wazua Tue, Jun 30, 2026

6 Pages«<456
Adonijah Jaramogi Ajuma Oginga Odinga - 20yrs on!!!
#51 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 8:59:48 PM

Pierce wrote:
Mwende wrote:
RIP. Heard about him in a History class

smile Now see, the real shudrens in the house!!!!

#52 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 9:21:04 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Hmmmm...kumbe? I was in form one when it happened. We used to get the newspaper spread out on the notice board for all to read. Hiyo siku wakachelewa, I personally went for it kwa HM and put it up. The one thing I'd like to get a hold of is the speech delivered by Orengo at the burial...

Were you in Kagumo High School?

No, but I was in another equally cold place around the big mountain.smile

Nyeri High?smile smile This story of cold coupled with hanging of newspapers is consistent with those two schools.
#53 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 9:26:41 PM

Recently I was at the UoN library looking at newspapers of early 1992 and couldn't believe the violence that was meted on Jaramogi by Kanu goons during the agitation for multiparty democracy. His plane was even stoned in Mandera where he had gone for a rally. Was even surprised that the first tribal clashes in kenya happened at Sondu where luo youths wearing Ford T-shirts were attacked by Kaleo youths, then the violence at miteitei against the Luo. I have deep respect for Jaramogi.
Anyone with access to a library should check the Daily Nation of 16th March 1992 and see the kind of violence that Jaramogi was subjected to by Kanu. At the time Matiba was in detention and so jaramogi being the face of the opposition was the obvious target.

NB the same papers quote Kibaki attacking Jaramogi & co. saying that anyone thinking that they can remove Kanu from power is dreaming, that it's like cutting a mugumo tree with a razor. Kibaki should be ashamed of himself.
#54 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 9:45:28 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Hmmmm...kumbe? I was in form one when it happened. We used to get the newspaper spread out on the notice board for all to read. Hiyo siku wakachelewa, I personally went for it kwa HM and put it up. The one thing I'd like to get a hold of is the speech delivered by Orengo at the burial...

Nyeri High?smile smile This story of cold coupled with hanging of newspapers is consistent with those two schools.

Out of curiosity, how would you read the other side of the newspaper?
#55 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 12:44:58 AM

radio wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

Not Nyeri either, much further. The school would buy two newspapers then they'd be sequentially stapled onto the board (it had a canopy/roof so we'd read even when it was raining or sunny), yaani page 1 unatoa kwa gazeti ya kwanza, page two kwa gazeti ya pili and on and on to the backpage. The paper would remain on display for a day after which it'd be taken to the school library.
Iganamagana
#56 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 7:53:17 AM

radio wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

They used to have two copies. smile
#57 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 9:50:00 AM

Iganamagana wrote:
radio wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

They used to have two copies. smile

Some petty guys would come and cut some nice story from the paper while pinned there on the notice board,when you come after games to read you get nothing.

Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

kenyanbeef
#58 Posted : Tuesday, January 21, 2014 9:51:51 AM

But I thought Adonijah is RAO's mother...lol. On the morning of announcing election results, we were awoken by loud cries outside... ohhh wanamfanyia nini mtoto wa Adonijah ooohhh. It was the Watchie crying hysterically. And we thought Adonijah was a child in the block who had suffered at the hands of some merciless pple. But on trying to calm him so we can assist huyu mtoto before it's too late, turned out he was crying for one n only Baba. It was the funniest thing ever n I just assumed that's his mothers name.

Now Adonijah news found me at the bus stop on my way to be a mono at a school in a cold place near the mountains. I don't even know how I recall that.
6 Pages«<456