Market
Technical
M-PESA Outside Kenya
Hi, Anyone got info on if one can send and receive payments when outside the country. Do not need to withdraw, just send and receive. I know it works in UG, what about other countries? They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
Rank: Member Joined: 8/27/2010 Posts: 495 Location: Nairobi
It works. I've used it from Europe to send, receive, and to top up any Safcon number. Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
Good to know that it works, Thanks! They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
Sent and received from Zambia. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
If I'm not wrong, you can send and receive anywhere your Safaricom line has roaming. The only thing you can't do is deposit and withdraw though I've been able to do this in UG. In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
grolut wrote:If I'm not wrong, you can send and receive anywhere your Safaricom line has roaming. The only thing you can't do is deposit and withdraw though I've been able to do this in UG. How now if they can't deposit and cant withdraw what business is safaricom doing then? It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
bkismat wrote:grolut wrote:If I'm not wrong, you can send and receive anywhere your Safaricom line has roaming. The only thing you can't do is deposit and withdraw though I've been able to do this in UG. How now if they can't deposit and cant withdraw what business is safaricom doing then? It's because there are no Mpesa agents in those countries...
chris79 wrote:bkismat wrote:grolut wrote:If I'm not wrong, you can send and receive anywhere your Safaricom line has roaming. The only thing you can't do is deposit and withdraw though I've been able to do this in UG. How now if they can't deposit and cant withdraw what business is safaricom doing then? It's because there are no Mpesa agents in those countries... How does it work? Do the customers go to some specific bank? It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
You can deposit money into MPESA at western union branches in selected countries
bkismat wrote:grolut wrote:If I'm not wrong, you can send and receive anywhere your Safaricom line has roaming. The only thing you can't do is deposit and withdraw though I've been able to do this in UG. How now if they can't deposit and cant withdraw what business is safaricom doing then? Its actually very useful... probably one of the best thing since sliced bread. I use it while in UK to send/pay people, as well as receive/get paid... in Kenya. I have never needed to set my phone on roaming (unless it happens automatically). I have never needed to withdraw cash (ksh? -imagine that!) while in UK. I always thought transactions or those safcom messages were charged, but never been charged.
To a Tanzanian in Mwanza(number +255, vodafone which is also mpesa)? I understand you can do it with airtel is this true? Please assist. I have heard tanzanian accept Kenyan mpesa and have their own ways of getting the money is this true? On the safaricom mpesa help site they have this very confusing answer ati:- Is it possible to send money from M-PESA Kenya to M-PESA Tanzania and are There'safaricom M-PESA agents in Tanzania?
Safaricom M-PESA services are different from M-PESA Tanzania. There are no'Safaricom'M-PESA agents in Tanzania. However, you can still receive and send money to other people and purchase airtime if you have a'Safaricom'M-PESA account while in Tanzania. Did this answer your question?NO A New Kenya
Much Know wrote:To a Tanzanian in Mwanza(number +255, vodafone which is also mpesa)? I understand you can do it with airtel is this true? Please assist. I have heard tanzanian accept Kenyan mpesa and have their own ways of getting the money is this true? On the safaricom mpesa help site they have this very confusing answer ati:- Is it possible to send money from M-PESA Kenya to M-PESA Tanzania and are There'safaricom M-PESA agents in Tanzania?
Safaricom M-PESA services are different from M-PESA Tanzania. There are no'Safaricom'M-PESA agents in Tanzania. However, you can still receive and send money to other people and purchase airtime if you have a'Safaricom'M-PESA account while in Tanzania. Did this answer your question?NO In selected towns like Arusha(i guess due to proximity to Kenya) you can actually withdraw from Mpesa and depositi as usual.However this is safaricoms mpesa and not Vodafones Mpesa While in Dar i also head of a guy who does it via Tanga.Oher option is to sweet talk the Kenyan bus companies like Modern coast etc to use their Float on their safcom lines if you are in tanzania,and either pay them or recieve money from them You were put on this earth to achieve your greatest self, to live out your purpose, and to do it fearlessly.
ahoo wrote:Much Know wrote:To a Tanzanian in Mwanza(number +255, vodafone which is also mpesa)? I understand you can do it with airtel is this true? Please assist. I have heard tanzanian accept Kenyan mpesa and have their own ways of getting the money is this true? On the safaricom mpesa help site they have this very confusing answer ati:- Is it possible to send money from M-PESA Kenya to M-PESA Tanzania and are There'safaricom M-PESA agents in Tanzania?
Safaricom M-PESA services are different from M-PESA Tanzania. There are no'Safaricom'M-PESA agents in Tanzania. However, you can still receive and send money to other people and purchase airtime if you have a'Safaricom'M-PESA account while in Tanzania. Did this answer your question?NO In selected towns like Arusha(i guess due to proximity to Kenya) you can actually withdraw from Mpesa and depositi as usual.However this is safaricoms mpesa and not Vodafones Mpesa While in Dar i also head of a guy who does it via Tanga.Oher option is to sweet talk the Kenyan bus companies like Modern coast etc to use their Float on their safcom lines if you are in tanzania,and either pay them or recieve money from them I am in Arusha, and have been receiving and sending money throughSafaricom mpesa,using Mpesa agents at the border (ofcourse people I know), But I have never seen a Safaricom agent in Arusha. would be glad to have this service
Rank: Member Joined: 9/2/2010 Posts: 563 Location: Embakasi
bkismat wrote:chris79 wrote:bkismat wrote:grolut wrote:If I'm not wrong, you can send and receive anywhere your Safaricom line has roaming. The only thing you can't do is deposit and withdraw though I've been able to do this in UG. How now if they can't deposit and cant withdraw what business is safaricom doing then? It's because there are no Mpesa agents in those countries... How does it work? Do the customers go to some specific bank? Had not seen your query...in UG there are "M-Pesa Agents" who work with colleagues in Kenya. My withdrawal was from an agent in Kariokor or something like that though I was standing in a shop in Kampala. In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
Can withdraw cash from my Bank account and transact via M-Pesa from all the East African countries I've been.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/15/2010 Posts: 454 Location: Nairobi
Safaricom also 'Roam' in ROSS too as Vivacell, other than depositing and withdrawing, I transact as if am in ROK on my Safcom line. ....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
I can change KE Mpesa to TZ mpesa if you are stranded in TZ and only have KE Mpesa, purely as a matter of trust, in an emergency situation like i experienced there with no alternative (and vice versa), so CREDIBLE wazuans only for the time being, maximum 5K at a go,i will charge 2sok for any transaction, I will exchange at the average forex rate OR BETTER, so make your request here (for transparency using your username - no "new faras"), then we can finalize privately if you are ever stuck in TZ with KE mpesa and no TZ cash, or vice versa. A New Kenya
Rank: Member Joined: 6/22/2011 Posts: 561 Location: House
MPESA in the US. ...but they are too proud to accept the idea has been tested and working no need to reinvent the wheel uncle sam
Much Know wrote:I can change KE Mpesa to TZ mpesa if you are stranded in TZ and only have KE Mpesa, purely as a matter of trust, in an emergency situation like i experienced there with no alternative (and vice versa), so CREDIBLE wazuans only for the time being, maximum 5K at a go,i will charge 2sok for any transaction, I will exchange at the average forex rate OR BETTER, so make your request here (for transparency using your username - no "new faras"), then we can finalize privately if you are ever stuck in TZ with KE mpesa and no TZ cash, or vice versa. BTW this offer is now closed, safaricom introduced their own system that works very well for TZ transfers direct from mobile to TZ mpesa on their mobiles. Perhaps we will introduce a more cutting edge/'transformational' service in near future. A New Kenya
Much Know wrote:I can change KE Mpesa to TZ mpesa if you are stranded in TZ and only have KE Mpesa, purely as a matter of trust, in an emergency situation like i experienced there with no alternative (and vice versa), so CREDIBLE wazuans only for the time being, maximum 5K at a go,i will charge 2sok for any transaction, I will exchange at the average forex rate OR BETTER, so make your request here (for transparency using your username - no "new faras"), then we can finalize privately if you are ever stuck in TZ with KE mpesa and no TZ cash, or vice versa. Vodacom and Safaricom formally launched this product. sending direct from KE to TZ mpesa and vice versa
Market
Technical
M-PESA Outside Kenya