Binyavanga Wainaina
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Amores wrote:masukuma wrote:i follow the guy on twitter (he is a fellow from Nax). I kinda always suspected it based on the kind of advocacy he had been on. well.. sijui niseme or hata kama kuna kitu ya kusema! i guess i felt the same why when Sheldon of "the big bang theory" came out. do you separate the man from the artist? crossroads my friends crossroads!! but it's kinda sad! He is? I didn't hear of his coming out story. Maybe everyone who is should come out,ndio we demystify this thing once and for all! i was a great fan of the big bang theory! way before it was hip to watch it. i used to download it hours after they showed it in the US. the wife and I used to watch it together talk about following it religiously until sometime season 5 when they made the announcement - have never had psyche to watch it again. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
aaaargH!!!.....Disgusting.I really don't want to meet with him coz my eyes won't stop exploring his pant's front for anything green......Yuk! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
masukuma wrote:Amores wrote:masukuma wrote:i follow the guy on twitter (he is a fellow from Nax). I kinda always suspected it based on the kind of advocacy he had been on. well.. sijui niseme or hata kama kuna kitu ya kusema! i guess i felt the same why when Sheldon of "the big bang theory" came out. do you separate the man from the artist? crossroads my friends crossroads!! but it's kinda sad! He is? I didn't hear of his coming out story. Maybe everyone who is should come out,ndio we demystify this thing once and for all! i was a great fan of the big bang theory! way before it was hip to watch it. i used to download it hours after they showed it in the US. the wife and I used to watch it together talk about following it religiously until sometime season 5 when they made the announcement - have never had psyche to watch it again. For me it was Barney of 'How I met your mother' I have never reconciled between the guy who was always looking for an opportunity to land on airports and the other out of the closet...no. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Gay should have a right to do their thing, as long as he is not trying to land on you, why is anyone bothered?
maka wrote:simonkabz wrote:samdoe wrote:Foz00 wrote:simu ni simu lakini usiniombe utumie yangu Did you mean simo?? Ati simo? WTF? He he relax siwewe @zanze I concur let them keep their sexual orientation to themselves we dont want to know... And just to clarify, I didn't mean that they should hide. They should do what they need to do to live full lives - have relationships and civil unions, parent, have careers and hobbies etc. I don't think anyone is less of who they were before we knew what they prefer in the bedroom.
Impunity wrote:Motomoto wrote:Anachimba ama kuchimbwa? Gross, I tell you! I heard that this people don't have "the hand brake" or it is worn out. A slight sneeze or a cough may result in kuachilia hatharani. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Rollout wrote:Gay should have a right to do their thing, as long as he is not trying to land on you, why is anyone bothered? Why am i bothered?I am straight but i have never screamed in anybody's ears about my orientation....and it does not mean i do not have a right!!....If only they could stop telling us whom they are!! @Mpobiz, A friend from Pwani once told me it's quite common.They use bulb onions to plug their loose sorry ass*s....aaarrghh!! (Why am i posting this?) Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
In his book (one day I will write about this place) he alludes that he introduced to the habit at Njoro High school. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Honestly, don't have a problem with the guy per se, but with the lifestyle.
Can be consensual, private and still wrong: I am a prostitute I am having an affair I am sleeping with my daughter's friend I am sleeping with my sister I am gay
Check this out. There are more on YouTube: http://youtu.be/8uMwppw5AgU
Does he always talk like this though? Those gestures are too much he looks like he is high or something!?
Uncle Bob said what ? thank God he is not in Zim Rink 》》》Mugabe to behead gays if they do not reproduce in 5 years "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
murchr wrote:masukuma wrote:Amores wrote:masukuma wrote:i follow the guy on twitter (he is a fellow from Nax). I kinda always suspected it based on the kind of advocacy he had been on. well.. sijui niseme or hata kama kuna kitu ya kusema! i guess i felt the same why when Sheldon of "the big bang theory" came out. do you separate the man from the artist? crossroads my friends crossroads!! but it's kinda sad! He is? I didn't hear of his coming out story. Maybe everyone who is should come out,ndio we demystify this thing once and for all! i was a great fan of the big bang theory! way before it was hip to watch it. i used to download it hours after they showed it in the US. the wife and I used to watch it together talk about following it religiously until sometime season 5 when they made the announcement - have never had psyche to watch it again. For me it was Barney of 'How I met your mother' I have never reconciled between the guy who was always looking for an opportunity to land on airports and the other out of the closet...no. yes that happened to me as well... my interest kwishad and i have never been bothered with the program. he also had a part to play in the smurfs and when he kissed the 'spouse' on the movie i was like - yuck!! boss ignorance is bliss! the first time this ever happened was will ellen degeneres and her sitcom Ellen (she was the funniest woman I had ever seen) then she came out and interest dwindled. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
I don't mind him being gay, in fact he always displayed gay tendencies. My question is, did he have to come out of the closet with a bang the way he did like he's advertising himself? I think there's a bigger agenda here, like maybe being the brilliant gifted writer he is, he want to be the 'spokes person' for gay rights in Africa because this 'coincidence' has come too soon to the UG and Naija anti gay legislations. Anyway, maybe I should stop reading too much into this. BBI will solve it :)
Njung'e wrote:Rollout wrote:Gay should have a right to do their thing, as long as he is not trying to land on you, why is anyone bothered? Why am i bothered? I am straight but i have never screamed in anybody's ears about my orientation....and it does not mean i do not have a right!!....If only they could stop telling us whom they are!! @Mpobiz, A friend from Pwani once told me it's quite common.They use bulb onions to plug their loose sorry ass*s....aaarrghh!! (Why am i posting this?) ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
C&P - a comment from BW's blogJudging from the responses of most people here, it is clear that they are quite impressed by the apparent courage it must have taken for Wainaina to, uuuumm, do I say “…… come clean”???
It would seem like the public admission that one is gay is the ultimate act of fully coming to terms with the fact that one is “plagued” with this “abnormality”.
If this is so, it explains why this particular admission by Binyavanga has attracted accolades and lots of “best wishes” from those who empathize and/or sympathize with his peculiarity.
I now find myself wondering; there are other people who feel that they are equally “odd”. Could they be passing up a real opportunity to feel better about themselves and even be praised, understood and encouraged by others because of “staying in the closet”?
There are those who have chosen “sex with themselves” and other inanimate objects a.k.a. “masturbation” as a lifestyle. Should they call a family meeting and announce that they are “masturbationists”? [They are so weird that there is no proper English noun existing that refers to them]
What of those who are into bestiality, (goats/chicken/cows/their pet dogs e.t.c)? Should they also come out of the closet so that ordinary people and parliamentarians debate/discuss/encourage or discourage their sexual orientation?
How can I forget others who have chosen never to have sex at all? Those who have opted for a rather odd, yes, even extra-ordinary lifestyle? A celibate lifestyle. Should those in that closet also call a press conference and announce it?
Maybe it is about time I try and come out – (albeit partially and anonymously) – and say that even me, I am a weirdo – sexually.
I am a heterosexual married monogamist. I have been enjoying and tolerating, in more or less equal measure, not very regular sex with my spouse of more than one a half decades – ONLY. Is this not considered strange sexual behavior in today’s world? Doesn’t my sexual behavior as a one half of a married couple qualify me for the “weird” group?
Far too many spouses who have been together for long are barely having sex – WITH EACH OTHER. Barely. Some are not having sex at all – With each other. Others are not having sex at all – not with each other, not with other people, not with things and not with animals. How is that for extra-weird?
Is there anybody out there who will show me some love for this public admission of my weird sexual choices?
I mean, it is embarrassing to admit even to myself that I am not getting some as often as I imagine others in my position are getting despite having satisfied all “religious”, “legal” and “social” requirements that warrant me to get some on the regular. Even more embarrassing is the admission that most times I get it; I don’t really enjoy it – at least to begin with. I don’t even think about initiating it these days because I hardly miss it. Who can believe that our children have been sleeping in our marital bed while we sleep on two different seats in our living room? That has been going on for like 28 out of 30/31 days in a month for the last 3 months or thereabout.
It is so weird that I would never tell anybody who would half way recognize me. Oh, wait a minute – I have told one friend who thinks I am taking far too much for granted in my marriage. My friend really encouraged me to stop “joking around with my marriage.”
There are times I miss making love and think that maybe I should hustle for some. Then something ……. anything, happens. My spouse is asleep, the kids are awake in the living room, the kids are asleep on our bed, I am tired, my spouse annoys me [my spouse happens to be a very annoying person], a guest comes, a friend calls and we speak for too long – eventually, the low libido goes to below zero.
Do we love each other? Yes we do. Do we like each other? Not particularly, especially nowadays.
What is killing the passion? There is a lot of apathy. No one is really intentional about tending to the marital relationship. None of us seems to be really bothered about rekindling passion and connectedness. I used to try a lot harder to keep the fire burning a while ago. However, my spouse, who is basically a good person is most definitely not the lovey – dovey type. I felt that that my efforts did not mean much them given that they seemed so caught up in the rat race that their life was seriously out of balance – as far as I was concerned.
I found myself getting repeatedly frustrated, hurt and angry and eventually I just stopped trying. I found more peace in resigning myself to a “low-passion” marriage. You know how you say, “whar-ever” and throw your hands? Now we are just moving on from day to day mostly concerned and stressed out by the pressures and cares of modern day living vis-à-vis unmet personal and family goals.
Do we have a bitter conflict touching on fundamentals – infidelity, domestic violence, irresponsible parenting, alcoholism, serious financial impropriety, personality disorders, religious fanaticism, witchcraft, devil worshiping and the like? NO.
In my understanding, it is nothing beyond the ordinary trifles of any marriage between two strong headed people. My only growing concern is that our quarrels have increased significantly especially since we both shifted base from the bed to the living room. Could the lack of sexual intimacy be responsible for the increased misunderstandings or are the increased misunderstandings responsible for the drastically decreased sexual activity? Who knows? Who cares? Yeah – that’s how bad it is getting.
Deep within me I know that something’s gotta give and it better be sooner rather than later otherwise, the sexual monogamy of one or even both of us may be a thing of the past. Is my spouse getting some elsewhere? I think I would know or have a nagging suspicion if they were. I do not suspect as yet although I know that it is a real possibility if nothing changes. I am not getting any and have not even toyed with the idea. I doubt I would allow myself to go down that road. My conscience and my spiritual convictions would not allow me without putting up a serious fight.
Can someone please recognize me for sharing this very personal piece of information – albeit anonymously? Hey, how about I call a family meeting and tell them how weird my sex life is? What if call a press conference and announce it? With proper positioning, I am sure some media house would be interested in featuring me bearing out the gory details of my sex life – or lack of it. I might even make the prime time news. I dream….. How about I ditch the anonymity that this part of the World Wide Web affords me and come clean to all and sundry about the oddity of my sex life? I am certain that there are people out there in cyber space who just out of curiosity would not mind knowing more about the person behind this story.
It is not my intention to make light of Wainaina’s “issues” as highlighted to the public herein.
I am just wondering; Who really needs to know that Wainaina is just another weirdo – courtesy of his sexual preferences?
Let me ask that again s-l-o-w-l-y: WHO —– REALLY —– NEEDS —– TO —– KNOW that Binyavanga is just another weirdo?
Other questions one might ask are; WHO —– REALLY —– WANTS —– TO —– KNOW that Binyavanga is just another weirdo? WHO —– EVEN —– WANTS —– TO —– KNOW that Binyavanga is just another weirdo? WHO —– REALLY —– CARES that Binyavanga is just another weirdo? WHO —– IS —– REALLY —– BOTHERED that Binyavanga is just another weirdo?
I suggest that these questions are serious and all “weirdos” and “wackos” intending to come out clean should consider them carefully especially as they plan on their “coming out” options.
Why do I say this? Because, being a weirdo is not an absolute. It is relative. Anyone who sees things from a radically different perspective than your own will most likely be a weirdo at best, or a complete wacko in your eyes.
Every human being makes it to someone’s “weirdo” list and someone else’s “wacko” list.
Granted, Wainaina is a weirdo in my eyes – actually, more of a wacko.
But what I find most weird is that he finds it necessary to tell Kenyans and the world that he finds himself more inclined to those of his own gender for romantic liaisons.
WHY IS HE TELLING THE WORLD? That is what I find most intriguing.
Is it for therapeutic reasons? Is it empathy that he desires? Is it catharsis through self-revelation he seeks?
Is it information he is giving us just for information’s sake? Could it be just an academic exercise for him? He just wants to see how people will respond. Could it be just another story he is telling? He is a writer after-all.
Could it be that he really wants to contribute to societal development through creating a deeper awareness of a situation/condition/preference that the vast majority consider rather odd?
If something disturbed me so deeply that it took me 39 years to admit to myself something I’ve felt since I was 5 years of age, I would most probably look for someone to confide in and explore the issue with. I would do this first before I embark on exploring it with the world – those who would be bothered anyway. I would take up the issue with someone I love and/or trust. Someone like a sibling maybe; A best friend, A lover, A spouse, A priest, A counselor, A therapist, A psychiatrist, A customer care rep at the other end of a toll-free line e.g. Safaricom’s number 100 for their pre-paid customers [bad joke]?
That’s how I would do it, if I were him. I am not prescribing the standard procedure for coming of out of the closet. I recognize that it is my modus operandi that makes me think that Binyavanga’s public admission that he is gay is as strange as his sexual orientation.
It is a well known fact that there is the thing, and then their is the thing behind the thing.
What is it that is really driving Binyavanga Wainaina’s public admission?
That is the next lost chapter I wish he would write as brilliantly as he usually does.
I believe that allowing the world a peek into his innermost thoughts and motivations in so far as this revelation is concerned would evoke the interest of psychologists, psychiatrists, sociologists, journalists, gossipers, curious onlookers and a host of other audiences
Over to you, Mr Wainaina ……..
Now that you have told us the what, how about you tell us more about the why and maybe leave the how to our imagination.Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
There's something about the gay agenda that seems too well choreographed to be coincidence. Is it coincidence too that western comedies and movies are becoming more accommodative by including a gay character in the plot? And more and more people coming out of the closet? People that whoever is planning this knows they have adoring fans? The latest is showing talent goes along with gayism....kuna kitu hapa!
muganda wrote:Honestly, don't have a problem with the guy per se, but with the lifestyle.
Can be consensual, private and still wrong: I am a prostitute I am having an affair I am sleeping with my daughter's friend I am sleeping with my sister I am gay Exactly! Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
2012 wrote:I don't mind him being gay, in fact he always displayed gay tendencies. My question is, did he have to come out of the closet with a bang the way he did like he's advertising himself?
I think there's a bigger agenda here, like maybe being the brilliant gifted writer he is, he want to be the 'spokes person' for gay rights in Africa because this 'coincidence' has come too soon to the UG and Naija anti gay legislations. Anyway, maybe I should stop reading too much into this. i have been following him on twiRRa and his tweets were more about advocacy and activism about persons with posterior motives. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Binyavanga Wainaina