wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

18 Pages«<23456>»
the Luo people
#61 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 2:55:43 PM

But not all of them have bad PR, there was this fundi wa nguo called Okello, who made my shirt for my wedding plus other things for the rest of the troupe. oh that guy was good and his customer service was excellent! his shirts were very good and they were not pricey. he had made a mistake on one of the gowns and when he was shown he said "nitarudia at my own cost!". he said he could not allow us to go with a faulty design. needless to say, he got a jobo on each of my shirts from that point forward until we lost touch.
#62 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 3:25:11 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
Kama ni kusema ukweli wacha hata mimi niseme..

Odhis the mech.. perfect at his job. I went to do some paint job. and he was very honest.
'Akuna haja nikuitise pesa kidogo, alafu niwanze kutafuta 'sot-cut' ili nimalise kazi. iyo pesa nimekuambia ata wewe, tukimalisa kasi mweyewe utaona tu"
Then i meet one of his partners at the garage inspect a car he is to work on. you might think he's prying at a complex Chemical equation that needs some balancing., mentally figuring it our before he goes for the pen and paper.

Walahi bilahi i am never taking my car to those Grogon fellas, ever again.

it's true! for crafts and kazi ya mkono siwezi patia anyone else kwanza grogon type fellows - kuna guess work mingi sana on new models of cars. has anyone ever heard this statement -"hii? ah gari zinaendanga bila hiyo!" boss if they manufacturers put it in there kwanini unasema "zinaweza enda bila?".
the only shortcoming some luo craftsmen have is PR. Sometimes you get the feeling ni kama unamsumbua! hana 'lugha ya biashara' that matches the work done.

Add those Carpenters on Ngong Road near Karen. Even furniture traders buy from them.

I got my seats from one. best time to buy is hii Njaanuary. any other month utaambiwa 75K for a 7 seater (120K at Nakumatt).. Njaan-worry hata na 50 unajipatia kiti smart.

My friend Lee Karuri realised he's been getting a raw deal all the time from the furniture shops.
Pulled his car hapo Ngong road and decided to offer one the contract to do furniture for those 'furnished houses'
Otieno called Onyango to help..Business was too bountiful.
whatever they will achieve with the windfall is another thing. but King G would like to convince us that nowdays the story is different
MKWASI
#63 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 7:05:08 PM

They are good Kenyans. They are generally peaceful and honest people. I personally engage with them on a day to day, Of course we differ on various issues but they are good friends.

To those flying the Kenyan flag high, Hongera
#64 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 7:21:57 PM

Iganamagana wrote:
Kama ni kusema ukweli wacha hata mimi niseme..

Odhis the mech.. perfect at his job. I went to do some paint job. and he was very honest.
'Akuna haja nikuitise pesa kidogo, alafu niwanze kutafuta 'sot-cut' ili nimalise kazi. iyo pesa nimekuambia ata wewe, tukimalisa kasi mweyewe utaona tu"
Then i meet one of his partners at the garage inspect a car he is to work on. you might think he's prying at a complex Chemical equation that needs some balancing., mentally figuring it our before he goes for the pen and paper.

Walahi bilahi i am never taking my car to those Grogon fellas, ever again.

it's true! for crafts and kazi ya mkono siwezi patia anyone else kwanza grogon type fellows - kuna guess work mingi sana on new models of cars. has anyone ever heard this statement -"hii? ah gari zinaendanga bila hiyo!" boss if they manufacturers put it in there kwanini unasema "zinaweza enda bila?".
the only shortcoming some luo craftsmen have is PR. Sometimes you get the feeling ni kama unamsumbua! hana 'lugha ya biashara' that matches the work done.

Add those Carpenters on Ngong Road near Karen. Even furniture traders buy from them.

I got my seats from one. best time to buy is hii Njaanuary. any other month utaambiwa 75K for a 7 seater (120K at Nakumatt).. Njaan-worry hata na 50 unajipatia kiti smart.

My friend Lee Karuri realised he's been getting a raw deal all the time from the furniture shops.
Pulled his car hapo Ngong road and decided to offer one the contract to do furniture for those 'furnished houses'
Otieno called Onyango to help..Business was too bountiful.
whatever they will achieve with the windfall is another thing. but King G would like to convince us that nowdays the story is different

I'm with you people on these ones. But I don't agree with them on many things. One time I saw them on TV while returning from Nyayo Stadium match, originate on a certain river in Nairobi, along Langata rd, near TMall.

I trust the Luos so much that I never let anyone from the Mt. touch my car. Even when I used to have an old pickup, and I get stuck in the mud (remember my story and the Maasais pushing car from the sides?), I don't let them touch... Heheheeh boss, ebu washana na hiyo gari! Ngoja kwanja nitakuambia tu. Then I go look for Luo man (another one volunteered to walk half km to help me change burnt headlamp bulb for free).
My mech is Luo or Luhyia
My carpenter is Luo.
My electrician is Luo, even the one who did the house wiring.
My erand man is a Luo, I call him guka, he is as old as my dad. I just call him and ask him to pick the car in the house and pick blah blah.
#65 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 8:56:51 PM

A majority are very honest. A few, like makerege no way. ...
Individually, very calm, calculated, but the moment that number rises to 3, brothers n sisters RUN! They are very easily taken away by groupthink.
#66 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 9:35:39 PM

Individually, very calm, calculated, but the moment that number rises to 3, brothers n sisters RUN! They are very easily taken away by groupthink.

You once threw tantrums about stalking, I can see you are it full blast, you can't' sleep without going personal with a member or two........thrive at it brother!
#67 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 10:01:53 PM

You once threw tantrums about stalking, I can see you are it full blast, you can't' sleep without going personal with a member or two........thrive at it brother!

nguys! don't let this discussion take a tangent to unpleasantville - let us celebrate Luos coz they add value to our lives and Kenya as a whole.
#68 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 10:10:31 PM

nguys! don't let this discussion take a tangent to unpleasantville - let us celebrate Luos coz they add value to our lives and Kenya as a whole.

Mmmmmh we constantly mix the stone thrower and the stoned hapa in Wazua..........why why why?
#69 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 11:48:37 PM

Iko nini tena bro? Tafadhali nakusihi usiruse....
#70 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 12:10:32 AM

Iko nini tena bro? Tafadhali nakusihi usiruse....

this is degrading fast!
#71 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 1:03:30 AM

oooh yeah. LUOs best Mechs & electronic engineers out there! You will not be disappointed and you need not supervise anything. They treat your car/Tv/Stereo as their own. If you can't find a technical or operating manual for your electronics or the car, just take it to a Luo man.
#72 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 8:20:31 AM

my sister-inlaw gave us a story about what happened during PEV in Naivasha. during the time Kyuks chased away Luos and there was not a luo in sight. there are some quarries that people used to dig what i think was sand or building stones and since the Luos who did this work were nowhere to be seen - life had to go on and Kyuks that used to 'broker' took the tools and went into the quarries. the first thing that happened was that the price tripled and quality dwindled! after njaa kulad the luos in the IDP camps, some started venturing out and came peeping on the quarries and as soon as Kyuks saw them they shouted - "Kujeni!! Wako wapi wengine? Waambie warudi kazi!". the Kyuks that had been used to 'za kunyonga' walilemewa na 'za kuchinjwa!'. Kumbe kenya ni eco-system!
#73 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 9:13:32 AM

my sister-inlaw gave us a story about what happened during PEV in Naivasha. during the time Kyuks chased away Luos and there was not a luo in sight. there are some quarries that people used to dig what i think was sand or building stones and since the Luos who did this work were nowhere to be seen - life had to go on and Kyuks that used to 'broker' took the tools and went into the quarries. the first thing that happened was that the price tripled and quality dwindled! after njaa kulad the luos in the IDP camps, some started venturing out and came peeping on the quarries and as soon as Kyuks saw them they shouted - "Kujeni!! Wako wapi wengine? Waambie warudi kazi!". the Kyuks that had been used to 'za kunyonga' walilemewa na 'za kuchinjwa!'. Kumbe kenya ni eco-system!

smile smile
kivairu
#74 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 7:33:32 PM

Lets keep this thread as complimentary as possible, in a nice way.Keep the negative stereotypes out of this as much as possible, i believe that's the tone and objective from the start, by the dude who initiated the thread. And with that lets celebrate another luo great

http://www.knascience.or...amp;id=78&Itemid=87

Prof. Thomas R. Odhiambo

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
kivairu
#75 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 7:37:20 PM

And when you need a very articulate lawyer, look no further!

#76 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 7:39:28 PM

kivairu wrote:
Lets keep this thread as complimentary as possible, in a nice way.Keep the negative stereotypes out of this as much as possible, i believe that's the tone and objective from the start, by the dude who initiated the thread. And with that lets celebrate another luo great

http://www.knascience.or...amp;id=78&Itemid=87

Prof. Thomas R. Odhiambo

And the full list of the fellows is full of you know who?
kivairu
#77 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 7:59:39 PM

willin2learn wrote:
Thiss people!

You need to learn some english from a luo. Going by your user name, it could come in handy.

#78 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 8:14:30 PM

@Masukuma, no there is one in the Belgian National team for the World cup 2014...Divock Origi
#79 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2014 9:30:07 PM

@Masukuma, no there is one in the Belgian National team for the World cup 2014...Divock Origi

they are everywhere!!!
rryyzz
#80 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 12:01:23 PM

they are everywhere!!!

Everywhere that matters
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia