors are having sleepless nights, I hope they find people with problems every day at their offices.......... it is healthy that county leaders are getting immediate reaction to their decisions, when Kakamega decides to tax chicken outcry ni papo hapo.... when Mutua decides to tax boda boda operators he hears it from them immediately...... I like it that after market protests the Nakuru governor called for consultations with the public. It is not going to be pretty but this is what being involved in government is.

Eventually governors and County representatives will come to the realisation that their best defence is good laws that are fairly, firmly and equitably enforced.