wazua Sat, Jul 4, 2026

12 Pages<12345>»
Abolish County Governments!!!!
#21 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 10:36:12 AM

Let the MPIGSs be as many as possible like a school, even 450 (although 300 is OK) (divided into several house committees with SERIOUS legislative targets), and performance measurements which can be published (Kama report forms za shule for each student/MPIG) in the newspapers for each Kenyan to see what % points their MPIG scored, Kenyans will be able to now SEE if the MP they chose can WORK not just SPEAK, and KNOW what work the MPIGS do, most Kenyans do not UNDERSTAND it, so their powers can be trimmed and the legislative authority to extract money from the public be snipped by a 47 member senate that we support as "more powerful" in legislation, let the 47 senators represent the topmost echelons of legislative authority including governing the funding heading to counties (and interpreting the LEGISLATIVE power TO ADD ONES OWN SALARY, these Senators are really "wealthy" anyway. Let this 47 represent the ultimate "Council of Elders", "The Upper House" in Kenya. I support, eventually it will cut spending on the legislature. 47 people is better than 150 people.

I have very high hopes for our county, i can't disclose details because it is like dealing with "insider information", however i believe our county was the first to hold an investor conference and it was very "timaam", if your counties have problems, you can wait five years to sort them, or hustle your senator to STOP funding from central gaarment, till the thick Governor is explained to what he is supposed to do, not that ALL county governments be scrapped because yours is not working, Alphie the Dodo will claim he is working wonders, why stop him?.

All we need to remove from the Constitution is the "cord-like" mechanical doctrines such as the Senior Most Public Administrators including Cabinet Secretaries being interviewed by someone else on behalf of the President and the President is then given a shortlist, The constitution will flow, hio ikitolewa, Agwambo can put it back later if he ever, ever gets a chance.
#22 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 1:12:01 PM

Most County governments are spending 70%+ on salaries in addition to taxing chicken and eggs. you'll wait for development till Jesus comes back!!

Can someone give me one County with the lowest expenditure on salaries and other recurrent expenditure and a sizable percentage on [tangible] development. Alfie is trying but I think he is also in the 70%+ recurrent expenditure!

Just yesterday I heard in the news that some babies had died in an incubator [is that what they call them?] because of a blackout and the County's "minister of health" said a generator will be installed in the hospital as soon as the national government gives them money to buy one!!! What kind of crap is this???
#23 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 1:38:00 PM

The idea behind devolution isn't about 'representation' but 'self presentation' and 'direct democracy'.

A representative government can't express the will of the people, because there's no sufficient communication and there's great conflict of interest and markets are heavily distorted. How can we then ask for more representation by cutting on the number representatives?

For now I know that counties have high wage bills and taxes because that's the strategy that's known. But is this the only way to create and run an economy? How can economic systems run in the counties and increase disposable incomes for each citizen? And keep less costs of living?

Those officials idling in the county offices are indicative of ill designed economic systems, and poor leadership.
theman192000
#24 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 2:19:54 PM

All the above arguments are very compelling but we need to ask ourselves why we are down this path in the first place.

My 2 cents is that a centralized system of government of first past the post winner takes all is what got us here. Could we have address this challenge better... Maybe.

However as long as tribe and gender form the unit of identity, we will continue with this convoluted system of government for the foreseeable future or until something breaks.
#25 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 2:28:01 PM

theman192000 wrote:
All the above arguments are very compelling but we need to ask ourselves why we are down this path in the first place.

My 2 cents is that a centralized system of government of first past the post winner takes all is what got us here. Could we have address this challenge better... Maybe.

However as long as tribe and gender form the unit of identity, we will continue with this convoluted system of government for the foreseeable future or until something breaks.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Even then now the way things are bad with the counties, most of those who want them abolished are from backyards of the two leaders of Jubilee!!!!!
#26 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 2:31:23 PM

The Clown wrote:
I agree with those saying we are over-represented and that these are clearly not teething problems.

These counties are drawing us deeper into our ethnic cocoons while the rest of the world looks for ways to integrate its different parts. Yaani we're going backwards.

I actually believe the National Assembly is the one that needs to be abolished and its powers/ duties transferred to the Senate. What harm is there in having 47 large constituencies? Parliament would thus become a prestigious and exclusive institution. Only those with enough money and political clout will make it there. Maybe they will have less of an urge to loot the public coffers through fat salaries.

The MCAs can remain but we should have the same number as the previous councillors.

CORRECTION! Previous kanjoras were over 3000 but luckily, not too powerful. Today they are 1450 elected {5 for each of the 290 constituencies} n 700 nominated.....n very powerful, some extremely stupid.
#27 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 2:51:30 PM

theman192000 wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Even then now the way things are bad with the counties, most of those who want them abolished are from backyards of the two leaders of Jubilee!!!!!

Anything wrong with that? I guess its a good sign, free brains rather than having an old demented geezer carrying a brain for you. :'(
#28 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 2:54:49 PM

theman192000 wrote:

Anything wrong with that? I guess its a good sign, free brains rather than having an old decemented geezer carrying a brain for you. :'(

smile You had to bring in some form of matusi!....NO?

What I am saying is that not the whole country have the feeling that the central garment will take care of them, that is why a referendum to abolish the county garments will fail any day!!!!!
#29 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 3:35:52 PM

How did we get here?

There were some issues. Chief among them being equitable distribution of wealth(national cake or ugali), proportionate representation and gender representation.

Thus we created counties to help us with the distribution of the cake. The county executives had to have some oversight hence your MCAs.

We increased the constituencies to sort the problem of (dis)proportionate representation(one man one vote). This is the most misunderstood thing. Most people have never really grasped that the main purpose of parliament is representation. Legislatures exist because we cannot hold referenda on everything from budget to approving members of anti-FGM Board...we thus elect a few people to represent us in decision making and oversight! These people are your honourable memebers of national assembly, senate and county assemblies!

Now, when it comes to decision making, would you want a case where 1000 people are represented by 1 rep while another 500,000 are also represented by 1 rep?

We also added 47 special seats for women as an affirmative action for the fairer gender who had been 'disadvantaged for decades'

#30 Posted : Monday, January 20, 2014 3:57:09 PM

theman192000 wrote:

Anything wrong with that? I guess its a good sign, free brains rather than having an old decemented geezer carrying a brain for you. :'(

smile You had to bring in some form of matusi!....NO?

What I am saying is that not the whole country have the feeling that the central garment will take care of them, that is why a referendum to abolish the county garments will fail any day!!!!!

Thank you for clarifying. You can only express yourself clearly when the barrel of a shortgun is on your head?
12 Pages<12345>»